We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for Sydney” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #77 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“good choice for Sydney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

This hotel is ideally situated close to the Darling Harbour recreation/entertainment area of Sydney. Actually, it's more between Chinatown and Darling Harbour, but the beautiful harborside itself with a multitude of museums, activities, gardens, restaurants and shops is within easy walking distance.

You won't get any surprises with this hotel if you've stayed at Holiday Inns before. Service is efficient, rooms are well-maintained and the hotel has everything you need for a decent stay. The building is not particularly new or unique, but compared to other hotels in Sydney it's a good deal; the Old Sydney Holiday Inn is substantially more expensive, for example.

Chinatown's Dixon Street is an interesting stroll just behind the hotel, and the nearby huge Market City complex is a fun place to shop for souvenirs, branded goods and food.

Overall this is a solid choice when factoring price vs. accomodations, recreational opportunities and transportation access.

  • Liked — value and location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    431
    210
    42
    34
See reviews for
174
266
72
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is a great location! We had a fabulous time in a wonderful city! Regarding the hotel, it is very nice-- It has all "the basics" you will need. It's not too fancy or extravagant, but the hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful! If you are looking for a nice hotel, this is the one. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Stayed for two nights during a business trip.

Probably far better than many people might imagine for a middle of the road hotel.

Excellent staff on check in and in the dining room.

Clean, well presented rooms with comfortable bed and the usual facilities.

Good location - Darling Harbour, many local restaurants and other activities.

  • Liked — Good location and good staff
  • Disliked — No obvious shortcomings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

This hotel is very central to everything in Sydney such as Chinatown, the shopping district and the beautiful Darling Harbour.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The only slight downside for us was that we were staying on a room only basis and ravenously hungry on the first morning of our stay after arriving from England we found that the breakfast was very expensive compared to a lot of other places so we decided to leave the hotel and have a McDonalds breakfast which is just over the road next to the Entertainment centre.
Nice clean rooms that were large enough for us and our two children and not at all noisy.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Excellent small and friendly hotel.
Clean rooms, good service. Near enough to city centre to walk.

Just round corner from China Town - great food

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Room view
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

Great stay in a great location. We checked in on 7 April and checked out on 15 April. We purchased the 7-day City Rail travel pass which cost $139USD for five of us and gave us unlimited travel on all their trains, ferries and busses. Even with a 5 year old, we were only a 5 minute walk to the nearest bus stop on George Street, a 10 minute walk from Central Station, 15 minutes from Town Hall Station, and a 10-15 minute walk to the Sydney Aquarium, Sydney Wildlife World and the Darling Harbour ferry. You are close to all of Sydney’s top attractions. The front desk and concierge members were great. The gym and laundry room are basically co-located separated by a door on the third floor. The gym has one LifeCycle treadmill and Cross Trainer elliptical machine and a circuit weight set. The laundry room has two washers and dryers which can lead to long waits. Overall, it was a great experience…I’d definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

I've just stayed two nights in Darling Harbour with my 5yo son at the
Holiday Inn on Harbour St, opposite the Entertainment Centre (which was therefore the view) and next to a monorail stop, the tram line and Paddy's Markets. It was amazingly quiet as the road directly outside seems to be a restricted access one with hardly any traffic. I booked the twin room through one of the websites that pop up when you google 'discount holidays sydney' or some such, and got it for $139 per night. This was a good price given the quality and standard of accommodation - lovely big, air conditioned room, comfortable beds, still new carpet, clean walls, Foxtel, gameboy facilities, internet; lovely bathroom with shower over bath and plenty of space. Complimentary everything ie shampoo and conditioner, shower cap etc, tea, coffee, milk - the only possible catch being the non-complimentary wine, orange juice, chocolates, muesli bars, crisps, soft drink etc which are also provided at exorbitant cost should you lack the discipline to resist them! Food at the in-house restaurants was also expensive to my mind although comparable with other classy restaurants in the area. We ate our own food for brekky and packed lunch, and ate elsewhere the 1st night. On the 2nd night I found I was able to get a decent room service meal for both of us by ordering
from the kids menu - we had battered fish with steamed vegies, fruit salad & ice cream, about $18 and the single serves were easily big enough for both of us. Service at this hotel was impeccable and security is excellent as everything operates on cards. We were able to go from our hotel room to the Aquarium and other attractions without folding up our stroller! So if you're traveling with a young child or if you are yourself reliant on wheels through a disability, this is an excellent place to stay. If you're travelling on the cheap, treat yourself by searching 6 or 7 days ahead and booking the less popular, discounted nights. Our room went up to $199 if we'd wanted to stay a 3rd night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the Southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Sydney Entertainment Centre right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry, monorail or light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.