We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent discounted rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #77 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent discounted rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

I've just stayed two nights in Darling Harbour with my 5yo son at the
Holiday Inn on Harbour St, opposite the Entertainment Centre (which was therefore the view) and next to a monorail stop, the tram line and Paddy's Markets. It was amazingly quiet as the road directly outside seems to be a restricted access one with hardly any traffic. I booked the twin room through one of the websites that pop up when you google 'discount holidays sydney' or some such, and got it for $139 per night. This was a good price given the quality and standard of accommodation - lovely big, air conditioned room, comfortable beds, still new carpet, clean walls, Foxtel, gameboy facilities, internet; lovely bathroom with shower over bath and plenty of space. Complimentary everything ie shampoo and conditioner, shower cap etc, tea, coffee, milk - the only possible catch being the non-complimentary wine, orange juice, chocolates, muesli bars, crisps, soft drink etc which are also provided at exorbitant cost should you lack the discipline to resist them! Food at the in-house restaurants was also expensive to my mind although comparable with other classy restaurants in the area. We ate our own food for brekky and packed lunch, and ate elsewhere the 1st night. On the 2nd night I found I was able to get a decent room service meal for both of us by ordering
from the kids menu - we had battered fish with steamed vegies, fruit salad & ice cream, about $18 and the single serves were easily big enough for both of us. Service at this hotel was impeccable and security is excellent as everything operates on cards. We were able to go from our hotel room to the Aquarium and other attractions without folding up our stroller! So if you're traveling with a young child or if you are yourself reliant on wheels through a disability, this is an excellent place to stay. If you're travelling on the cheap, treat yourself by searching 6 or 7 days ahead and booking the less popular, discounted nights. Our room went up to $199 if we'd wanted to stay a 3rd night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    426
    209
    42
    34
See reviews for
172
265
72
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We spent three nights in the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour and considered it a good hotel.

Fair for the price. Helpful staff, clean rooms, good bar.

Walking distance to Darling Harbour - through a nice park too. From here you can get a ferry to Circular Quay which is a nicer way to get around Sydney.

The monorail stops right by the hotel so it is easy to get to from the centre (by the Tower and around that area).

We'd stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Darling Harbour Holiday Inn for 6 nights in January 2007. The location is excellent for most of Sydney, if not a little far from the Bridge and Opera House, but great public transport makes up for this fact. It is based on the edge of the very pleasant Chinatown; a five-minute walk to Darling Harbour. For first-timers such as ourselves, its non-central location may help you to enjoy the less-obvious aspects of Sydney. Darling Harbour / Cockle Bay Wharf is a treat, with restaurants to cater for all tastes (including vegetarians - mainly Italian), bars, cafes, ice cream parlours and the Imax. The hotel itself is very clean and the interior design was very impressive for the price you pay. The air conditioning unit was effective and quiet. The staff were very friendly, and helpful with our enquiries. You have to use your room key if you wish to use the lift / elevator, which is reassuring in terms of security. We were on the 6th floor, and happily, despite night-time roadworks outside for two nights, we found the room to be very quiet and did not suffer from the monorail noise either. The hotel bar is expensive, but the staff are excellent and has a pleasant atmosphere when busy (and it will be busy when an event has finished at the Entertainment Centre across the road!) Overall, a suprisingly nice hotel and one that I would be more than happy to use again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOD/SFO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Holiday Inn. We booked it at the airport when we got in. See, we are airline employee travelers and didn't know when we could get on a flight to SYD.
At first, the room we booked was not available. We were suppose to get a nonsmoking room with a double bed. They gave us a choice of a smoking room with a double bed or a nonsmoking with two twins. Luckily a manager was nearby and told the girl to give us an upgrade. She was reluctant to do it, so the guy did it for us. I would have been disappointed otherwise after flying 14 hours from SFO and not being able to sleep next to my boyfriend or dying in a smoking room. Other than that, the only downfall is that it does not have a pool for the hot summer months. Also, do not buy into the mini bar. You can go around the corner to a "bottle shop" and get alcohol for HALF the price. It was around 7.50 AU for a bottle of Bacardi. It's not cheap in Sydney.
The location was great. There is a little fast food place called Aporto's that we just fell in love with for a quick breakfast or lunch. Across the street is Patty's, a great and cheap place for gifts. You can also walk to Darling Harbour, which is where we spent most of our time. The subway is a good walk away, but not too far. That will take you to the Opera House.
I thought the hotel was a little pricey, but so were all the others. It was a nicer Holiday Inn at least with the room we got. We paid about $800 for 5 nights, I believe.

  • Liked — The Location and Room
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

We liked this hotel, there is complementary fresh fruit and water in your room each day, there rooms were very clean and modern, a magnifying mirror for makeup and shaving, lots of soap and shampoo, they supplied terrycloth robes and slippers being from the states it was our first encounter with the tea pot for boiling water but it worked great and the instant coffee was fine for a morning start. The Consignor staff was very helpful. The location, across the street is the market and stop for the monorail and the red Sydney explorer bus. One street behind the hotel is China Town; on Friday night they close the street and have an open market, three blocks walk to Darling Harbor, and a few blocks to George Street for the busses and train stop. The only point of contention was there in room internet service was expensive this is true thru out Australia.

  • Liked — very clean and modern
  • Disliked — cost of Internet
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

This hotel is dismal ,smelly and noisy. The desk staff are hopeless.Don't stay here.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

my wife and I and two relatives stayed two nites at the end of a cruise, our first time to Sydney - The Holiday Inn is well maintained and well managed and in a very good central location to explore all of Sydney ( Sydney is large enough and has seperate areas to explore that no hotel will be perfect for everywhere, but this is a good compromise ). Price was a fair value for the area, our only comment was the $25 asd per day for in room internet access is a bit steep.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the Southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Sydney Entertainment Centre right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry, monorail or light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.