We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #77 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love everything about this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great hotel, room was nice and spacious. Bed was the most comfortable one I've ever slept in. More than enough towels provided. Bathroom was very clean. And the scent when u enter the lobby was very calming and welcoming.

Service was prompt and staff were very helpful and friendly. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helped a lot by giving suggestions on what to do and tips on places to avoid since I was alone on the trip, I find these information to be extremely helpful.

Location was the best. Right opposite the Sydney Entertainment Center. Next to Market City shopping center and behind it is the Chinatown. Plenty of F&B establishments there. Attractions such as the madame tussauds museum is within walking distance.

All in all, I had a wonderful experience while I was there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We truly value your feedback and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to another Holiday Inn sometime very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    426
    209
    42
    34
See reviews for
172
265
72
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Brilliant location for Ent Centre which is where we were going. Very short stay - staff were friendly. Room could have done with some air freshener but it really didn't bother us as it had everything we needed and was fantastic value.

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing Ent Centre was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for recent feedback it is very much appreciated. Your comments regarding your room have been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper for follow-up and investigation. Once again we thank you for your valed feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Second stay at this hotel, 2 years apart.
Very friendly staff at the reception. They acknowledged my Platinum status and upgraded me to a premium room on the top floor as well as free breakfast!
The room was of a good size with all the standard features of the holiday inn chain.
The location is excellent, right next to Paddy's market and a short walk from Darling Harbour.
Try the Pump Room a few steps from the hotel for their selection of beers and great food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
As a loyal PCR Member we value your feedback very much and were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to another IHG Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

An awesome place to stay if going to the Sydney Entertainment Centre. Everything close. Breakfast was great. Service was wonderful. Beds were VERY comfortable and the shower was great. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for your recent feedback, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to another Holiday Inn sometime very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with no problems, short walk to Darling harbour, monorail100 metres away, comfy clean rooms good price, would definetly stay there again. closer to darling than opera house but easy walking distance to both.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It was great to read your comments after your recent stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director fo Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I chose this hotel for it's location opposite the Sydney Entertainment Centre. It's very convenient to drop into your room after a concert, grab a coffee and freshen up before wandering out for a few drinks on the town.

It really is the perfect location. As others have said, within walking distance is; China Town, Monorail, Paddys Market (plus the multi-level shopping center upstairs), and the multitude of bars and restaurants in Darling Harbour.

The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise also. The staff are friendly and very helpfull. The room was clean and modern, with what appeared to be a recently refurbished bathroom. I only had breakfast downstairs, which was fine. There's too many options nearby to eat solely at the hotel.

There is no parking at the hotel, you get a slightly reduced rate at the multi-storey carpark behind the Entertainment Centre. All the more reason to leave the car behind. I recommend a 10-15 walk up to Pier 13 at Darling Harbour, jump onto the ferry, which makes a few interesting stops before passing under the Harbour Bridge and pulling up at Circular Quay. Alight here and wander south through the CBD, before jumping on the Monorail to Paddys Market. A quick tour of Sydney that costs under $10!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Your recent feedback is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wifre and I stayed at the Holiday Inn at Darling Harbour recently, it is well located if you are attending activities at the Exhibition/Convention Centre. If youy like Chinese Food then you will have no problem finding it, as the hotel is right in the middle of china town and a very short walk to Paddy's Market and the monorail. Just about everything is within wlaking distance. The rooms are small but comfortable. Didn't try the restaurant, too many other places close by to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, we were so pleased to read to you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the Southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Sydney Entertainment Centre right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry, monorail or light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.