We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a really great hotel, located near all, shopping down the street you'll find everything, fine stores,museums,food galore, souvenir shops, not far from the Sydney aquarium. Stayed with my son, safe area even at night, great pizza at mccleary's ,you will enjoy this area, The food is very good at the hotel, very clean, ask to stay on the opposite side of train station its quieter. Internet café few minutes away, its cheaper there than at the hotel, we took a shuttle bus from the airport at $8.00 as opposed to the taxi at $35. the shuttle was very courteous and clean .Walk around and enjoy this area its really amazing look up towards the Coca Cola sign you'll know you will be near the hotel,have a pizza at Mcleary's for me!

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the train station,its quieter and view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Are We There Yet! Canada,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is fantastic to read of your overall amazing experience. In particular, the positive impact the hotel location had on your stay while in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    284
    102
    23
    16
See reviews for
68
195
61
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Holiday Inn got off to a poor start. We arrived early at 1115 and understood that we could not access our room until 1400. We dropped off our bags and was advised that every effort would be made to ensure that our room would be available sooner. So far, so good. We spent the day in Sydney returning to the HI at 1730. We were told that our room was not ready. The receptionist was polite, but also got the sharp end of my tongue. A complimentary drink was offered, with us gaining access at 1800hrs. Otherwise the room was fantastic. Picture windows on the 7 floor with a great view of the Harbour, Bridge and Opera House. Staff were all polite, and breakfast was good and plentiful. Great view of the NYE fireworks at midnight. Marked down due to delay with access. Would book again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Flat Dog 569,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point, and a Happy New Year. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff were polite. I must apologise for the delay you experienced at check in. The experience you had is not our goal level of service at all and we are taking thorough steps to ensure this type of slip in standards does not re-occur. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here years ago when it was Parkroyal plaza kings cross and now recently and I got to say that the marble décor is 1970s, in case you need a hotel refresher course and it is 40 years later now where "post cosmopolitan" is in!! Ordered a "latte" from room service and all I got from him was an "attitude" "oh, you can make a coffee in your room", no, I don't want "instant" but a proper "like" latte! please advise your very young "interns" the difference between the two because obviously they don't know!! Reception need to learn how to use a computer which has been around for 20 years or so as "I'm not sure how to do that, Ill ask my supervisor" and I have to wait 30 minutes is not acceptable. Please recruit staff who have a passion for hospitality industry and not those who cant wait to clock off and party hard and not care about guests. Not happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Owen M,

Thank you for your feedback. We’re disappointed to read that our efforts to provide the very highest levels of service failed to impact your stay positively. We try very hard to create impact through service and while acknowledging that elements of our product are not brand new, we have found that service is generally what matters more. I must apologise for your experience regarding the room service, this is not to our usual standards and we have ensured that appropriate follow up is taken. Our team undergo training and on boarding on a regular basis to provide exceptional service to our guests. Please be assured that our recruitment process is rather extensive with many interns originating from hospitality schools and developing their skills alongside a team leader. We hope that you will choose us on your next trip to see our efforts for improvement.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here fairly regularly the past 9 years either on our way to Melb at Christmas or just for long weekends. Although the location is handy to town and transport the hotel has really lost much of its shine now. One word that comes to mind is TIRED. the rooms are clean but oh so old looking now. The towels are so old and shabby, the bed shook every time you turned over and the toiletries cheap and nasty. And the in room menu...it hasn't changed at all with a very poor choice in quality food. So for the first time we skipped the room service and went out to other places to eat. Staff are pleasant enough but you can tell everyone is just there to get a pay cheque, there,s no real effort in welcoming guests anymore. Come on Holiday Inn...it's time you put some money into renovations, new menus and more customer service training into your staff. My husband is a platinum member but that obviously means nothing now.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Kerrie 359,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your loyalty to IHG Rewards club. Your comments regarding the physical appearance of the hotel are a focal point, as we are considering refurbishments in the future. In the mean time, we will continue to strive to create value through our genuine guest care and the attention to detail in everything we do. Your feedback concerning the in room menu will be noted at our next meeting to ensure that we meet our guests needs that are continuously changing. We hope that you will choose us on your next visit and see the impact of our efforts.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

In the center of Sydney, surrounded by shops, restaurants and cafés! There is a parking for 27 AUD a night till the next day 4 pm. In Sydney this is something! Everything is in walking distance or easy to get to by public transport. The service is great, the room is big and silent. Everything you need is there. Very nice café in the lounge!

Room Tip: If you want a view don't take a twin! Only till the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Simonne,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is great to read of your positive comments towards the location of the hotel, in particular the easy access to cafes and local attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip.
Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanwal, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

What a drama!!!
My husbands boss booked us all in to stay here for a work christmas party. He booked 12 rooms. When we arrived our room was not ready nor was his boss' who had to wait 3 hours downstairs for his room to be prepared. We had a bus booked to take us to our party but had to change the time because the boss & his wife did not have enough time to get ready due to waiting so long for their room.
Our room was not cleaned to the standard of what you would expect when paying what they charge!
We were only told on check OUT that breakfast was included in our stay, something we would have taken advantage of if we had of known when we checked in!
The view was amazing...
The restaurant staff and food, can not fault them, they were incredibly welcoming! Thats where it ends.
We had to leave credit card details when we arrived and were not informed that they were putting a hold on any money (it was a visa debit as we did not have a credit card)
We only realised when we attempted to withdraw money and had nothing there!
I have rung hotel staff 5 times since our stay and also spoke to the manager (His name was Jason) to try and get our money to be realeased. They have only realeased half. We left the room clean, we did not rack up any bills but still we have not recieved our bond! When calling the staff, including the so called manager they very rude and spoke over the top of me constantly. He told me "see your bank" it is not my banks problem as they cannot lift the hold.
My bank tried calling to speak to Jason and he would not speak.
I have read the reviews on here and have noticed that everyone of them has a comment from hotel staff but nothing has been done to fix the problems, you are only acknowledging them, not addressing them.
I am furious & will never recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear CJLLBBB,

Thank you for your review. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We would greatly appreciate additional information in order that we can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda Johnson
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had stayed at Holiday Inn Potts Point for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience at the hotel. The rooms are big and spacious, especially for a hotel located within the city. Its close proximity to a supermarket and numerous food shops that open till late are definite positive factors to stay at this hotel.

A great variety of fresh and warm foods were served daily at breakfast. Even though the range of food served was the same everyday, it tasted great and was rather enjoyable.

The hotel is located near a slightly more dangerous area of Sydney but i still felt safe staying at the hotel. Besides the visible police presence in the area, having a security guard situtated near the front door of the hotel was rather reassuring of the hotel's commitmtent to safety for its guests.

One incident stood out during my stay at the hotel. We had to leave earlier one morning as part of a tour package. Our tour group had requested to the front manager if we could have breakfast earlier by 15 minutes and were told that they try. The next day, to our surprise, breakfast had been packed ready for 28 of us. In each cardboard pack was a muffin, fruits, youghurt and juice. Though it was not the hot meal I had hoped for but it was a really wonderful and heartwarming gesture and effort by the hotel.

The staff at Holiday Inn Potts Point were helpful, warm and cheerful during my stay. Their efforts contributed to the wonderful stay I had in Sydney.

Paul C.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is great to read about your enjoyable experience and about your positive views on the products offered at the hotel. Our goal is to make your stay as pleasant as possible from the day you check in until the moment you check out, and it seems as though we have met our goal on this occasion. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.