We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #63 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Holiday Inn has a good standard of quality and cleanliness and is good value for its proximity to the city and harbour. Although it's location is called Potts Point it is really in Kings Cross which has a very active night-life with lots of restaurants, bars and night-clubs if you like that sort of thing., Kings Cross Railway Station is next door to the Holiday Inn so it's handy for public transport and parking downstairs in the building is available as well. It's disappointing that wifi is extra. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Some rooms offer Sydney harbour views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Moira Et,

Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and thank you for your loyalty to the hotel. It is great to read that the quality, cleanliness and value met your expectations. I am pleased to advise that we are currently reviewing our internet conditions, as we understand that staying connected throughout your trip is important to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    320
    109
    25
    17
See reviews for
76
216
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just about 30 seconds from the Underground station, which is round the corner. It's also about 5 minutes, by tube, from the centre of Sydney so easy to get into town if you want to go there. You can get to the hotel from the airport via the airport train and then the underground from the central station or town hall staions, the best bit is that the airport ticket is valid for the latter part of the jounrney also.

Hotel rates are better than for the most of Sydney for a 4* hotel. However, if you do a bit of background reading you can see why! It is on the edge of the red light district but there were no problems while I was there and the "entertainment" is round the corner and down the road a bit so not in your face unless you go and look for it.

The hotel is clean and room was very comfortable. The bed had a topper on it so you just sink into it and you get good support from the mattrass beneath, excellant nights sleep.

Good breakfast buffet in the morning available with hot and cold options if required. Room and bath room were really clean and welcoming. The room was overlooking the main road but the good double glazing kept the noise out.

However, one thing that struck me strange, The hotel's corridoor are curved and there is no windows just cream walls, which seem to go on for miles and miles. Now you are in a city with some of the best sights in the world and there are no pictures of it on the walls, just plain cream!!!

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful with ideas of what to do and how to get around town. Took the airport bus back, after the hotel's recommendation, which was cheaper than the train.

Would I go back, yes if I was in town. This hotel is a good option if being in the centre of town is not critical,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Pair211,

Thank you for your detailed review and positive comments about the location, cleanliness and friendly staff! Our staff are extremely knowledgeable and can advise guests on the hidden little gems in the area, I am glad to hear that this was beneficial to yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stay at the Holiday Inn at Potts Point (Kings Cross) on a regular basis when visiting Sydney. Closely located to central Kings Cross, it is easily accessible by either walking or taxi to most of inner Sydney. Friendly service and quality rooms, I rate this particular Holiday Inn facility as very good value accommodation. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Prado 123,

Thank you for your loyalty to Holiday Inn Potts Point, and thank you for your feedback. It is fantastic to read that we are able to meet your expectations through our friendly service, hotel quality and value offered. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel: great location, well appointed rooms, comfortable bed and excellent views. However, very disappointed that the 'free wifi' cost $9.00. It is in fact free the for first 2 hours but is charged for any time used thereafter. One of the reasons we selected this hotel was because it featured free wifi and I obviously didn't read the fine print about the time limit. It surprises me that some hotels still go to the trouble to charge guests for this service that others provide at no charge.

If they are so concerned about guests using their wifi to download a whole series of Games of Thrones, surely it would be more reasonable to supply free wifi based on the amount of data used, and start charging once that data limit is reached, rather than for a limited time. Guests like us want to use wifi throughout our stay to look at maps, check email, download TV guide and update social media. All these activities rarely take place within a fixed two hour period.

We won't stay again with this group while this policy is in place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear plainnotjayne,

Thank you for review. I am glad to read your positive feedback regarding the rooms and hotel views. Unfortunately our wifi is only free for a limited of time per day to guests, and is also conditional on data download for that guest. I am pleased to announce that IHG Reward Club members receive discounted internet use within the hotel. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back for a future visit.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Potts Point is located in a prime position. There is an underground station next to it, buses accross the road, and is within walking distance of Sydney harbour and a number of attractions.

Having parked under the hotel in the ample secure parking, a short elevator ride revealed a light and spacious lobby. Check-in was friendly and efficient.

The room was a "harbourview room" on the 8th (top) floor of the hotel, and the view was absolutely stunning from the large windows. The curtains are thermal backed, which keeps the room cool. There was a comfortable king sized bed, with a selection of pillows of different firmness. The desk was a good size, and has both WiFi and cable Internet at a reasonable price. The flat-screen TV was well sized, although the remote control was a little fiddly. There was an adequate selection of channels, and the usual on-demand movies. A rather firm and non-adjustable office chair was at the desk, and a comfortable armchair was next to the window. A small fridge was conveniently located in the TV bureau, along with the facilities to make tea and coffee. A generous sized built-in robe complete with safe and ironing equipment rounded out the main area. The duvet was probably a bit too warm for this time of year, however, if I had been really fussed, I could have adjusted the room temperature with the digital controller.

The bathroom was tasteful and spacious, with a shower/bath, sink unit and WC. The supplied toiletries were of good quality/quantity, with a light fragrance. The towels were fluffy and plentiful. The mirror hardly steamed up during the use of the shower.

The whole room was spotlessly clean, and I mean spotless. Even the kettle interior was not overlooked, and this attention to detail was a real credit to the room attendants. I was greeted by one of the attendants on my departure, and she took the time to engage in a friendly conversation ensure that I had been happy with my stay.

Room Tip: A harbourview room on the top floor is a must. All of the harbourside rooms are exceptionally quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sydney Engineer,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. I was thrilled to read how positively some of the aspects of your stay impacted you and it is really rewarding for us as a team to see such high praise for our service style. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back on a future visit.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in Kings Cross - it is literally next to the Kings Cross station exit. So expect to be confronted with Kings Cross clients on the weekend (ie young people from the western suburbs out to party). For example, when we checked in a group of about 10 guys were swearing like troopers at the check-in counter. The friendly Holiday Inn clerk was having none of it and nearly kicked them out. Also someone vomited in the elevator late on Saturday night - but it was cleaned up immediately and the lift smelt like cleaning products in the morning. There is also a huge bouncer guarding the door at night - so pretty safe.

The rooms are clean though and relatively quiet given the late night party goers coming in and out, but perhaps avoid if you don't sleep soundly. Breakfast was fairly ordinary but not bad for a busy mid-range hotel buffet restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift and on lower levels if you are a light sleeper (or if you are going to par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Rosebuddy,

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that the room cleanliness and friendly staff had a positive impact on your stay. Holiday Inn Potts Point is located in a vibrant area of Sydney, where travellers have the option to sample the lively local nightlife. I am glad that you felt safe within the hotel and the security at night time was beneficial.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here last month when I was in Sydney seeing family. The hotel is in an enviable location, close to the bustle of dalinghurst and the serenity of the royal botanic gardens. As my husband remained in Perth, I was a little unsure about staying here by myself, but the friend and attentive staff put me at ease. People complain on here about the lack of wifi, but that honestly was no bother. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is pleasing to read your favourable comments about the location and hotel environment. I am glad to hear that you felt at ease travelling by yourself. It is our aim to make your stay as pleasant as possible so you can relax and be yourself, especially when travelling solo as it can be stressful. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.