We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice food from room service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #63 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and nice food from room service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and was very happy with the room and location. It near the king cross train station and walking distance to a few places... maybe because we walked alot... we walk from the hotel to paddington and back. Its near a few residental area so we had a great view of the nearby estate. It can get a bit rowdy at night as its near a lot of pubs and clubs. We did not want to go out at night so call for room service and surprisingly the fish and chips turn out great!!!. The hotel has a self laundry and its great for me as it means lesser laundry back home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Puroland,

I appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and value your feedback, I am delighted to note that we met all your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon!

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    319
    109
    25
    17
See reviews for
76
214
66
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

So King's Cross is just around the corner, so? The location of this Hotel is excellent. It is a mere 15 minute taxi ride from the airport, although you can catch the train if you prefer. Kings Cross Train Station is right next door to the hotel, which makes it so easy to get around Sydney. Throw in the fact that the views across the city and harbour are stunning, the restaurant adequate, the beds incredibly comfortable, the rooms spacious, the surrounding area of Potts Point full of interesting shops, cafes, restaurants......what more could you want? My only criticism this time (and we have stayed on numerous occasions in the past) is that the staff were not quite as helpful as they could have been. For example we ordered a taxi on the Saturday evening to go to the North Shore. When it hadn't arrived some 20 minutes after it was due and we asked the desk, the staff member who had ordered the cab merely shrugged and said "Saturday night". The bartender "forgot" our tapas order on another evening, but all up, we would stay again because the hotel itself ticks most of the boxes.

Room Tip: Pay just a little bit more and enjoy the Harbour Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear liliannz,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I value your feedback and have taken your comments on board and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

One of the main advantages is that the moment you come out of King Cross station you are in front of the hotel, Stayed for 5 nights but nothing to complain about, the staff were friendly and I was allowed to check in early without any fuss, The rooms were clean but if I was staying on the lower floor level on a weekend, it could be a bit noisy due to the nightclub nearby.
Coles opposite the hotel was also most convenient. All the fuss about being a hotel in King Cross was unfounded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Let B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your fantastic review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Potts Point and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

How would you feel if you are getting off a 4 hour flight, and then a 1 hour wait at airport for a cab to get to a hotel with 2x 25 kg cartons in a hurry to take a shower change and get to work and the staff tells you to use the trolley parked on a side to get it to your room???
When i do all that pick up to bring the trolley in, one of the elevators wont work.
I was on a business trip and somehow the company had this listed as one of the available hotels (that i will try my best not going to be the case in the future), so i booked it. It is in Sydney's red light district, so it can be FUN or DANGEROUS or both at nights.. choose with care..
The last night before i checked out, i requested the staff on counter to help me with getting the boxes down, and he plainly pointed to the trolley parked in the same corner and he was not even busy as it was 10.30 pm in the night. The amazing fact is that BOTH lifts were not working at that precise time and so i had to use a service lift from within the kitchen cleaning area .. complete utter disgusting experience.. no hotel staff came close when i was trying to use the hotel trolley!!!
I WOULD RECOMMEND NOT TO GO FOR THE CHEAP PRICE. Its cheap for a reason!! Other than the view form their 8th floor, which i paid approx. 30 dollars per night extra for, i was not able to find anything out of ordinary in the room or in the hotel. Its basically the center for cheap overseas travel trips where the guests dont even know where will they be staying !
STRONGLY RECOMMEND NOT TO GO THERE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear HKhan78,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. Nevertheless, I am deeply concerned regarding the disappointment and inconveniences you had experienced, especially after looking forward to staying with us here at Holiday Inn Potts Point. Please rest assured that the convenience and comfort of our guests is our top priority; and we would request you to provide us with another opportunity to re-instill confidence in our Product, Service and Brand and to show you that this is not the usual feedback we receive from guests who have experienced staying at Holiday Inn Potts Potts.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

For a Sydney hotel , this place represents good value. The room was a nice size and had all the conveniences you need. It is on the edge of Kings Cross, but you hardly notice. The walk down through Potts Points is interesting, and the area has some funky bars and cafes.
In addition, it is literally on top of Kings Cross underground station, so you can get there via the Airport Train with very little hassle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mordi1966,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the view of our fantastic harbour from your room. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here so I was close to Moore Park. The staff were friendly and the room clean & comfortable. I had room service dinner & it was very nice. The view was beautiful as I was on the 7th floor. I did find that because of a nightclub nearby there was a constant noise from the drums. This was not a great disturbance as I left the telly on music channel most of the night as was able to sleep. The hotel is next door to railway station so this is a well situated hotel

Room Tip: Probably try to get a room high floor & toward the rear of the motel not on Victoria street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Susiewrx,

Thank you for taking the the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, and it was really good to to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service & clean rooms. We are waiting to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed here twice now and the service is consistently good. Although the hotel is on need of a good paint the rooms are clean and the bathrooms are a very good size. The views are better than most luxurious hotels in the city. There is a deep bath there as well which is rare these days. The hotel is well positioned to enjoy all that Sydney has to offer and is safe walking around at night albeit a fairly colourful area!!!! The restaurants are fabulous and the walk down Victoria st or Maclea road will give a visitor some of the best choices in food and wine ss well as a variety of devine gift and art shops. I love staying here as a little bit of paradise and only $45 in cab to airport and positioned right next to kings cross station you can get to anywhere cheaply and quickly. Brilliant value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear london64_06,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point.I was really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our location, service and spectacular room. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.