We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #63 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed just for 1 night, and I must say , we were pleasantly surprised by a number of things: our room for the 3 of us, one extra bed, was quite spacious. The room and bathroom were very clean. We came before actual check-in time, but were able to move in rightaway.
The staff at the desk were very professional and friendly. We had dinner and a drink at the hotel's dining room and everything was quite satisfactory. After we checked out the next day, we could leave our luggage to allow us to stay downtown until our pick up in the afternoon. I have no problem recommending this hotel, especially since the price was very reasonable and the location was excellent

Room Tip: I booked on-line
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear hamlet2004,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback regarding our service & cleanlinesses. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    320
    109
    25
    17
See reviews for
76
216
66
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With so many hotels to choose from, how in the world does one choose? When I read that Richard Branson not only puts his crews up at this hotel but that he too stays there, I thought it was a lock. One of the best moves I've ever made! The room was spacious, beautiful decor and the linens made the rest even more delightful! The beds were very comfortable and made it difficult to get out of!!!

The breakfast was one of the best we had while in Australia. They had it all! Every kind of egg and coffee that you could think of. The juice bar was delicious! Do not hesitate to do their breakfast. When we return to Sydney, we will be staying here again. While some say the neighborhood is rough, we didn't find that the case at all. There are so many great restaurants and bars nearby that we didn't even need a cab. Also the train station is less than 2 block away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear flyin4fun,

Thank you for taking the the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, and it was really good to to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service, room and breakfast offerings. We are waiting to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We normally stay closer to the southern end of the CBD but tried the Holiday Inn due to very expensive hotel prices the weekend we were staying.

Really...the hotel should be called the Holiday Inn Kings Cross as you could not be more centrally located in 'the Cross' than this. I guess the cross has negative connotations so they prefer Potts Point! It is an interesting area full of 'interesting characters' and certainly has its seedy side.

However there are good reasons to stay here. Victoria street has some great restaurants less than 5 mins walk away. Or head in the opposite direction, past the girlie bars, and before you know it you'll find yourself in very attractive 'Potts Point proper'. You can walk straight down from the hotel to the CBD in about 15 mins - of course the train station is also directly under the hotel.

The room itself was quite simple with a very comfy bed & selection of great soft to firm pillows.

I like the area & would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Bazza76,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We sincerely appreciate honest feedback, as it resonates a true reflection for our future guests. Kings Cross is well known for its night-life and great restaurants and cafes. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamboin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I arrived to spend a weekend here with an advance booking - only to discover that I had made a mistake with the dates. The hotel was really full, but the hotel staff pulled out all the stops and were able to accommodate us. It did not hurt that I had Platinum Ambassador status with IHG - but this seemed to me to show that loyalty of a particular brand can pay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Menippus,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was very pleased to hear that we were able to assist you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good value hotel, nice location, although we were told it could be rough at night, we did not find it rough just central and full of activity. The staff were a little abrupt and we were double charged on checking out, the breakfast was great with a do it yourself juicer.

Good location for ease of travel and reasonable rates for car parking in base,ent, with ease of use/entry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Clivethegreat,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards

Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As the title suggests, the location is great, not right in the CBD, but within a walking distance to almost everything in Sydney and directly above a subway station (How convenient is that!). The other great thing is their breakfast, not cheap, but well worth it. Buffet style with a chef preparing custom made omelets, plus fresh juicer machine to make your own fruit juice on the spot. And the morning manager (who has been there for years) is fantastic, as are his servers. They will even make you a custom latte with just the perfect amount of vanilla (almost like being back home in Seattle). The staff of the hotel is great too, but that is where the good news stops... I have stayed there once a year for about 10 years and this property is getting old. Carpets have stains and rooms have permanent odors that deodorizers can't control. The last room had such strong smell of a carpet deodorizer that my eyes watered for few minutes after entering. The room before had a bad smell, like something almost died in there. Beds are getting old too, with nice new pillows of various hardness, but old and sagging mattresses. Bathrooms appear clean, but they also have a bit of a smell. Everything else works fine. All of this would be tolerable at half the price, but with rooms priced over $200 per night, plus an insane surcharge for using a credit card (!!!) and an additional charge for internet, this hotel will start losing business sooner or later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Zbigniew T,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service, rooms and quality breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had to stay here recently with work for 3 nights. Its location was fantastic, you can pretty much walk anywhere within the CBD from this property. There are some really great restaurants on Victoria Street right on your doorstep so food is never hard to find in that part of town.

Scored an upgrade to a harbour view room thanks to my Platinum Priority Club status. Room was clean and met all my expectations.

The staff are friendly and efficient and most importantly this property really offers value for money.

I would surely stay at this property again. Thanks Holiday Inn Potts Point!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear VoyageReport,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that your enjoyed our location & service. Your comments are very much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.