We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Sydney for SMH Half Marathon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #63 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“In Sydney for SMH Half Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice, comfy and clean. The Resturant is nice, with lots of windows and natural light during the day. The meal I had for dinner was delicious and the staff were very polite and attentive to my needs.
The breakfast was great, the chef cooked me pancakes and there was a big selection of food. They even had juices with fruit cut up so you can make your own fresh juice. In central location, there is a Coles supermarket just across the road. Right next to the hotel is a lift that will take you down to Kings Cross Railway Station.
Now they say it is Potts Point but its so close to Kings Cross, Dalinghurst road is just 10 meters from the hotel. This is a very interesting area, lots of old houses and buidings around the area, if you have time do a wonder around the streets nearby do it, very interesting but only do this in the day time. The night life here is very active to say the least, the only disappointing thing was that about 2am in the morning there was a fight in the street right outside the hotel. But I did feel safe tucked up in my bed in the hotel.
The only other complaint I had is the view from my widow, please see photo attached.
But it was a nice stay and will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Tuna111,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Potts, it is also fantastic to get feedback on our cleanliness, comfortable beds and the quality of our F&B product. Iam delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope on your next visit you can get a upgrade to one of our harbour view rooms.

Kind Regards

Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    319
    109
    25
    17
See reviews for
76
214
66
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
1,564 helpful votes 1,564 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed here for work conferences a few times and I really like this Hotel. It's a tad convoluted in that it has two wings an old original wing with totally modernized rooms and the curved newer section.all the rooms are well equipped and has everything you could want.

There's an excellent restaurant downstairs and room service with nice to naughty variety of meals in the true Holiday Inn style they have a very good selection. This Hotel has fully been transformed into the new Hoilday Inn Livery which I'm not a fan of, it's like they want modern, but it's the name and look of the past that I loved and trusted.

This hotel has parking, is close to Kings cross station and is Truely in the heart of the action, late night clubbing scene of Sydney. Just if you hear any thing that sounds like gun fire drop to the ground, the police are doing their best to sort out the Cross but they have a way to go. In the day it's a nice place to walk around.

Reception staff are very friendly, the restaurant staff Proffesional and it's all lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My father in law stays at this hotel when he is in Sydney for business, so everyone in the place knows him.
He paid for our stay whilst we were in Sydney for a couple of days at the beginning of May and even though we had a room on the top floor, the views were amazing. I would not close the blinds at night so we could just gaze at the skyline and the harbour bridge of Sydney.
Clean and very comfortable beds - the pillow were to die for, a choice of hard or soft and they made for a very nice sleep through the night.
This is in a great location, with very friendly and efficent staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear FordyPerth,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. With nothing obstructing the breathtaking city skyline backdrop from our Harbour View rooms, there is no better way to take in the spectacular views that Sydney has to offer. Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback regarding our exceptional service as well as the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and facilities. I am pleased to hear that we have made your stay in Sydney an enjoyable one and we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Arriving to the airport take the train towards KingCross station which is located in the same building of the hotel. Clean as all Holiday inn, busy then personnel does not have much time to provide advise regarding best options to visit the city. The hotel is not near to main atractions, actually is near to the red district ...ugly street! however you can walk towards william st and take the CitySightseeing bus, use the station # 6, because # 7 is in the red district. For 2 days is the best option going to Sydney And Bondy.  Hotel is walking distance to Royal Botanical Gardens ...take note park is closed at 6pm, then cannot be the same route returning from your walk.
Taxi hotel to airport $40 and takes 25 to 30 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear MLGS,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. Transport to and from the hotel is seamless with Kings Cross train station being located adjacent to the hotel. Travellers can also catch the train to Sydney CBD and experience all of Sydney's iconic attractions, which is only one stop away. I completely agree with your great tip for travellers, Sydney City and all the attractions as well as Bondi are a must see when visiting Sydney. We hope to have you stay with us in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Unfortunately had to leave this hotel after 1 night for personal reasons so unable to rate on many facilities. Main highlight was the service from front desk staff, they couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating in assisting us with our issues (non hotel related ). Located right on Kings Cross you are right in the middle of party central, so if you are looking for a quieter stay then go elsewhere. Only a few minutes walk to nice boutiques and quirky shops, and a few minutes more to the wharfside at Wooloomooloo for upmarket restaurants.
As a PCR Platinum member was upgraded to a superior room, with great view towards the harbour and opera house. Room was very spacious with large bathroom area.
Breakfast buffet was above average for HI's.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor and at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Alan056,

I am so pleased to hear so many positive reviews on our customer service levels. Exceptional customer service and exceeding our guests needs is what we strive for. It is great to hear that you had the chance to experience the culture of the Potts Point precinct during your short stay. Restaurants and cafes, boutique shopping and the nightlife are some of the great experiences to enjoy when you stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I truly hope you get the opportunity to return to Sydney in the near future to enjoy all that this great city has to offer.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
451 helpful votes 451 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here for a night in January. It was a saturday night. The room was well maintained and clean. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. There was nothing overly special about the hotel but it was fine.
There were two big downsides. First, this is a big party area. If you are there on a friday or saturday night, the streets fill with drunken punks who can't behave. I stood in my window overlooking the street and watched people throwing beer bottles and yelling and screaming. And it definately spilled over into the hotel as well.
Sadly, when I came back from an evening at the theatre, and someone had thrown up in the hallway near my room. It was quite disgusting. I informed the front desk, and the girl looked horrified. I don't know when it was cleaned up, but it was clean in the morning. I can't really fault the hotel for this. I just know some people would not feel comfortable in this area.
My other major complaint was the buffet breakfast. It was rediculously overpriced. The buffet food was mediocre in quality, and the fruit didn't taste fresh at all. We could've gone to a number of nearby cafes and had food for a fraction of the cost. I would recommend taking a little walk in the morning and finding something more reasonable for breakfast

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the street, especially on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear rob_hanson1979,

It is great to hear feedback from our guests as it reaffirms that our staff continue to maintain a high level of service to our guests. Our hotel cleanliness and maintenance levels are paramount to ensure guest satisfaction and I welcome your positive feedback that our rooms and facilities are kept to a great standard. I am sorry to hear that your experience with the precinct was not as positive as your feedback on the hotel, and that on this occasion it did flow into the hotel. This is not the norm and I am pleased to hear that our team acted quickly to your feedback. We receive a lot of feedback on the price and quality of breakfast, which is very positive. We take all feedback seriously and I will pass your concerns onto the food and beverage manager to look into this further. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on the Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very nice if a bit standard Holiday Inn, centrally placed right next to Kings Cross rail station. Lots and lots of night life and clubs literally on the doorstep so was very noisy at night, very very lively at 3.00am on a Sunday morning! If noise is an issue stay elsewhere, if not it's fine

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Steven_way,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Holiday Inn Potts Point. There is so much for travellers to do when staying at Holiday Inn Potts Point, including the lively nightlife for those who enjoy a night out, and a variety of dining options available at the many great restaurants and cafes at our doorstep. If you are looking for a night in the hotel, we serve appetising Mediterranean cuisine in Sirocco Restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.