We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014 exploring Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Old Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #55 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“July 2014 exploring Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have spent one week exploring Sydney. Arrived late Thursday and settled into hotel. Perfect location in The Rocks. Fabulous restaurants close by including Caminetto Italian restaurant, directly behind the hotel, the upstairs bar/restaurant at the Orient hotel, the courtyard cafe, patisserie and great coffee at The Fine Food store. Visited Paddy's market then on way back to hotel, explored China town and queued for delicious cream puffs at the Emperor's Garden cake and bakery, $4 for 15 - definitely worth the wait! On Saturday we visited the Powerhouse museum and aquarium with lunch at cockle bay. Sunday morning was spent exploring the markets at the Rocks, then took advantage of cheap public transport and took a ferry to Manly. Lunch was had at a pub in Manly with a great coffee purchased from the Barefoot coffee traders in Manly. We caught the Manly ferry back to Circular Quay, changed ferries and continued on to Luna park for a look around. Monday was another great day whereby we found the bridge stairs (off Cumberland street) and walked across the bridge to Burton St, Kirribilli (eastern side). We followed the directions from www.wildwalks.com - Harbour Bridge to Taronga zoo, although we only walked as far as Kirribilli house then back to the Rocks. This was a great walk with spectacular views. The rest of the day was spent exploring Hyde park, ANZAC shrine, St. Mary's Cathedral and the Sydney Tower. Tuesday we will take the ferry to Taronga zoo for the day and spend the day at this beautiful zoo. On Wednesday we will visit Bondi and the Botanical gardens and then fly home in the evening. The hotel is in a great location and we have walked everywhere (except for the Ferries and a bus to Bondi). The reception is 24 hours, clean and has a fabulous (little) rooftop hot-tub and spa with spectacular views across the Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear holidaywithkids2011,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review was very detailed and was a great read for anybody visiting Sydney looking for ideas on where to visit or where to eat.

Thank you so much for sharing this with us, we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    693
    250
    78
    30
See reviews for
309
674
85
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Crescent, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I only stayed here one night. I wish I could have stayed longer!
The room was great. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. I was on the eighth floor so the view was good of this section of Sydney. The rooftop pool and spa were fantastic. What a great view of Sydney Harbor and the city!
The desk reception staff was very helpful and friendly.
This hotel has a large lobby with a fireplace and bar area.
This hotel is in a section of Sydney called The Rocks, which is a great historical area to explore and to enjoy shopping and dining.
Sydney Harbor is close too. If I were lucky enough to come back to Sydney, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Lilac59,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was fantastic to red that you enjoyed your stay so much in Sydney as well as at out hotel. Thank you for your very kind words and in particular in regards to our staff.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Sydney some time again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Perfectly located in the Rocks with a rooftop pool view to die for - which nearly happened incidentally on diving into a freezing cold shallow pool but that's another story.. Rooms perfectly serviceable but nothing to write home about. Very comfy beds and pillows and fabulously efficient staff. Would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear lavalampulie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for awarding us with a five out of five score. In regards to the pool, we are just about to install a new heat pump which should boost our solar heating over the winter months. Apologies for the cool temperature in the pool.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We had four great nights at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed comfortable. The view from the roof is fabulous and the breakfast is good value - we loved the juice maker and the scrambled eggs.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Gavin L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are currently staying here and feel compelled to write a review now- instead of later. Rooms are clean and comfortable, no frills- but we are certainly not paying for frills in the great rate. Very affordable and very central- without being surrounded by traffic and hussle and bussle! The building itself is quite peculiar and interesting. We are in room 518 and it takes about as long to walk from the lift to our door as the flight from Adelaide (huge embellishment) but with a sneaky short cut up a couple of stairs to the 6th floor (right by our room) we can access the elevator really conveniently. The man who checked us in (sorry I didn't catch your name) was most friendly and professional- very good ambassador for IHG. We haven't dined in the restaurant or bar yet but I can only assume all other staff are just as great. The view from the room of the city is great- especially at sunrise! The view from the pool on the rooftop is absoloutely stunning- you can see the Opera House accross the harbour and you can almost touch the Harbour Bridge! It feels like you're in your own special corner of Sydney! Special shout out to the comfortable bed and pillow selection. I like firm mattresses and pillows but our bed and my pillow are both soft and I'm now rethinking my bed choice at home. Super happy with everything- thanks to everyone! Plus a big thanks to Grant for the bubbles and strawberries in our room on arrival- what a special welcome!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sian K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for posting a review whilst you were still in house. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback about our staff is also greatly appreciated and will be shared with them.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back for a visit from Adelaide again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you want a great & convenient Hotel to stay in and see all of Sydney, this is the place I would recommend, not too expensive & the rooms are well appointed they have everything to make your stay a pleasure, Close to the iconic Rocks area and Circular Quay Opera House & close to all other transport venues and wonderful restaurants. Close to old Sydney town with quaint little hotels and of course the wonderful Rocks Markets held on every weekend. I have given the Hotel a 4 but more like a 4 & half.
The one problem is that they only provide breakfast and the Restaurant is closed for other meals but plenty of other restaurants are nearby.
You will love this Hotel.
My family and I have stayed at this Hotel on many many occasions.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th or 6th floor, Bridge side, but lower rooms can be a little street noisy at times, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Brian E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your loyalty. We are pleased to read that you and your family continue to return to our hotel. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. As you have noted in your review, our restaurant is only open for breakfast, however we have an all day and evening menu available for dining in the bar for all other meal periods. With so many dining options in the area we have found that many customers choose to have dinner in the local area.

We look forward to being able to welcome you and your family back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

In terms of views this is by fair the best hotel in world I have stayed in. What more of a hotel do you want which has a hot tub and swimming pool on top of its roof which overlooks the Sydney Opera House. Absolutely stunning and is a culmination of what dreams are made of. I was more happy with this place than when Charlie won the golden ticket in Charlie and the Choctaw factory.

The rooms are spacious with very good views and the layout of the hotel is efficient. The surrounding area is immense being situated next to the historical point of interest the rocks. The rooms are clean and well presented and the staff are accommodating and friendly.

Unfortunately we didn't try the food but being in such a great location there was plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area to choose from.

If your looking for tranquility and serenity then go here because it offers that and more!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The content in your review was a great read and certainly made us smile when you made the Charlie and the Chocolate factory reference! We were very pleased to read that you were so delighted with your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words on behalf of the team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets, uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Each of the modern 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Old Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.