We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but hotel is indeed old.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Old Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location but hotel is indeed old.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Love the location! Just a walk away from the bridge, opera house and ferries. Pool have an amazing view. I enjoyed The Rocks Market over the weekend, it was just outside the hotel.

Room is good but not great. I love the pillow options, that was very comfortable. However everything else is old. The aircond was not consistent, sometimes it's okay but sometimes it acts up. The deco is not up to date. Sadly, the hotel have no wifi! :(

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for better view of Opera House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear TkMia,

Congratulations on posting your first review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for sharing your experience with others and for awarding us with a five star review. I am pleased to let you know that our hotel is just about to start work on a full replacement of our heating and airconditioning system. This will provide you , our customers the latest technology in heating and cooling in our guest rooms. We are also about to undertake a lobby re-fresh with new furniture and décor. I am unsure as to why you could not use WIFI, our hotel has been fully equipped with WIFI for several years. The hotel is actually having the WIFI system further upgraded this month to ensure the fastest possible speed and consistent signal. We also offer WIFI in the hotel lobby.

Thank you once again for your review.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    680
    245
    77
    28
See reviews for
300
658
83
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waupun, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great place stay......great location! Will be back in the area in February and hope to stay here again. It is located in the Rocks area near the port.....an excellant place to stay when one plans to get on or off one on the cruise ships

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sam V,

Congratulations on posting your first review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and for awarding us a five star review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in February.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

By far the best thing about the Hotel is the location, right in the heart of the historic Rocks district, and within an easy walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House.

The room was fairly basic but comfortable. I was surprised there was no mini bar, not that we often use it anyway. The hotel seems to be an older building and a newer building joined together. The two buildings are not exactly on the same level, which means after exiting the lift you need to go down a few stairs into the older section, if that is where your room is.

We had a Harbour view room in the older section. The view was fantastic, but the windows are quite small, which meant you actually had to stand at the window to enjoy the view. Also, the windows had pull down blinds, but not curtains. This meant they didn't do a good job of blocking the morning sun, and we were woken early by the light each day.

Breakfast is good without being outstanding. There is an egg station, which is good, but there are limited other selections, especially in the fruit.

I would definitely recommend the hotel if you are a tourist to Sydney, or especially if you are catching a cruise ship, as the International Cruise Terminal is just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manger at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Ddkent,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your comprehensive review. Our location is certainly very handy to Circular Quay and the Overseas Passenger Terminal as you have mentioned. Our Holiday Inn Hotels in Australia do not stock minibar products in the fridge units themselves however we can do so upon request and menus are located in our guest rooms.

As part of the hotels continuous improvement program we have only recently changed our blinds in the majority of our guest rooms. These replaced the older style wooden venetian blinds which we had. I am sorry that you found that they did not block out all of the light to your room.

You are correct in saying that our heritage listed building is split into two parts. The rear part of the hotel originates from the 1800's and the front and side parts of the hotel were built in the early 1980's.

Thank you once again for your positive review.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As Sydney was sold out for the weekend (lung cancer city-wide group in town, Opera House 40th birrthday celebration, and one direction concert), we had a last minute booking made via OTA. After a morning flight and Bondi tour, we walked into hotel at about 14:00, Penny was efficient to check us in (mind you, we needed a twin room, and it was a busy day) and to explain how lovely the level-8 spa area is- "and the view from the top is great." Great job Penny, you're a gem to Holiday Inn, IHG and the whole hospitality industry.Who cares for the view, or size of the room? How much time do you spend in room if you're here in holidays or in 'corporate' purpose, anyway? Well, the room was big enough, clean, and there is the harbor in a stone-throw distance. It is close to everything that Sydney got to showcase.Definitely a 'thumb-up': clean, centrally located, affordable and wecoming (staff member).PS: I'd love to have better water pressure next time I'm back; can do?

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Utkrista,

As a Senior Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your five star score is greatly appreciated. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It certainly was a very busy weekend in Sydney with many events being held. Thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the great customer service which you received from Penny.

Apologies about the water pressure, it is not something that is usually an issue for the hotel and may have been an isolated occurrence.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location. Great breakfast. Really overpriced but they can be because of the fantastic location.
Overbooked so didnt get the room we wanted. We were offered an alternative and told by the reception that it was an upgrade. Trouble was it overlooked the street and the nightclub opposite so I lay awake listening to very very drunk people being very abusive to each other until 2.30am I had wanted a room at the back of the hotel for this very reason.
The room windows and curtains were really grubby and dirty. Behind the toilet was really dirty and dusty. To be honest I would not stay there again because of the lack of cleanliness. We found two kids croc shoes under the bed. I think they have a high turnover of guests, they seemed overbooked. ( I heard a couple of other guests complaining about not having the right room ).
I have to say the male manager ( sorry forgot his name ) was very helpful and gave us a complimentary bus ticket for 24 hours. That was good fun and went some way to make up for the wrong room. The cleanliness however was horrible and just not good enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jenny1000000,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise for the poor stay which you experienced with us in August. The hotel is currently working with the local council to address the external noise issue which you have raised. Clearly as a team we have not delivered what you should have expected here at our hotel on this occasion. I have passed on your feedback to our Front Office and Housekeeping departments to further reflect upon and investigate further.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I am so sorry that we let you down.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the Rocks area, 5min away from the ferry terminal & Circular Quay station & 10min walk to the Opera House & botanical garden. Various choices of cafe within 5-10min walk. Near the harbour, so very windy. Nice view of the Opera House & HarbourBridge from the swimming pool level located on the 8th floor. Front desk staffs are friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean, but bathroom pretty small.
Stayed on the side of the hotel facing the main road, so a little noisy in the evening. There is a swimming pool, sundeck, and a small lounge in the lobby. Otherwise, there isn't any other facilities.
Would recommend to friends, and probably will stay at the same hotel if I go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear 111Jamie111,

Congratulations on posting your first review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here in Sydney. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the location of the hotel. We also appreciate the photos which you have posted online of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October and the location is great. We spent the extra for a harbour view and from the sixth floor you could clearly see the Opera House and the Bridge. If you don't take a harbour view room take a trip to the rooftop pool at night because there is something magical about the view when it's all lit up. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions and information on the area. The Rocks area where the hotel is located is a beautiful area that is well worth taking a day to explore.
If you're coming from North America remember you don't just need a plug adaptor you need a convertor that will drop their power from 220 to 110. Without it you will fry anything you plug in.

Room Tip: A harbour view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear igloo08,

As a Senior Reviewer thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us with a five star score.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay here in the rocks area. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our staff.

Thank you for posting the tip to others regarding the need for a voltage adaptor for any electrical appliances from overseas.

Wishing you safe future travels, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets, uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Each of the modern 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Old Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.