We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Old Sydney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Rooftop views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The view from the rooftop pool is the reason why we chose this hotel. A word of advice: if you're looking to take photos of the view, you'll need a wide angle lens to fit the opera house and harbour bridge in one shot, or use a panoramic mode. Cruise ships dock at Circular Quay so to get an unobstructed view, go after 7pm and before 6am to take photos.

The rooms themselves were fine, there was some construction or something early morning which was annoying but I'm sure that was from the street so nothing the hotel could do. The rooms do look a little on the "older" side (by which I mean, windows and bathroom fittings are on the "older" side), which seems the norm in Sydney hotels but they appeared to have been refreshed not too long ago so it still looks modern.

Service was great and friendly. Nothing at all to complain about. Location is amazing, short walk to the Quay, and not far from Darling Harbour and Pitt St Mall (20 min walk to Darling Harbour).

There is a guest laundry which is convenient. Pool is on the smaller side and while the water felt like it would be freezing, it was actually quite pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear chloeisacat

Thank you for your great comments. Nice to hear you enjoyed the hotel and all the Holiday Inn Old Sydney and Sydney city had to offer.

FYI as part of our commitment to reducing our impact on the environment the pool is now solar heater for your comfort and for the better good of the world.

See you again soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    680
    245
    77
    28
See reviews for
300
658
83
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We picked this hotel because of it's location and I'm so glad we did! We arrived early and they had a room ready for us early which was awesome after our 16 hour flight into Sydney. Every question I asked they were able to be answer and went above and beyond .They suggested a small Italian restaurant behind the hotel and it was the best Italian I've ever eaten! The continental breakfast was great too. The rooms were nice, and the bed comfortable. If we ever return to Sydney, we will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear AngelD1234

Great Review! Thank you for the great comments, you have seen the true and ultimate Holiday Inn Old Sydney and so happy to read your review.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Located in "The Rocks" area of Sydney, the Holiday Inn Old Sydney was a great place to stay. Hotel is fairly modern and in good repair, though the rooms can be QUITE small. If you're looking for spacious accommodations, you need to look elsewhere. The hotel is conveniently located near the cruise terminal, so there are plenty of bars, pubs, shops and activities.

Breakfast was expensive, $27AUD. the variety was good and they even had a "create your own" juice bar.

However, I would caution you to moderate your expectations. Not ATM on-stie. pay by the 1/2 hour PC's that do not always work in the lobby. Little to no flexibility for things like laundry after 8:30 and do not expect a stocked mini bar in your room. You will find yourself taking a trip to the convenience store next door.

By far, the best thing about this hotel are the view of the Opera House, Sydney Skyline and harbor from the roof top deck--Simply amazing! the only caution is that when one of the cruise ships is in port, the view is totally obstructed. Take your camera up in the early morning or late evening for some of the most breathtaking pictures of Sydney.

Room Tip: By far, the best thing about this hotel are the view of the Opera House, Sydney Skyline and harbor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear TravlinMan_12

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. Great to read your thoughts.

In response to your views I just wanted to let you know that as a majority of our guests prefer an empty mini bar we stock them on request. I apologise if this was not made clear for you however there is no need to go to the convenience store as we do provide the basics of a minibar on request.

We put a time limit on the internal laundry to avoid noise issues in surrounding rooms. If you see the review before yours there is a comment about someone who must have snuck in early some how.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the view and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is the perfect location for visitors to the city. The rocks area, which the hotel is at the heart of, is a great place. Plenty of bars, shops and restaurants. The opera house, ferry terminals and the bridge are all within a few minutes walk.
The only thing that let the hotel down was the urgent need for a re furb. The interior could be a showpiece, if it wasn't painted brown! Our room had a good view of the bridge, but 429 is next to the guest laundry, and people putting wash loads on at 5.15am on a Sunday morning is not good for sleep. The room was a standard holiday inn room, good beds etc, sadly the bathroom sealants were all black, despite being re done several times. If only it was re furbed to a modern day room standard. The staff were very helpful, the location great. The internet charges are a little steep, but you do get 15 minutes free in the lobby per 24hrs. The view from the pool on the roof is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear lancsuk99

Thank you for the review and time to provide feedback which is always invaluable to creating a great guest experience at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

We are looking into options of updating our public areas while keeping in tone with the Rocks area as a historical area for Sydney.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the area.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful place in the famous quarter "the rocks" with a faboulous view over Sydney Harbour and Opera from the rooftop where the outdoor pool and jacuzzi are locatet. If you are ready to spend a bit more its the perfect choice. Comfortable quiet rooms, easy walking distance Sydney CDB. Good breakfast and nice staff. I' ve been several times and will always go back to this hotel when i'm in Sydney again. enjoy that view from the rooftop, great to take pictures there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear ClaudiClau

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback. It is nice to see you have highlighted many of the great points of the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I booked this hotel through a 'secret saver' deal on Expedia. It was sold as. 4.5 star hotel which, on checking in, we discovered it was certainly not. Were given a king room which was tired, old, worn and smelly to say the least. The bathroom was tiny and moldy, the shower so small I almost fell over standing in it and I'm a small person. The bed was uncomfortable and the shutters on the windows do little to keep the noise and light out from outside meaning we got very little sleep during our three nights there. Towels and sheet were left lying around the corridors adding to the smell and gloom of the hotel. We paid almost $300/night which it is definitely not worth, yes the location is great but a hotel cannot be rated solely on the location. Have contacted Expedia who in turn contacted the hotel to ask for a part refund of which they apparently refused. Don't pay the $20 odd dollars for the breakfast either when you can go next door to the fine foods store and eat a delicious meal for half the price. Will never stay at another Holiday Inn again and will never book a secret/mystery deal!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear N H

Thank you for taking the time to provide your views and thoughts of the hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken to do so and we are disappointed to read you did not enjoy any of the positive aspects the hotel has to offer.

I assure you we do have great service, which you can read from other reviewers, and our buffet breakfast is very popular.

We will definitely take your comments on board in order to improve our hotel for our future guests.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in October, 2012 prior to a cruise. Picked this hotel because of it's proximity to the cruise terminal which turned out to be a winner. The hotel was lovely, the staff most welcoming and offered really good value. The whole Rocks area is great to explore and when it was time to go to the ship, an easy five minute down hill stroll and we were away. Will always stay here when cruising from Sydney.

Room Tip: If you join there priority club on arrival they will upgrade you on the spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Phil69

Thank you for your comments and lovely notes on the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. I hope you enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed the hotel.

Our Priority Club members are extremely valuable to us and we continue to value their dedication to our hotels as a first choice. While we endeavour to upgrade all we do have to pick and choose sometimes depending on availability - I guest you were a lucky one.

See you again soon before or after your next cruise or just for some time away.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets, uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Each of the modern 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Old Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.