We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern Greek food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo

Apollo
44 Macleay street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
+612 8354 0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great modern Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was taken to the Apollo by my partner as a surprise birthday dinner, truly a great surprise as the food was outstanding.
We shared the lamp and chicken with a salad, the quality and size of meals are great. I would highly recommend the Jelly doughnuts for deserts, fantastic and one serve is enough for two.
The décor is very cool and the service was first class, we would have liked to sit at a table but the bar was very enjoyable to have a meal. Wine menu was a bit expensive, the rest was truly great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Greek food without the Clichés”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A friend living in Sydney recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed.

Great food, wine, cool designed interior and really buzzy atmosphere for a Monday night. We had a seat at the bar and were well looked after by all the staff who were welcoming and helpful when choosing from the menu.

Would love to have some where similar here in London.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
1 review
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The meal we had at this resturant was of an exceptional quality. The staff were attentive and helpful even though they were very busy and the recommendations they gave (from the best Ouzo to the right starter) was spot-on. The cost was a bit high, but coming from the UK everything in Australia appears expensive due to the poor exchange rate. Be aware though that this restuarant is very busy, we had to wait over an hour for a table for two on a Thursday evening and I undertsand this is always the case (and they will not accept bookings for groups of less than 6). All said, a great meal and a lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a recent trip to Sydney we stumbled on the restaurant. It is an inspiring modern spin on greek food and the food was nothing short of superb, the service was 10/10 and the wine was equally as good. We sat at the bar by choice which added to our dining experience looking back out over the restaurant. Our picks from the menu: try the pig tail salad with pomegranate, the octopus salad and the saganaki. The donuts are also pretty special if you're after dessert. We had a bottle of Greek red wine suggested by the sommelier which complimented our dishes perfectly. The service was attentive and atmosphere is fantastic. Definitely recommend this.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Why all the raves?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a pleasant restaurant, and that's about it. I don't understand the rave reviews (both online and via friends) for the food - and we eat out ALOT. It's fine but nothing about the food entices me to go back. Service was good. Atmosphere fine.
However, I really resent the new trend in Sydney of not taking bookings for tables less than 6. For a start, we often dine out with just 4, and restaurants in Sydney are so badly designed these days the noise is unbearable. With a table of 6 or more, the result is usually a night of shouting - most unpleasant. Apollo falls into this category. Because you can't book (yes, there were 4 of us), we had to meet at 6.15 to ensure a table without waiting an hour or more. That's too early to eat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.