We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Owner Is a Great Guide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Trails Private Tours

Country Trails Private Tours
20/139A Smith Street | Summer Hill, Sydney, New South Wales 2049, Australia
+61 430 543 465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 415 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An owner-operated tour business, Glenn offers small-group private tours to the Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains,South Coast and Southern Highlands, and Sydney City. Experience popular tourist attractions or get off the beaten track. Tour times and itineraries are flexible. Travel in a luxury Mercedes Viano tour vehicle with comfortable seating for up to seven passengers. A family-friendly service with child seats available upon request.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
“The Owner Is a Great Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My spouse and I took a day trip to the Blue Mountains with Country Trails in late August 2012. We booked our private tour a few weeks prior to our arrival via e-mail. The owner of the company, Glenn Kinsville, was our guide. Glenn is extremely responsive and timely in his e-mail communications, and he offered us much helpful advice. We paid a total of $400, plus we paid for our own admission fees to attractions ($48 total) and our meals. We paid a deposit of 50% upon booking using our credit card on the company’s secure website, with the balance charged automatically to our credit card one week before our tour.

Glenn picked us up at 7:30 am at the Sydney Hilton. We were each asked to sign a waiver/contract in the van before we got on our way. (This was a first for us, but shows that Glenn takes his job, his company, and everyone’s safety very seriously.) Glenn has a nice Mercedes multi-passenger van, and he clearly takes pride in his vehicle and his business. On one stop that we made at the Three Sisters, he bought a book in the gift shop to add to the informative collection in his van that passengers can read about the area en route to various locations. He also showed us a game that he created on his iPad that matched Australian animals with their names and sounds; the game will keep children busy for awhile!

En route to the Blue Mountains, we made one short break at a rest stop/welcome area to use the bathroom facilities; the gift shop sold some interesting items and a limited selection of cold drinks. Our first stop was the Kings Tableland viewpoint, where we admired the view of the Jamison Valley at what seemed to be the most windy spot on earth!

Next, we stopped at the Echo Point/Three Sisters lookout, where we had about 15 minutes of free time (although we could have had as much as we wanted, really) to enjoy the scenery and to browse in the tiny mall (with shops and restaurants). Afterwards, we traveled to Scenic World in Katoomba, where we bought a combination ticket ($40 total) with four components: first we took the incline train down the mountain, then we walked along the boardwalk. Next we took the gondola up the mountain, and lastly we took a cable car across the gorge.

We ate lunch at Silks Brasserie in Leura for about $100 total. Originally, the on-line itinerary mentioned lunch at the Megalong Valley Tearooms, but we had read good things about Silks and asked to go there instead. Our meal was very good, as was the service. Leura is a tiny, cute town with several shops and restaurants.

We enjoyed our day in the Blue Mountains. Glenn is a conscientious and knowledgeable tour guide, and we highly recommend his services!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi. Thanks for your detailed review and kind comments. I always try to prioritise enquiries and reply as soon as possible. We visited a lot of the popular attractions and viewpoints in the mountains. I'm glad you found the van comfortable. (I think you are the first to mention the van here. Thanks!) We keep some resources in the van for the destinations we visit - magazines, easy flick-through books with nice pictures, etc. The little I-pad app (downloaded, not "created" by me I'm afraid - I'm not that smart!) has Aussie animal pictures and a quiz. It's handy as a basic introduction to some Australian fauna - and it's a lot easier to show pictures of unique Aussie fauna than to try to describe verbally! The café at Megalong Valley is a great lunch spot but the restaurant lunch in Leura is also great. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks and regards, Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Tour to Blue Mtns.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A group of 6 from Calif. took a full day tour with Glen and Country Trails Tours to the Blue Mountains on March 11 and could not have had a better experience. Glen was a wonderful guide to a beautiful place and knows the little known side trips to incredible views. It was topped off with a excellent fine lunch in Leura and a surprising boat ride back to Sydney on the Parramatta RIver. We could reccoment Glen or his company any higher.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello. Thank you for your kind comments and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your day in the mountains. We usually include one or two of the most popular viewpoints, such as Echo Point for views of the Three Sisters, but we also like to take a drive or walk to some of the quieter ones. We had lunch at a restaurant in Leura, which has many nice cafes and restaurants, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. The ferry return is a nice way to arrive back in Sydney at the end of the day. Cheers. Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
1 review
“Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We're happy with our experience with Glenn of Country Trails. All good reviews about him are right. He is very warm and accommodating. His tour price is also not bad. We're a group of 6 and had a private day tour with him to the Blue Mountains. What's nice about a private tour is that you get to choose where you want to go exactly at your own pace. He helped us arrange our itinerary - Flat Rock, Echo Point, Scenic Rides, Leura Town, Featherdale Wildlife, Sydney Olympic Ferry Terminal. He suggested that we be picked up very early from our hotel at 6:30am as it was a holiday, so we were able to avoid traffic and big crowds being the firsts to breeze through the attractions. Over-all very satisfied with Glenn and his company.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi. Thanks for your comments. Yes, the advantage of private tours is that you can choose the activities you want to do and set your own pace a bit more. If the sky is looking clear, it's good to get up to the mountains early, especially during peak holiday times (I thought it was your suggestion to leave at 6.30am, but anyway...). I'm glad you all had a good day. All the best. Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Hunter trip with little planning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I highly recommend Glenn's Country Trails Private Tours! We found ourselves short on planning, but Glenn was able to do a private tour that fit our schedule. We had 2 wineries that we wanted to visit, and he was able to arrange them as well as 2 others that were wonderful as well. He picked our lunch restaurant which exceeded expectations. We finished the day with a brewery tour as well. Our tour was on a thursday, and we ran into little to no crowd. At the first winery we were the only people there. Great trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello. Thanks for posting a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the Hunter Valley trip. It was a very late private tour booking - but last-minute bookings are still welcome! We like to book in at the wineries in advance, to ensure the wineries are prepared for our groups and that we won't be arriving at a time when they are too busy. For last minute booking we get to the first winery and then book in the rest of the day from there. It's always good to visit the Hunter on weekdays, as it's usually quieter than on weekends. I'm glad you enjoyed the wines and lunch venue, and for beer fans it's nice to finish the day at the micro-brewery. All the best. Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Glenn of Country Trails took us on a tour of the Blue Mountains on March 17th. We had a terrific time. Glenn was on time, very courteous and very concerned about our comfort. He was a great tour guide and very flexible with the schedule. If you would like to see the Blue Mountains, I can highly recommend using Country Trails.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi and thanks for your comments. It's good to hear you enjoyed your day in the Blue Mountains. It was a nice group with some very active seniors. An inspiration! Cheers. Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Trails Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Country Trails Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Trails Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.