We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Yum Cha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Buddha

Fat Buddha
Shop 201, Level 2 | 455 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,497 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Yum Cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Right in the QVB building, easy to find. Great location if your in shopping, with fast service but we sat with friends for close on 2 1/2 hours and were not rushed out. food was great with a wide selection. Have been a couple of times and always the same.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    6
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Will not go back again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went there for yum cha and it took them 15 mins to give us some tea after being seated. After we asked for tea for the 3rd time, they sounded like that order of tea was such a surprise. Of course we want some time, its yum cha!
Overall the food was ok, but slightly overpriced and portion smaller than usual. Their steamed dumplings were a bit over steamed, making it too sticky and soggy.
If you pay with AMEX they'll charge 5%, if you pay with Mastercard/Visa they'll charge 2.5%. So make sure you have enough cash with you.
It's nice and quiet because no one will go back there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yum Cha before the Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to realise that Fat Buddha served Yum Cha until 8:00pm every evening
You ordered from a tick the box list rather off the trolley, however all good quality food and a great way to dine before going to the Theatre or a Show
Highly recommended and we will return, service was attentive and food was Hong Kong standard

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Chinese restaurant in QVB----what a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great to find a Chinese restaurant in the Queen Victoria Building,Sydney, especialy after a shopping spree in the centre of the city.There is an interesting cantonese menu and therefore we we ordered a big selection, and the beef dishes were excellent.The noodles and fried rice were very tasty, full of flavour and the rice was fried just right and not "soggy". We also ordered Dim Sum which was very good, the ingrediants were very fresh especialy the seafood dumplings. The dishes were all served piping hot which we like, as some restaurants the food is served luke warm (not good)!
The restaurant decor is pleasant and the service was very efficient. The enviroment is comfortable as the restaurant is not noisy, like some chinese restaurants in China town. which can be abit loud.
The Boss was very attentive, even came round the tables to make sure that all was well.
We thoroughly enjoyed our food, and being revitalised we had more energy to continue our shopping Ha Ha!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddha also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fat Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Buddha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.