We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee frappe in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Workshop Espresso

Workshop Espresso
500 George Street | Shop RG01A Galleries Victoria, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9264 8836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 301 Coffee & Tea in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best coffee frappe in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped by Workshop Espresso on a sunny, busy weekday and while it's pretty much just hole in the wall, it was packed with people queuing to be served. The service was really quick and efficient and I didn't have to wait too long for my coffee frappe. The frappe itself was probably the best I've ever had. The coffee tasted extremely fresh and delicious, and blows all other coffee chain frappes out of the water. I wish Sydney wasn't on the other side of the world and I would frequent Workshop Espresso weekly, just for the coffee frappe. Great value for money too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Loved the coffee, the food and the vibe. Made me feel I was back in Rome. You can either "take way" (or to-go) or sit at a little bar. The staff was amazing efficient and always got the right coffees to the right people The muffins were very tasty. Also had chicken focaccia sandwiches. The cafe marks down remaining food late in afternoon so you know it's fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best coffee in Sydney.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I haven't eaten here, but it's worth a visit for a decent coffee. I love the vibe here too and the pricing is on par with other places with terrible coffee!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Decent coffee and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A very popular place with tasty food and a fair cappuccino. Not sure if its popularity is more location based than for exceptional coffee but definitely a great option if you are passing by.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best coffee from a hole in the wall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

22 hours on a plane from London calls for the best coffee and a seriously good bacon and egg roll - both of which are done to a seriously high standard at this "hole in the wall" on George St. The chilli jam on the bacon/egg butty was more than memorable.

Am back here for a second helping on day 2, and the coffee was no fluke. The fruit with yoghurt is only healthy in name - comes with lashings of honey, and the natural yoghurt is so thick, you could stand it up and send it for a walk.

Will I be back for a third helping tomorrow. You bet!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Workshop Espresso also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Workshop Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Workshop Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.