We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely go back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El-Phoenician Restaurant

El-Phoenician Restaurant
7 Towns Place, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia
(02) 9633 1611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #400 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: One of Sydney’s highest rated Lebanese restaurants, the El-Phoenician, garnered star-driven praises from The Sunday Telegraph proving it is a contemporary and stylistic showcase with a modernistic approach to an arrestingly innovative Middle-Eastern food styling. The El-Phoenician's artistically executed menu and skillfully developed wine lists have been assembled by pedigreed Chefs and an award winning Sommelier - that are truly bent on awakening your consciousness.
Wanaka
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I would definitely go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Six of us enjoyed an early dinner here before viewing Sydney's 'Vivid' festival of light at Queen's Birthday weekend. The food (Middle Eastern) was delicious & the service, very good. We ordered a variety of dishes and shared them - that way we were able to sample as many flavours as possible. We were glad that we had booked, as the restaurant was packed. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went here last night with my partner on a Living Social voucher, and was really impressed with the quality and quantity of food. Service was great, and the restaurant is located in a lovely part of Sydney in Walsh Bay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently had a dinner date here. Located in a quieter precinct of the Rocks, its a very tastefully styled establishment that I stumbled upon by chance online.

Their service is prompt & attentive with staff being very knowledgeable of the menu - always a plus.

Food wise we chose the Vegetarian Platter which was amazing & in generous portions. The only downside was we couldn't finish it!

Would recommend El-Phoenician to lovers of Middle Eastern Cuisine or fans of a good dining experience in general.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went there with friends and we found both food and service to be excellent. The menu includes all the middle eastern entrees, including many vegetarians options. With the entrees, usually to share, it comes a large serve of Lebanese bread, plain and fried. For mains you can choose a combination of grilled meat or other communal dishes with seafood, fish or meat or to opt for a single plate. After a full round of entrees we had the traditional lamb kebab, which was juicy and delicious. The restaurant has a good wine list, including French wines. The service is prompt, fast and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“El Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the outset we were impressed with this dining experience. The decor was tasteful, the location was quiet and pleasant and the service was attentive, discreet and efficient. Our group of eight chose the El Phonenician banquet which was excellent and comprehensive. An impressive array of Lebanese dishes was brought to our table over comfortable time frame. Delicious!
P.S - have the sangria...Mmmmmmm :)
P.P.S - Turkish delight not bad either!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El-Phoenician Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to El-Phoenician Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El-Phoenician Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.