We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good crepes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant

Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant
70 Druitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia (Chinatown)
(02) 9264 1929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #655 of 5,306 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good crepes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Bona Fides sits on a pretty busy, noisy street and has a look more like a Starbucks Cafe (hench the name) than your typical restaurant but it is well decorated and the staff are super friendly. Had the french pancakes (crepes that is) with strawberries and a side of scrambled eggs. Very good food, despite a few shell fragments in the eggs. And they brought out fresh cracked pepper which was much appreciated as they had that awful powdered pepper on the table that is so common in Europe and Australia. What is that horrible stuff. Instead of giving food flavor it sucks the flavor out. Anyways.
Bona Fides wouldn't be my first choice for breakfast or lunch but for a quick, well cooked bite, it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing place for something simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Saturday night, people everywhere, loud and noisy. You want somewhere quiet and relaxing for early evening? This place is an option.

Walked in at 7PM on Saturday night. There are people in here, but not to busy. People are just having quiet chats and dinner, a big contrast comparing with other places in the city (busy and noisy).

We ordered a "grilled chicken apple salad" and a "Balkan style" "Cevapi". (See photos)

Grilled chicken apple salad: Chicken is moist and not overcook. Apple is sweet not sour. Salad is fresh.

Balkan style Cevapi: Mince meat is well done, but still juicy, while not too fatty. Potato is soft and creamy but not yet mushy, about to fall apart but not quite yet.

This is a cafe, so you cannot expect fancy modern Australian or French; but for a quiet easy dinner with your loved one or a friend to genuinely catch up dinner (where you can actually hear the other person), in Sydney city without all the hustle and bustle on a Friday / Sat night, this is definitely an option.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, but wouldn't come back to pay the full price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went there with friends using the voucher. The meal sizes (including entrees) were quite big, and the presentation wasn't too bad, but no one was really swept off their feet taste wise.

I ordered tomato bruschetta and found that tomatoes were way to big for the serving and there was way to much of them, without real taste. Friend's bruschetta was a bit burnt. The veal parmigiana was probably the best tasting main, but easily forgettable. Friend had cevapi, but was disappointing to see failed adaptation of the balkan meal instead of serving it in a traditional way, plus they ware a bit dry.

Biggest disappointment was tiramisu at the end which was 1 of 2 choices available. It was basically a small bowl of flavored mousse. There was only one tiny layer of cake at the bottom...could hardly notice it. The chocolate brawny tasted a bit better, but should've been served warmed up to soften it a little.

It is a very small restaurant, and tables are quite small, you feel a bit squashed sitting next to the other person. (They probably could've utilised the limited space better putting a wall lounge or similar).

The service can't be faulted, hence 4 stars, however don't think we will be going back, and definitely not on a full price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I went there with a voucher which offered 3 courses and a glass of wine. The French waitress who looked after us was excellent. She was friendly and efficient and in fact was looking after the whole restaurant. We did not have to wait long for our meals and all courses including the steak and the fish were very enjoyable. We had the tiramisu for dessert was a highlight. We finished the night with a cappuccino which was also very enjoyable. overall a very good dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently dined at this cafe with a voucher purchased off the internet and we found it to be great. The food was awesome. For entree we had lamb soup and calamari and salad, both were beautiful and recommend. For main we had spaghetti and the grilled chicken, this was good but different to what expected. The spaghetti was real dry and had no sauce and the chicken was nice but all it was, was chicken, potatoes and sauce, next time will go risotto. The tiramisu for dessert was amazing! We did have to wait a long time though for our plates to be collected in between each course. The lady waitress was very friendly and welcoming and so was the guy, I think he is the owner. Overall I would definitely come back and still recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.