We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Neild Avenue

Neild Avenue
10 Neild Avenue | Rushcutters Bay, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (Inner East)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,878 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner East
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My Husband and I went to this restaurant two weeks ago with 8 friends. There is no doubt that first impressions of the place are great, it's styled beautifully but that's were it ends. My Husband and three other friends ordered the lamb Souvalaki, all left it! The lamb was dry and tasteless and poorly presented, in his words he's enjoyed better $5 kebabs!!

The prices are steep which you wouldn't begrudge paying if the food matched it. I also wrote directly to the restaurant and never heard back so thought I'd hopefully help others avoid parting with $200 per couple for an unsatisfying experience. Warning bells should have rung when the place was empty at 8pm on a Friday night!!

Seriously don't bother!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    17
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks and very hip, cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Loved the decor in this place. A huge warehouse converted to a restaurant. It is just achingly cool. We didn't end up having a meal here but we stopped by for drinks on a Sunday night. There was nobody there except for 2 other tables but that was probably because it was quite late on a Sunday. Can't say much about the food as we didn't eat anything and the dessert menu didn't look that tempting. The drinks were decent but I just loved the decor and atmosphere. The private room at the top of the stairs is very cool. Great place for a party.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food, but that's it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived for a Saturday night dinner, 4 or us, at 8pm. The bar was packed, felt more like a club/bar atmosphere rather than a restaurant. We found a corner table for a pre-dinner drink - it took way too long to order drinks, prob 15 mins, then took the same for drinks to arrive. With the noise and crowd we just wanted to sit and eat - so we took drinks with us when they finally arrived.

The atmosphere is a bit strange. Its a huge place and feels a bit like a barn. The enormous artwork is interesting and a bit out-there. The menu is a paper place-mat and cutlery is in stainless steel tubs recessed into the table - not really appropriate for a restaurant with these prices. The steel mesh chairs are extremely uncomfortable if you're a regular shaped person.

Service was not good. Staff knowledge of the menu was poor - communicated very badly. Their attention was also poor - especially later in the night. We had to ask for drinks and water regularly. At the end of the night the waiters were having a good old gossip behind the bar while we sat there waiting for drink service.

Food was excellent. Really great flavors, quality and portions. We shared everything which worked well. I'd say their lightly charred flat bread is a bit too much charred - all you can taste is burnt bread - and its really dry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food but too expensive for what you got.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Decor, ambience, menu selections and service were all above average. Food was well presented and tasty but not worth the price charged. In my opinion it would have been fair value at around 10 - 15% less than the prices charged.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our second trip to Nield Ave and and were were looking forward to more great food. Not quite sure what the reviewer on April 11th was talking about when it was stated they do not take bookings at this restaurant. We have booked on both occasions, although I am aware under previous management/ownership that this may not have been the case. The staff were very attentive and efficient. The food fresh and well presented. We had arancini balls, hummus to die for and the lamb chops. All fabulous and generous serves. The mains were also excellent but we were so full by then it would have been handy to have some friends with us to finish. I think this restaurant is especially suited to groups sharing a wide range of plates. The produce is fresh and served with great flavour and simplicity. Self important people may be miffed at the lack of pretension. The atmosphere is relaxed and we are looking forward to returning with friends very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neild Avenue also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to Neild Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neild Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.