We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but too expensive for what you got.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neild Avenue

Neild Avenue
10 Neild Avenue | Rushcutters Bay, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (Inner East)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,834 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner East
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food but too expensive for what you got.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Decor, ambience, menu selections and service were all above average. Food was well presented and tasty but not worth the price charged. In my opinion it would have been fair value at around 10 - 15% less than the prices charged.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    17
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our second trip to Nield Ave and and were were looking forward to more great food. Not quite sure what the reviewer on April 11th was talking about when it was stated they do not take bookings at this restaurant. We have booked on both occasions, although I am aware under previous management/ownership that this may not have been the case. The staff were very attentive and efficient. The food fresh and well presented. We had arancini balls, hummus to die for and the lamb chops. All fabulous and generous serves. The mains were also excellent but we were so full by then it would have been handy to have some friends with us to finish. I think this restaurant is especially suited to groups sharing a wide range of plates. The produce is fresh and served with great flavour and simplicity. Self important people may be miffed at the lack of pretension. The atmosphere is relaxed and we are looking forward to returning with friends very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy hidden spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is typical cool and cozy place with also great food. Love the decor and ambience. Eastern side really competing with city in having great spot to hang out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food great interior deign”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We dined recently at Neild avenue on a friends recommendation. We enjoyed a shared type menu that included some great gluten free choices. The food came to the table quickly and was well presented and tasty. The problem was actually ordering the food in the beginning. There seems to be enough staff but we couldn't somehow get their attention. The atmosphere was really good with a great interior design that you can't overlook. On leaving we had to remind the waitress that the bill was incorrect and we hadn't received one of the ordered dishes also. It's definitely worth a visit and yes, I'd go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Went out for dinner with a couple of friends and we had a great night. The restaurant is very stylish, with a great wine list and delicious food. The hummus is to die for and the coal blackened eggplant divine. The staff were great - attentive, knowledgable and very helpful. Highly recommended

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neild Avenue also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to Neild Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neild Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.