We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best gelato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Messina

Gelato Messina
Shop 1/241 Victoria St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 (0) 2 8354 1223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Ice Cream in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $63
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Artisan Gelato Store Locations -Darlinghurst Shop 1/241 Victoria St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010Surry Hills389 Crown St, Surry Hills NSW 2010The Star Casino Cafe Court, Level G, 80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont NSW 2009
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hands down best gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

They recently opened up at Bondi Beach, I am having to stop myself from having it everyday.
I usually just get the same 3 flavours because I never know what to get as there are so many flavours to choose from and I don't want to hold up the extremely long queues. Then I discovered the specials board the other night, YUM!!! Every flavour I've tried is amazing, soft, creamy and full of flavour takes me back to Italy!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    200
    43
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Sydney, but you queue with the rest on Sydney!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you can get past the long queues and the pushing & shoving once inside (like a once-a-year Hello Kitty stocktake sale) then this place is a gem. The specials are always superb! Best bet is to get there is the mid afternoon whilst quieter and more relaxed, like a gelato experience should be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Speechless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went here as was staying at the star...OMG..the salted caramel with white chocolate certainly left me emotional. The most fabulous flavour ever..I will be back but can not guarantee I will venture to a new flavour..your loss if u do not try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is AMAZING!!!
It's well worth the hype and there is so much to choose from! We are never disappointed when we go there. Sometimes there is a bit of a wait but it is well worth it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great ice cream and loved the wide ranges available. Went there on a Friday night and it was packed but well worth the wait. It is most definitely the best gelato I've had in Sydney and the prices isn't too bad. If you live in Sydney, this is a must-try and it will keep you coming back for more. The staff was also very friendly and would let us try as many samples as we wanted before we got a few scoops of our own. The atmosphere is also very colourful, pleasant and vibrant. Will definitely be coming back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Messina also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Gelato Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato Messina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.