We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sets the standard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Messina

Gelato Messina
Shop 1/241 Victoria St, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 (0) 2 8354 1223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5,206 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $3 - $63
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Artisan Gelato Store Locations -Darlinghurst Shop 1/241 Victoria St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010Surry Hills389 Crown St, Surry Hills NSW 2010The Star Casino Cafe Court, Level G, 80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont NSW 2009
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sets the standard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I pretty much used TripAdvisor to get a rough idea of places to check out on my holiday to Aussie and this place kept appearing at the top of my search results... My attention was caught. I have never had gelato before but made the special journey to locate this place and track down their gelato as I don't think I have read one bad review on it! I was not disappointed. I went for Pistachio, Bounty and another flavour I can no longer remember.
The gelato was so thick and creamy and the flavours were tremendously intense - I loved it. The service was quick and the assistant was very polite which made me love the place even more!
One minor compliant? There was a huge piece of white chocolate in my Bounty gelato... Bit random but I am not a fan of white chocolate and so this bothered me slightly ;)
I visited two other gelato places since, in Australia and it didn't come close to this place. Would I recommend this place too? Oh God, yes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    471
    110
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vbackpacker
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Gelato you'll ever have - Be prepared to Queue, it's worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's mid winter right and even when it's frezzing cold it's like queueing at a bar on a Saturday night - the Gelato is that good. Try the bounty, or any of the specials they have on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreamy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is absolutely fantastic! The flavours are dreamy and they have a specials board filled with all sorts of amazing little delights each and every week. You'll never look back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Whether you go to the one in Darlinghurst or Surry Hills, the wait is always worth it. There's nothing better than a scoop or two of Gelato Messina after a meal or as a late night snack, especially in summer.

I love the 'special' flavours that changes on a daily basis, depending on what has taken the gelatiers fancy. But you can always count on the signature flavours, like the salted caramel with white chocolate, when the specials don't tickle your fancy.

I love their gelato so much I even eat it in the middle of winter, with the added upside of less crazy crowds.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I have dreams about the ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Recommended the amazing little cakes from the laboratory... My birthday present to myself last year! Haven't tried a single thing that didn't make my mouth water. The biggest challenge is always choosing just a few flavors from the amazing range. Excellent all round!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Messina also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Gelato Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato Messina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.