We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BLACK by ezard

BLACK by ezard
80 Pyrmont Street | Level G, Harbourside, The Star, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009 , Australia (Formerly Black by Ezard)
+61 2 9657 9109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Best experience in a looooooong time! Not pretentious at all and drinks were delicious. Food and service were fantastic as well! It was a far better experience than that overpriced @@@@pool place. The Star has really stepped up their game with this one. Keep up the good work and we will be coming back for sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    34
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in the Darling for the night so I and my friend went there for lunch. Good service, and very nice food! I have no complaints at all. We returned that night for drinks and the service was excellent!
We would return there next time we are in Sydney.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Sadly, Slow pretentious service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Sorry but this restaurant doesn't deserve it's 1 Hat (SMH Good Food Guide). It is a bit like Fawlty Towers with the staff looking right through you but not seeing you raise your hand. It takes 2 of them to top up your glass as one must tell another to do it. If you think 2 1/2 hours is enough for their pre show dinner you will find you will leave stressed with barely minutes to spare. However, as most of our party agreed if you are dining at a Casino they think you have money and no taste or savoir faire or knowledge of a real fine dining experience. Watch the last minute surcharge on your bill as you have no time to discuss it if you don't want to be late for the show.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We came to Black as it was the only place available for a pre-show dinner on our wedding anniversary whilst we stayed at The Star. Weren't we surprised.

The food was great value for money, and the bread with black salt to die for. Service was quick and top class, and we still got out in plenty of time to see our show. Will definitely be coming back here again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great dining experience in private dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are after something special, and you have the funds, then private dining at Black by Ezard is well worth considering.
The service was top notch, which is to be expected. We were very well looked after by the in room attendant. When it came to sering the dishes, all 10 of us were servered at pretty much the same time by what seemed like a little army.
The food was very good. We all agreed that the brioche was delicious. We all enjoyed out entrees which was a warm up for the main event - the mains. Strip-loin was the almost universal choice and we all agreed that the steak was superb, so good that I could not tell you what the others ordered. For dessert I had the cheese board, which had a nice selection of cheeses and accompaniments that the waiter carefully explained. However if I was to choose again I would choose the chocolate - Warm couverture ganache, dulce de leche ice cream, peanut butter mousse, this dish is visually enticing and those that ate it said that it was delicious.
The disappointment was the tea. Not the kind of Earl Grey that i am used to - it was nice but not what I would call a good Earl Grey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLACK by ezard also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to BLACK by ezard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLACK by ezard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.