We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three ticks and more ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Darling to your Saves list
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Three ticks and more ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Thought it was about time that I reviewed a hotel in my home town. Recently spent a night at The Darling at The Star. We had been told by friends that the staff of the Darling are really accommodating, so if you tell them you have a special occasion, you never know what might happen. We took this advice and happily found that they upgraded us to a Suite. Tick number one!

The staff at the Darling are excellent and go out of their way to make your experience personable. From the reception person that checks you in through to the room staff, they have all been well trained and excel in customer service. Tick number two!

The room was fabulous. Large, modern and very clean. I think what made it memorable, is that it was one of the best appointed hotel rooms that I have stayed in. The little extras in the room, from the cushion laden couch in front of the super size TV to the magazines left on the coffee table and from the ‘his’ and ‘hers’ quality robes of interesting hues usually not seen in hotel rooms to the art works hanging on the walls. It was well thought out, colourful and quality all the way. Tick number three!

Loved having something different than the standard white towels and robes and the ‘Scrabble’ art work in the bedroom with the words, sleep; fun; naked and sex was an interesting touch.

The view, across Darling Harbour toward the city is interesting, if not spectacular, however the location is fabulous. On the next day we walked to the city for shopping, just across the Pyrmont foot bridge. This is an easy walk, through a really interesting route for any out of Sydney visitor. Also liked the amount of small eateries, in the streets outside the hotel, which makes a great alternative to the casino. With only 171 rooms, this boutique hotel offered us superb value for money including one night, breakfast and valet parking for less than our dinner at Black, cost. But that’s another story.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear KathrynTraveller,

Many thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review. We are so pleased to hear that our staff were accommodating and made your stay memorable.

As Sydney’s most lovingly detailed hotel, we are delighted that you appreciate all the little things in the rooms that make us a unique five star destination. We are so glad you decided to celebrate your special occasion with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Until we meet again.
Dx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    119
    40
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
244
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the darling 2013 and have left my necklace behind when I checked out, flew back home and realised that I have left my necklace behind, rang up the hotel manager, they put me through to the housekeeping, they said they didn't see anything that was left behind. Thought I might be clumsy and left it somewhere else, until mid 2014 my family and I once again stayed at the darling hotel, and once again I have forgotten my straightener when I checked out, flew back home and rang them up, they said they didn't see anything, we said we're 100% sure that it was left behind, we had to ring them so many times, and putting through to 10 diffrent people, and eventually they said they have found it, and they asked us to pay for postage in order for them to post it out, after paying nearly $2000 for accomodations and that's the kind of service that we get? If i wouldn't have rang and followed up my about the straightener they would not have returned my call. And it's not like they don't have our contact details.
The darling is a good hotel for staying, but don't leave anything behind, you might not get it back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Lac Trong D,


While it is somewhat disheartening to read, we wish to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your stay with us at The Darling.

One of our primary areas of emphasis is always to be on service as this inevitably forms a large part of our guest’s overall experience.

We would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you in regards to the above concerns. Please feel free to email me on the below.

jayson.coker@echoent.com.au


Kind Regards,

Jayson Coker
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed over at The Darling for a quick getaway during midweek for one nigt (sale on hotel website) in June and indulged at the Jewel Spa Suite. And oh my...it really ticked all the boxes of being luxurious. Location of Hotel entrance was slightly confusing to reach to, so we made our way through Star City and followed signs to The Darling.
The Suite itself on Level 12 was huge and had great views towards the harbour bridge. The Bed was very..verryy comfortable and TV was slightly tricky to operate. Very modern in terms of controlling lights etc via TV and had it all figured in 10 mins. Didn't touch the minibar. Nespresso coffee machine was an added bonus. And the bathroom is exactly what I had imagined to be in a 5 star space with rain shower, dual sink and amazing huge round spa with heating. Add a little molten brown bath gel in it and drown yourself in amazing scent and bubbles in spa.
Probably only down side for me was the location of bathroom light at the entrance of the room, rather than closer to bathroom sliding door, but that is a very tiny minor point.
The customer service was impeccable and very professional. And I cant wait to try out there adored suite (on sale ofcourse lol).
And yes...I am soo going to David Jones and buying heaps of Molten brown stuff !!!

Room Tip: Level 12 for best views of the bridge and away from all the noise that others complained about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi Ash_Sad,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your fabulous stay!

We were pleased to read your comments in regards to our lovely Jewel Spa suites. The integrated lighting system has been arranged with our guests comfort in mind, however we are more than willing to have someone show you how to use it if need be.

Our Molton Brown collection has been one of our signatures since we opened and parts of our collection are available at David Jones. Part of the range is custom designed and only available at 7 hotels around the world. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for some more indulgence.

Until We Meet Again
Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked out the Adore Suite for a 21st event. The room was luxurious and spacious. The staff were friendly and eager to help at every opportunity moving bags, delivering stuff to the room etc;

The only minor drawbacks were:
• Ice was $8/bag
• The mini fridge had no room for anything other than what it had already been stocked with

So bring your own ice and you'll be sweet! Awesome place and heaps to do!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi BigBenJam,

Many thanks for your spectacular review. Our Adored Suites located on the corner of every floor are great for special occasions.

We were pleased to hear you experienced some of our Darling signature service!
In regards to future stays we are more than willing to remove the mini bar items for your convenience if you wish to use the fridge. We will also be delighted to store any of your items that require refrigeration

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Called to book. She made fun of me because I asked to make a reservation and didn't specify if I wanted accomadation or dining. The voice message clearly said press one for accomadation and press two for dining. So when I pressed one I thought I would go to accomadation. Booked at park Hyatt instead. Much better service and didn't treat me like an idiot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Joseph A,

From the outset, please accept our most sincere apologies. We are most concerned to read of your experience when trying to make a reservation at The Darling.

We would be grateful if given the opportunity to obtain some additional information which will assist us with following up on this. When it is convenient, please do contact us on rikesh.rajakulasingham@echoent.com.au

We do look forward to hearing from you and the opportunity to provide you with the service and experience that The Darling prides itself on.


Rikesh R.
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay at The Darling again for two nights in a Jewel Spa Suite with views of the city skyline and the harbour. The service overall is impeccable and the location is terrific. We highly recommend the HUGE Darling Spa Suite with separate bedroom, massive ensuite with huge spa and a bed so comfortable you won't want to get up in the morning. The room also has a large foyer type area as the entrance, giving the room a feeling of grandeur. The quality fittings and appointments of the room, excellent lighting controls, powerful heating & air-conditioning, quality bathroom amenities including a generous selection of Molton Brown bathroom products all add to the experience. I must also say the room service menu, both in terms of the diversity and number of dining options, along with our experience as to the quality of the food and punctuality of the service, is world class. We will be back as often as we can!

Room Tip: Jewel Spa Suite - It's sensational!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi BA300,

A big thank you for your recent review.

The Darling team was thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay.We pride ourselves on offering a world class product and service and it was great to hear that your stay was up to our high standards.

We cannot wait to see you again. May we suggest you check out our beautiful day spa located on level two on your next stay, to add to the experience?

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

With Sydney fast becoming our second home, we want somewhere that we can relax after a days work and feel like we are still at home. The Darling is this place for us. From the beautiful fragrance that surrounds you when you enter the hotel to their fantastic facilities, great food outlets, retail shops and luxurious spa, the designers of the Darling really have thought of everything.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, fitted with quality fixtures and have the most amazing shower according to my husband. The Lobby Lounge is fun and inviting, The Pool & Spa area is stylish (being outdoor is the only downfall), you wouldn't even know that The Darling was part of a Casino Complex.
We love staying here and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Melanie L,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of The Darling! We’re so happy that you feel your stay was ‘Luxury at its Best’, and that we are becoming your home away from home. We are glad that you found our facilities and design to be great. A lot of thought went into the details. Let us assure you that with the pool being outdoors, it’s a great place for a rest and a cocktail throughout summer.

Next time you are with us you must check out The Spa on Level 2 of The Darling. With 16 treatment rooms taking up a whole floor of the hotel, and the signature caviar facial, it is absolutely divine.

Until We Meet Again,

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.