We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Darling to your Saves list
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastico!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just attended a convention at the Darling. Sunny all weekend didn't allow much exploring around the hotel, but certainly the Darling can keep you entertained with the pool and the stores in the arcade. Breakfast in the Garden Buffet each morning was excellent, and the accommodation package included a bottle of champagne on arrival.

The highlight - the service by the staff. Cullen one of the Conciege helped with a couple of matters, and Renato in the front desk well looked after us each morning (remembered my order of tea each morning).

Rooms well presented and spaced, the bathroom set up with choice of shower heads (rain water or wall mounted) a very nice touch. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    108
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
209
19
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while in Sydney for a conference at the Convention Centre. Easy distance to walk to and from the hotel and a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. I would definitely stay here again and I have always been a fan of the Wentworth, but I think I have found a new favourite Sydney hotel. I was a tad skeptical about it being a part of the Star complex as I am not a casino fan at all, but it was separate enough that I really was Unaware of the very close proximity.

I have only one question for management - is it possible to purchase the same bed linen anywhere, it was wonderful?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

When in Sydney I usually stay in the CBD hotels. On this occasion my usual hotels were booked out. I found The Darling and stayed 2 nights. Beautiful rooms, excellent service and a great nights sleep. Enjoyed the walk to and from work each day also. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The great thing about the hotel is the excellent service I received while I visited. Check in was actually a pleasure! Jayson was outstanding on the front desk. Thank you. Bags delivered promptly - nice!

Rooms are newish, modern, everything you want from a 5 star hotel.
Molten Brown product, interesting mini bar, great view of the swimming pool without the noise,
Food service food was prompt and pretty good. Menu is very confusing with every language catered for under the sun. So you can't really see the offer.

Draw back, the doors on the hotel rooms slam shut so you hear everyone coming and going at all times. I had noisy kids next door with inconsiderate parents who let the kids scream down the hall for more than 30 minutes until I went out to see what was going on.
However all the clients in the hotel are 30 plus with no kids... Strange they were there.
Anyhow earplugs from the front desk did the trick.

The tv is very large and new in the room. The remote is frustrating as they use a colour code system and you can't see it in the dark. Very annoying and not easy to surf.

The high tec lighting is nice touch but I could not reach it when you are in bed, annoying. Lamps would be nice. You can not find you way easily in the middle of the night.
Bed is to die for, I love amazing beds and that is why I like to spend more to get a great bed.
Would recommend! Espresso machine was nice in the room and very easy to use. Free pods.
Pool is a nice lap pool, nice and practical! Great outdoor set up. People spent all day there and had lunch delivered or drinks.
Casino next door which is fun, and taxis are abundant anytime of the day. I never waited.
5 minute walk to CBD which was surprising and very quick.
Great places to eat at the Darling and cool bars.
Nice smell in the lobby and very cool looking.
Overall I stay in many Sydney hotels on a monthly basis and this is pretty good.
In summary it's new, outstanding service, amazing pool, and cool interiors. A over hundred cafés within 5 min walk from hotel. It's also safe to stay at compared CBD.
Lastly, Coles supermarket is across the street so that was handy when I forgot a few things.

Room Tip: Choose a good room away from the neighbours - end room or splash out on suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent service
Superb in-room dining
Awesome spa treatments
Amazing views
Fresh cooked breakfasts
Relaxing pool with service
Palatable hotel restaurant - Sokyo
Perfectly and tastefully decorated hotel

Room Tip: Book ahead to get the best price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently stayed here and I loved the decor of the room and the beds were amazing so comfortable, the pool was wonderful, however it's downfall was the food. The quality from room service was really poor not 5 star quality like the hotel and having to pay an additional $6 to have the food in room I thought was not necessary. Loved the hotel but would never touch the food again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and loved it the rooms have beautiful decor the beds are heavenly loved it the only downfall is lack of privacy in bathroom when your sharing with a friend, but if you work around it loved the room. I will say i was however disappointed with the food it was horrible I am sorry to say we order room services and was really appalling you need to have better quality food for a stunning 5 star hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.