We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and best bed ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Darling to your Saves list
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast at Sokyo
Ranked #14 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great room and best bed ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while in Sydney for a conference at the Convention Centre. Easy distance to walk to and from the hotel and a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. I would definitely stay here again and I have always been a fan of the Wentworth, but I think I have found a new favourite Sydney hotel. I was a tad skeptical about it being a part of the Star complex as I am not a casino fan at all, but it was separate enough that I really was Unaware of the very close proximity.

I have only one question for management - is it possible to purchase the same bed linen anywhere, it was wonderful?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

When in Sydney I usually stay in the CBD hotels. On this occasion my usual hotels were booked out. I found The Darling and stayed 2 nights. Beautiful rooms, excellent service and a great nights sleep. Enjoyed the walk to and from work each day also. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent service
Superb in-room dining
Awesome spa treatments
Amazing views
Fresh cooked breakfasts
Relaxing pool with service
Palatable hotel restaurant - Sokyo
Perfectly and tastefully decorated hotel

Room Tip: Book ahead to get the best price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chomh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here and I loved the decor of the room and the beds were amazing so comfortable, the pool was wonderful, however it's downfall was the food. The quality from room service was really poor not 5 star quality like the hotel and having to pay an additional $6 to have the food in room I thought was not necessary. Loved the hotel but would never touch the food again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beezloveslux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and loved it the rooms have beautiful decor the beds are heavenly loved it the only downfall is lack of privacy in bathroom when your sharing with a friend, but if you work around it loved the room. I will say i was however disappointed with the food it was horrible I am sorry to say we order room services and was really appalling you need to have better quality food for a stunning 5 star hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and Loved EVERYTHING at this hotel the room is ultra modern the bathroom gorgeous !
Its has a nespresso machine in the room
The price is excellent for a 5 star hotel
We paid 210 for the room we over looked the pool
We loved that you could do everything from turning off the lights to adjusting the air con & closing the curtains
All from the Tv remote control

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place was highly recommended and over rated. Yes, it can boast of celebrities staying there but I found it to be unfriendly. The pool is for exclusive adult use, even in the daytime. The inroom bar is not to be touched. You can not place your own bottle of water in it. If you move anything, even to see it, you are charged for it. Bar prices are over expensive as well. It costs too much for inroom dining but there are many restaurants all around the place, even on site where you can eat. The location is super as you can walk to Darling Harbour. If you are there, I would recommend Astral Tower at the Star instead or any hotels at Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: Please specify that you want non smoking room as we were placed in a smoking room which was stinking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,658 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing