We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a life...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Save Saved
You added The Darling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a life...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a wow factor as soon as I stepped into my room at The Darling. I have stayed here twice for business trip so far and I look forward to staying here again. It is a very new hotel with modern design and high tech. Almost everything in the room is automated, e.g. curtains, lights, climate control all controlled via the large TV. I fell in love with the shower and toilet. Very modern and clever design. You definitely feel pampered while you stay here. Be careful with the mini bar as it is automated and very sensitive, so if you lift something up or place something in the mini bar, you may be charged by accident, however receptionist can rectify this situation.
Second time I stayed here, there was an issue with the hot water. It wasn't running although I had it run for 10-15 minutes with no luck. It was ok the following morning.
This hotel is also very popular with celebrities. Came across with Joel Madden and Nicole Richie in the lobby who was staying at this hotel at the time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    103
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
197
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Palazzo Versace and never thought that another hotel could come close. Upon check in we were upgraded to the Adored Suite. A total and welcomed surprise. Thank you so much! Walking to our room, it looked like something out of a scene from the Las Vegas show. Beautiful long corridor with red panels and dark coloured doors. This suite is amazing. Luxury at its best. Separate living/dining room and second toilet for visitors. The bedroom is large and the bathroom has the toilet hidden with a door (perfect) The bathroom is opulent with a round spa and a ceiling shower - totally amazing. The amenities are 5 star and the room is fully equipped for every function at a touch of a button. You can control the blinds, room temperature and lights from the tv - truly innovative. We found the staff to be very helpful. We had breakfast in the room and it was 5 star. The most comfortable bed i have slept in. Don't forget to order your pillow from their pillow option. We only wished that the hotel restaurant Sokyo was open (they are closed Sundays) to enjoy dinner there - hopefully next time.

Room Tip: If you would like a view you may need to specify when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel my husband and i stayed in as part of our 3 week honeymoon and it did not disappoint! The hotel is outstanding and pure luxury!

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite however as we were loaned a room when we arrived at 6am to freshen up until ours was ready (courtesy of the hotel), I can vouch that all of the rooms are beautiful.

The rooms are controlled entirely by remote control, they all have nespresso machines, waterfall showers - the list goes on!

The location is fantastic and in walking distance to a large variety of bars and restaurants in the Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay Wharf area.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband bought us a night in a jewel suite for my wedding present. The hotel is a beautiful and stylish property but our stay there was marred by a couple of key flaws. There was a blackout during the evening which meant that all but one of the lifts weren't operational. In addition, it meant that we could not start the tv the next morning, and so our plans for a Sunday morning lounging in bed were ruined. We mentioned this to reception on checkout who failed to apologise or acknowledge the inconvenience. In addition the minibar is automatic (ie if you lift a product up for more than 30 seconds it is added to your bill automatically). This means that if you wish to use the fridge (eg for that special bottle of champagne) the fridge first needs to be completely emptied by hotel staff. It is also difficult to find out information about the hotel's facilities like the swimming pool which are not clearly advertised anywhere. Despite these slight irritations the hotel is no doubt a gorgeous property which is well located for exploring Sydney. Dinner at the hotel restaurant, Sokyo is recommended.

Room Tip: Jewel suites are very large and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First impressions mean a lot and this hotel did not dissapoint...From the time you open the front door and watch the lights go on and curtains open automatically ,to when you open the hand crafted cupboard looking for the kettle to make a coffee and find a nesspresso coffee machine instead with pods and all the trimmings...The surprises keep coming as you walk through the room,and the service will make you feel like you are in Dubai..Very very impressed.

Room Tip: Just ring reception and book, I don't think there is a bad room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

So disappointing!! from the moment of check in to departure this hotel does not live up to all the hype.
under staffed, rude, no follow through and certainly no personal service you would expect for a Top 5 Star hotel in Sydney.
there are many other properties in sydney that take much better care of you and where the level of service is 5 Star sorry to say NOT AT STAR are they 5 star!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel - the Four Season and Park Hyatt definitely give you the 5 star experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel to stay in when travelling for business to Sydney. Well located in the casino district, it is truly a 5Star hotel. Bedding was fantastic to sleep on, good pillows, showers a bit challenging to understand, and toiletry supply first class.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level rooms not near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.