We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Chic Hotel with WOW Factor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Save Saved
You added The Darling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stylish Chic Hotel with WOW Factor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friendly staff of The Darling greet you when you walk into the foyer and you feel an element of designer chic appeal... but once you recieve your key and open the door to your room/suite it's a whole other feeling. You turn the key, the lights turn on to reveal mood lighting with the ceiling high curtains opening up to your view of Sydney, while your tv welcomes you personally with options to control the rooms composition.... and thats just after you've put the key in and taken a step into the door. AMAZING! The directional furniture and style of the rooms interior are like you're on the set of Vogue Living and the bath products, purple and camel robes and thick bath slippers get you ready for relaxation, especially after your vichy shower experience. The best moment comes when you lie in the most comfortable bed and pillows you have ever experienced in your life... and dont forget that you can design how you want to wake up all through your tv... windows to open at 6am with specific lights coming on over a 10 second time period and the tv turning on at the same time to reveal your morning news program... no worries!!! This is Luxury, and with Adriano Zumbo's dessert station open late (that's right like a sushi station but with dessert) and the 24 hour casino with boutique shops like chanel and gstar and delicious restaurants at your door step, I cant think of anywhere else in Sydney to stay! I had an amazing stay! xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    99
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
189
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous bed and so quiet.... Usually hotal rooms have some sort of white noise from air conditioning or the mini bar... Our room was silent. Price for weekend stay pricey... Better value during the week. Really nice to pair a stay here with going to a show at the Lyric followed by dessert at Adrian Zumbo's.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I came here to escape life for a few nights, it did the trick perfectly! From greeting me by name as I arrived to being able to control most things in the room from my bed, my stay was wonderful.
Room is tastefully designed and decorated, nice touch including indigenous art into the rooms. It was clean, bed was comfortable, I love the bench seat and table at the end of my bed.
The service was fast, professional. Room service was very pricey for what I got, so just pop downstairs to the food court...or book in to one of the lovely restaurants.
The view wasn't amazing, but I still enjoyed what I could see.
I love jumping on the ferry to head across to the Harbour.
The lobby was amazing, I sat there a few times for rest between adventures. Fantastic furnishings.
Do yourself a favor and just stay here, stop looking for the best hotels and just book this one!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great stay at the trendy 'Darling'. The Abercrombie style door men were very attentive; the room suitably large and comfy. The lobby is plush and great for people watching although probably inconspicuously. The cafe on the corner does a great flat white, but could be bigger. The cafe that is! The room service was yummy when we indulged after a big night out. Even the gym we had access to wasn't too bad for a hotel gym. It's just a shame we didn't have the weather to spend more time chilling by the cool pool. One complaint: The Wi-Fi access was poor the whole time we stayed, and you'd expect a modern hotel to be more "on it". And be aware that not all the rooms have good views, so you get given what you pay for.

Room Tip: Check what view you'll get for what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casalecchio di Reno, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and I was curious to check it out.
The hotel is part of The Star, which is a huge and very stylish commercial complex with a casino, various restaurants and shops. Distance-wise we're talking about 5 mins from the Wharf and around 10 mins from the Pyrmont Bridge, a very convenient footbridge that gives you access to Darling Harbor. A lot of restaurants are located on the docks of the Wharf (would recommend The Flying Fish) and the view over the Harbor Bridge is breathtaking.
The hotel is very elegant, with a beautiful, warmly decorated lobby and a very attentive and young staff. I was upgraded to a Jewel Suite: the room was very well-appointed with a large living room and a fantastic bathroom where a generous walk-in rainshower is ready to wash away all the stress you've accumulated during the day. Small little details such as a cozy bathrobe, the Molton Brown amenities and, in the living room, a Nespresso coffee machine contribute to an overall impression of being pampered. The domotics-based controls that yet other reviewers have outlined make it easy for you to operate the blinds, set the wake-up alarm, switch any light and more functions to enjoy. I'd say that there's definitely a very distinguishing style that inspires this property and having been loyal for many years to the Shangri-La in town I must admit that at this very moment I'm pretty sure that The Darling is the best option to take advantage of in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when we were attending a conference. Large open lobby with plenty of seating which is good when waiting for people. Room was large and well appointed. Everything is electrically controlled by a switch from lighting to blinds with even settings for night lighting and morning lighting. Large super comfy bed and interesting bathroom. It was kind of open with the sinks pretty much open to the room and the toilet and shower screened off. Not sure how comfortable I would have been if travelling with a friend. Beautiful Moulton Brown amenities. Flat screen tv and plenty of hanging space.

My only gripe is the lighting around the mirror to do your makeup but then this is typical of almost every hotel.

We had dinner in Sokyo and it was just fantastic. I love Japanese food and am pretty fussy but this was one of the best Japanese meals I have ever had, and very reasonably priced. Service was great and the waiter explained the best way to order to really enjoy our meal. The modern take on shashimi was amazing. If you like Japanese food this is a must.

Enjoyable experience all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked a suite for my birthday last year, it was incredible, very clean, modern and definitely 5 star. Was a little bit upset though as the booking page and description did suggest that the room would have views of the city and harbour bridge, whereas the suite I was given had a crappy view of Pyrmont buildings. For the amount I paid for a night I was expecting a better view and a possible upgrade being a special occasion. Despite this the place was lovely, the staff were welcoming and room service was at a high standard. The concierge ensured my friends and I got a good deal at Marquee the nightclub at The Star which also made us very happy!
I would 100% stay at The Darling again but next time would be looking to make a booking through reservations rather then online to ensure I got the room/view I was looking for.

Room Tip: Don't trust the website for room description can be deceiving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.