We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Save Saved
You added The Darling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
SYD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

3 nights stay at The Darling made us definitely addicted to this Hotel
Junadi the concierge is The Best
thank you for your assistance while we faced trouble in Sydney hospital
very good room
fabulous pool
and very convenient Cafe court
We will be back and try a suite this time

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    99
    32
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
189
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Darling for 3 nights in February 2013. I had emailed the concierge ahead of time because I wanted to have a picnic delivered to reception for my partner's 30th birthday and wanted to make sure that would be ok. I had also enquired about buying a bottle of wine from the hotel to have added to the picnic. I was assured that would all be fine and taken care of.

Upon arrival the hotel staff were excellent. They very subtly called someone from their customer service team, who also quite politely asked if he could talk to me away from my partner in case the picnic was a secret. Even though our room was not ready yet, we didn't mind because we were going to the park for a picnic anyway. Within an hour the hotel had messaged me to say our room was ready so as not to interrupt the picnic with a phone call.

When we returned the Darling staff had upgraded our room to a Jewel room that had an amazing view of Sydney Harbour and was very spacious. We were shown to our room and shown how the tv could control the AC, the curtains and the lights.

The pillow top bed was super comfortable and the rain shower head was amazing. The room was quiet and spacious. The pool was really refreshing on a warm day, and a late night getting back to our room where we ordered room service could not be faulted.

When we were leaving there was a VIP arriving with a four car entourage that was greeted with a huge number of hotel staff. Even though it was difficult to get a taxi and then have one reach the front valet area of the hotel, the front desk staff seemed genuinely worried at how long we had had to wait and went out of their way to have a taxi meet us.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Darling again and I can't thank them enough for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Customer service was exceptional. Rooms very nice with luxuious robes and slippers available and valet parking attendants excellent. Loved the signature scent that you notice as you enter the lobby- nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very stylish Hotel - but doesn't look like a hotel as it seems to be part of the Star complex. Bedding in the room is very luxurious and comfortable. Would recommend this Hotel although not cheap. One negative though, the electronic mini bar says it will charge to your account if anything is removed / lifted for more than 30 seconds. A bit stupid I think.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect of this hotel, since it is part of a casino complex. We visit Las Vegas quite frequently and this was very different. The rooms are in a completely different part of the building. They are modern, clean, and well-appointed. We had a suite with a large sitting/kitchen area, bed facing the view of the city, and very large bathroom and walk-in closet. The complex has a "food court" with many types of food you can buy, then sit in various seating areas. They also have many fine dining restaurants. We were able to visit one (Balla, Italian). The vibe was low-key and the food was very well-prepared. The hotel is a short walk across the pedestrian bridge right into the heart of Sydney downtown. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed only one nite but the best i have ever stayed in - nothing to compare - it is luxurious - everything about it is fab and the staff are so wonderful too! So modern, clean, ultra comfortable. Massive ensuite too. Beautiful Chocolates arrived at our room within a few minutes of arriving - a wonderful surprise ! The pool was perfect - and a lovley hot spa too. Location is great - just a few minutes walk from Darling Harbour and only a little further into the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Any room - maybe some have better views of eg the harbour bridge then others but all excellently app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the The Darling for a "girly" weekend away and were extremely impressed. The staff at reception and concierge desk were both happy and helpful. The decor and surrounds were beautiful. We only had a standard room and again the room was lovely. There are 2 minor issues though,first with the electronic mini bar in the fridge we were unable to purchase our own water from across the road at Coles and keep it cold. Also the bathroom gap - the shower door opens right where there is a gap in the wall straight into the eyes of anyone who may be sitting on the bed watching tv. I do love the open plan bathroom but some sort of "privacy screen" would have made it perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.