We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new Sydney hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Darling to your Saves list
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great new Sydney hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our stay at the Darling was 5 star. I was a little concerned about staying at a casino as usually they are so tacky, but the Darling was fabulous. We had a jewel suite with a view of the harbour bridge, the room was spacious with a modern look and feel. The bath was lovely however it took over 30minutes to fill up, so allow plenty of time.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as you had to walk into the casino which was a turn off, so we ate at a nearby Pyrmont hotel.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation, ask for a harbour view as some rooms have Pyrmont views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    110
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
213
19
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is great and we found the access to restaurants / cafes convenient as our stay was short and our time was limited. The service we received was excellent from all staff we encountered during our stay.The room was beautiful - not much view but excellent furninshings and most importantly a wonderfully comfortable bed. A previous reviewer was correct about a position for the coffee machine. Not exactly ideal balancing it on the vanity.
We would highly recommend The Darling to others and will stay again when we are back in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Reception is quite impressive and it is nice to stay near the casino but not in it. Location is great as it is a short walk across the bridge over darling habour to the city centre and the shopping district. The rooms are impressive and the electronic control of everything through the TV is brilliant. Bathrooms and WIR was quite good as well. Service from the concierge and door staff was brilliant but i found reception less helpful. Not a lot of usefull infomration supplied. Very large room service menu but quite expensive and took some time to be delivered. I would also add there is not much of a view from the rooms which i thought there would be. If you have a very high floor on the right side you may get a view. We stayed in a suite which was quite spacious. The access to the casino is confusing but it is close and also it give great access to the fantastic restaurants in the complex.
Overall it was quite good but i would probably stay back in the city unless the casino is where you want to be.

Room Tip: Get a high floor on the city side for any chance of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As we entered the star complex we were directed directly to the darling valet. The valet and check in was outstanding. We got to our wonderful room and found the view to not be what we had booked and with a quick chat to the front desk was compensated more than justly. Everything with this hotel was so easy and all the staff were outstanding. This is five star at tis best. Would deffinately recomend and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

An awesome property - this one has it all.
We stayed in a suite which was high tech and luxurious - the curtains just magically open when you walk in; the controls for everything in the room are on the TV. Spacious suite, with room to spread out - you could have a nice little party in this suite.
The hotel is not just about the room, but what else there is. How about shopping until midnight? The luxury boutiques are open late, with a pretty good range to choose from. The convenience store seems to stock everything as well.
The world famous Momofuku Seiobo restaurant is in the complex - good luck if you can get in. Otherwise there is a myriad of dining options. We ended up having kebabs at 11pm - we just weren't hungry earlier!
Sydney's best nightclub - Marquee - is here. For guests at the Darling, speak with concierge and your name can be placed on the door list. You still have to pay the cover, but you bypass the loooong queue to get in. Tip: Get there before midnight, as they close the door list.
Back to the room, and the bed is super comfortable after a night dancing. No worries about noise either.
We woke up late, so we missed breakfast. Didn't matter, because the Adriano Zumbo patisserie opened at 11am, for a sweet brunch.
Best hotel in Sydney.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway for my birthday. As soon as we drove up the service was amazing and the bell boys and valet were genuinely welcoming and friendly - not 'snooty' and reserved like some other 5 star hotels.. Check in was a breeze and the room was great.
Positives -
The ammenities in the room are all molton brown and the best is the body scrub soap to use in the rain shower.
We asked (and got) a high floor with a great view - and they let us check out late at 12 noon
The pool (infused with white tea and eucalyptus) was refreshing and the outdoor spa was heated - the best tip is to go for the Rancho Relaxo cocktails which the guys will bring to you.
They also greet you on arrival with a towel and thank you for coming when you leave.
So many choices for bars and dining - the food court area is fantastic (among others it includes flying fish takeaway, gourmet burgers and ribs, and great gelato) and all the bars we went to had great atmosphere.
Location is great - easy walk into darling harbour or the city area and Pyrmont has other bars, cafes, pattisseries etc well worth checking out,
Negatives - Not a lot... The Garden Buffet in the casino - give it a miss unless you are taking kids - the quality is better in the food court area or splurge for one of the nicer restaurants.
They have a pillow menu which is great - but we didnt know about it till the next day - needs to be advertised more prominently
Need to also advertise the valet parking rate for hotel guests on the website.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Such a beautiful, fabulous hotel. Brand new and very modern. Building contains a mall with lots of great shops and places to eat. The biggest feature is the casino. Surprisingly, there were absolutely zero noise issues. We were able to go back to our room and enjoy a quiet night of sleep despite the busy floors below.

The cost of the rooms themselves were reasonable for this level of hotel in my opinion. Well worth it. The price of the items to purchase within the room not so much. They charge $30 for peanuts and other pretty basic things you could get down at the convenience store for a couple of bucks. Wifi was also expensive but this was a problem everywhere we traveled in Australia&New Zealand.

The room itself was great. My friend and I were weirded out by the bathroom being enclosed in glass rather than a separate room with walls (hard to describe, very unusual to us) but we got used to it. It actually was private enough.

Location was perfect. Walking distance to everything and great nightlife. Overall we loved, loved our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.