We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-tech choice on Darling Harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Darling to your Saves list
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High-tech choice on Darling Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This sparkling new property offers great, comfy guest rooms with tons of high-tech gadgetry in a great location for business or leisure. This is not your parent's hotel so if you are a bit tech-phobic you may not like the lightning and entertainment systems. Also because it's new a lot of cabbies don't know where it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    125
    42
    8
    12
See reviews for
23
263
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is new and stylish ! Advise not to stay with kids, I booked theroom via phone, no one told me pool area is adult only since that is a bar area. There is a party at the lobby area until midnight, not in a sound proof ball room, but lobby. I feel the room shaking, I was staying on the 5 fl. Please ask when check in is there a party going on if yes, please insist a higher level. I complaint at 11pm , the staff said the party was approved by the management and she cant guarantee the party will finish at 12 mid night. If u sleep very late otherwise this is extremely disturbing. I cant believe a 5 star hotel will hold party at the lobby area, this is not acceptable. Staff are very nice and explain to me the situation.... but they cant help.

Room Tip: higher level is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Saw the promotion on the website, so I and my friend decided to stay in Sydney after doing our tax-return and to treat ourselves! We went to the Darling Spa and enjoyed 1.5 hr massage. Although it was a but pricy, the atmosphere and service were totally worth it! We stayed there on a Saturday night because we went clubbing in Marquee (which was lots of fun). After partying hard we just rested in the gorgeous room. Beautiful setting out. Even the room was not large, it was spacious. I also went for a swim in the next morning. Good complimentary breakfast as well. Plus the reception area was very grant!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here as we were attending an awards event in the Casino complex. The room was perfect. Modern, stylish , functional. It has a real funky feel about it without trying. It is so comforting to get a room where the air-conditioning works so well you do not notice it! The bed was heavenly and sleep came easily. All of the staff we interacted with were excellent and definitely an asset to the hotel. And one of best benefits of staying here is the location which is on the fringe of the City CBD but not amongst the hassle of the city itself. And although this is in the Casino complex you can avoid the casino completely if you wish as it is designed in such a way that you bypass all of the Casino to get in and out of the hotel which for us was a big plus. Check in and check out were quick and painless, price was ok for a hotel of this standard. As a tip if you do wish to stay here and it is full keep trying. I had tried (online)over the previous two weeks and there was no room availability and a final try on the morning of the event presented a King size room - it was worth the effort. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My partner bought me a gift voucher for a treatment at the Spa inside the new Darling Hotel in Pyrmont. I booked a massage that was just ok - masseuse seemed bored (barely spoke to me and went through the motions pretty mechanically) and scratched me with her fingernails. What really concerned me was the quality of the men's changeroom. The shower had a broken mechanism and the flush did not work on the toilet I went to use. When I mentioned this to the desk staff it barely registered - I suspect they won't follow through on my comments. I was given a comments form to fill out when I finished my treatment but, sadly, because I am over 45 years old I couldn't read the tiny print in the subdued lighting. I am fortunate to have used several spas in Sydney and elsewhere. Really, at this stage at least, the spa at The Darling is not where it needs to be to compete with other offerings.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at The Darling Hotel was a great experience and I travel quite often as I am in the business of hotel and restaurants. I can understand and appreciate the work involved in creating a very welcoming and indulgent hotel stay. The King Room itself was very comfortable and offered an awesome view of the harbor. But more importantly, the staff did an extraordinary job of making my vacation a very relaxing one. Junaidi, the concierge, took care of every detail with smile and efficiency – from spa appointments, restaurant recommendations, and directions for my drive to The Blue Mountains. Kevin, the bellman, ran around town to find me a shoemaker to replace the soles of my boots. Villa, the bartender at Sokyo, shared some great stories of the local area and made some great handcrafted cocktails (his take on the classic Manhattan is worth a try). The best dinner we had during our entire stay was at Sokyo – the sushi restaurant on the property. We sat at the sushi bar and our chef, Min, did a wonderful job creating a personalized tasting menu for us based on a couple questions he asked regarding our taste preferences.
The staff did a great job at making us feel like we were the most important guests in the house.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary with a night at The Darling. We had a Jewel suite (1278) which had views over to the top of the Harbour Bridge. The room was very big with separate lounge area and large bathroom with double sinks and spa bath. A bottle of shiraz was in our room with wishes for a happy anniversary- a nice touch. We loved all the Molton Brown toiletries, the soft mauve sheets, the 57 inch TV in the lounge and the pillow menu. Great to sleep on a latex pillow like we have at home! Underneath the hotel are lots of food outlets, don't miss Gelato Messina. The pool area was very glam and we enjoyed sitting in the spa. Breakfast was very reasonably priced- $19 for huevos rancheros and beautifully cooked.The room was lovely and quiet.
Some things which could further improve The Darling,
*remove the loose goose overlay on the top of the mattress. It was very soft and moved around a lot
*deliver newpapers. We ordered one but didn't receive it
*offer Turndown service. We missed it and it's always a treat
*leave space in the fridge for a bottle of wine . We had ought some champagne but there was nowhere to put it in the fridge.
We paid $413 for our Sunday night stay and it was very good value for what we received. We hope to return as we felt feeling recharged and refreshed.

Room Tip: The higher up, the bettter and the harbour side rooms obviously have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.3 mi away
1888 Hotel
1888 Hotel
#6 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#20 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
0.1 mi away
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and getaroom.com so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.