We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Save Saved
You added The Darling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in this wonderful hotel for a very unfortunate one night. Everything had the wow factor even down to the staff. My friend and I shared a room, the beds were amazing, pillows could have been a tad firmer and the bathroom was more for couples. Telling each other to 'not look' when showering was the only downer. However beautiful throughout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    99
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
189
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good points:
Standard room size is very spacious, modern, luxuriously appointed with lots of state-of-the-art gadgets and nice small touches in amenities.
Bathroom area was the biggest space I have ever seen in a standard room, with walk-in wardrobes.
Very comfortable bed and pillow so I was very well rested.
Very nice pool side area with spa and bar.
Lobby smelt really nice and looked stunning.
Nice views if room is high enough.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Right next to Star Casino along with fine dining restaurants (Manfredi-best pasta) and high end food court, Marquee Club and Lyric Theatre for shows.
Easy to get to by car or bus.
Spa retreat was also an excellent experience, totally relaxing and pampering.
Only bad point would be not really suited for family with small kids.
Overall, it was an excellent birthday retreat. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DellaCioppa, Front Office Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear maxzoomx3,

Can’t think of a better way to spend a Birthday then with a little Darling pampering!
Darling Spa treatment, Balla Fine Dining and sometime just to lay by the pool… I’m so jealous.

I would agree that The Darling is catered to adults- but what a great excuse to get away from the kids for the night.

As we say, were all about the detail and great guest experience and can’t wait to welcome you back.


Regards,

The Darling team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first stay at The Darling. We were upgraded to a Jewell suite and found the room to be exquisite. State of the art technology, a fabulous bathroom including a large spa and a separate rain shower and 2 toilets. The location is close to Darling Harbour and a short walk to the city.
We dined in the Japanese restaurant within the hotel and had several superb tapas size dishes. The decor was lovely although it was very loud and rowdy on the Friday night.
We found the staff to be efficient and friendly, particularly the men assisting with our luggage and taxis.
Our only regret is that we didn't have the room for longer. It is certainly a hotel where you could happily remain in the confines of your room and soak in the luxe fit out. I would gladly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DellaCioppa, Front Office Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear michgrif,

Don’t we all wish we could stay longer, be pampered and as you say soak in the luxe fitout!
The Darling team is always striving to set a standard Sydney hasn’t seen and once again we are in celebrations of our latest award- Best International New Hotel for Construction and Design at the International Hotel Awards 2012.

It’s great to hear your recommendations and we of course would gladly welcome you back!

Regards,

The Darling team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordialloc, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is nice, It is a good quiet area of Sydney. It is a great place to stay if you are there for a show at the Lyric. The staff were OK but quite snobbish which irritates me (except the cleaners who were marvelous) . The foyer is quite stunning as are the hallways,rooms and amenities such as the pool. Room service is very expensive. Rooms are nice, excellent beds and bedding, excellent bathroom products and pleasant shower room but the toilet is not very private (you can hear everything) Good tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Restaurants nearby are good but pricey.
The hotel does not provide any real tourist assistance to guests via the way of knowledge and maps etc so get a map elsewhere. I recommend the Harbour Bridge walk, it is stunning.

Room Tip: If you want twin beds or a king bed make sure to check at the desk on check in. Ask the staff to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a Jewel suite for the weekend. the room was luxuriously appointed with good views of the city. It was tremendously large with all the mod cons. Would happily stay again but maybe its a bit too pricey on the weekends.

Room Tip: Avoid in room dining as we found it quite expensive and not very tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was here in August for business, from the moment we walked in to when we left this hotel was awesome..
The room was so lush I didnt want to leave it to go to meetings. The bed was so comfortable I have never been at a hotel where the bed was so comfy.
Went to the hotel next door to have breakfast was good.
Close enough to walk to the city and was right on the harbor.
Great place would definatley return.
Ps went to the casino nice and bright didn't feel claustrophobic...

Room Tip: All good here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a weekend at the darling and it was amazing.

The rooms had the best features that i have ever seen in a hotel room before.

The room was very spacious as well.

As part of our package we got 2 free cocktails, which was great. We also got free room service breakfast, which was pleasant as they delivered it to our needs.

It was also in a great location within walking distance to darling harbour.

Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.