We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Darling?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Darling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Darling to your Saves list
The Darling
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Darling?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were looking forward to staying at Sydney's newest five star hotel. I called The Darlings 1800 number to make our reservation and reserved a suite for our two night stay. On arrival our reservation could not be located and turned out to have been made for another hotel operated by the Star Casino. We were advised that The Darling was more expensive to their sister hotel with a suite being more than double our rate and were graciously offered a standard room at our booked rate. On checking later this rate was still some $50 a night more than the best internet rate for this room on these nights.

The hotel is quite modern and although the staff are casually dressed the hotel has a business feel. The room amenities were very nice, however these rooms don't have a bath and although the space saving bathroom makes the room more spacious the lack of privacy could be an issue.

Being so new there are some teething issues, tissue paper along the top of the door will stop the wind whistling.

Not quite the romantic getaway we were expecting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    110
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
212
19
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
a.c.t
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

the hotel itself is very nice. modern and functional. staff were excellent. my mother and i booked a twin room and on check in were taken to level 6. the room itself is nice enough..a little small but with all the mod cons. unfortuntely we realised the bathroom was totally open plan..as in stepping out of the shower and you are near the bed.. no privacy whatsoever. ok if its a romantic situation, but not with family. strange because a twin bed configuration room would mean you could be with some one like a friend or assosciate. anyway we asked for a privacy screen of some sort and reception said it wasnt possible due to oh&s concerns. i accept this, but what to do next? reception kindly offered a wheelchair friendly room which provided far more privacy. they handled the problem well. even concierge commented that this was the style of modern design for hotel rooms and can be problematic at times...if we had known this we would have booked elsewhere just to avoid the hassle. maybe the hotel should mention this ontheir website..other than this problem the darling is great....for couples..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Combining our work Christmas party and a luxury night at the Darling, we were not let down nor disappointed. From the moment we entered, staff treated us like Barack Obama on a flying visit to Sydney. The room was simply luxurious and all controlled by the TV remote. Lighting, blinds, air conditioning were all at your finger tips. Be warned to order your 6 styles of pillows in advance as we had the least firmest available which did not assist our sleep that night . Only in the morning, did we find a menu detailing a smorgasbord of pillows that could be ordered from House Keeping. Be warned the assortment of goods to purchase are booby trapped electronically. Any items that are removed from the fridge to inspect are automatically debitted to your account . The expresso coffee machine provided, was well received whilst in our luxurious bath robes. We will be returning in March for a dinner and theatre show on our wedding anniversary in April.

Room Tip: Hints. Keep the air conditioning at 18 to 19 degrees at night and order your type of pillow in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had a room on the 5th floor, the noise from nearby bar or nightclub reverberated through the room and the room rattled from the vibrations. After paying $350 to spend the night, we left as there was no way you could get any sleep!!

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

Decided to stay here as we had tickets to Richard III. On check in we were given a smoking room (which we didn't ask for or want). Reception moved us to a non-smoking room after we complained. In the new room one of the lights over the bed flicked on at off. At turndown, housekeeping left an empty bottle of water beside the bed and although there were two of us registed in room, they only left out one set of slippers and the one (empty) bottle of water. The electrical panel over the desk actually came away from the wall when I tried to unplug my phone. Crap lighting in bathroom for make up application No free wi-fi provided, which at $600/night for a basic room should be included. Even though we were on the 11th floor the street noise was still considerable.
We usually stay at the Shangri-la and regretted that we hadn't. For the same price we would have gotten a larger room, a view of the Harbour rather than rooftops and Executive level access. B

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Darling is part of The Star Casino in Sydney.
From the time you drive in under the fairy light lit undercover parking to the time you check out you are treated as royality! This place is classy the room was elegant with its remote controlled blinds,a/c lighting etc.A king size bed with a choice of 12 pillows! Rain shower head :)
The staff were fabulous and all this is actually linked to The Casino!!We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary with dinner at the Casino
The meal was and staff were excellent.I found this room on Wotif. com the room was $1,500 a night I paid $350 .. Its location is fantastic near Great Resaurants,The Imax Theatre,The markets, Darling Harbour.What a great experience.WOW

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I would like to say a big thank-you to all the staff at this new hotel. We were made to feel special with the personal service they provided, could not fault anything, comfortable beds the room was high tech with gadgets all at the push of a button for your convenience. staff are there all the way and nothing was too much trouble and with a smile. Great to see the guests are put first again very reasonable rates also, breakfast in the garden buffet was of a large variety and yummy fresh juices and fruits or cooked if you choose. We used royal limousines highly recommended from this hotel great driver "paul". This place has to be visited by more hotel proprietors so to see how its done!! Congrats on your new Hotel" The Darling".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything – from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLINGOur spa has 16 private rooms – including an intimate couples suite – and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.