We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza and pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rosa Bar and Pizza

La Rosa Bar and Pizza
The Strand Arcade 193 Pitt Street | Shop 133, Level 2, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia (City Centre)
02 92223 1674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,482 of 5,321 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good pizza and pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Eat dinner early recently on a Friday evening with my husband. Good choices for food and wine, we decided to share a pizza and lasagne - both were delicious. Menu contains both local and Italian wines. Service efficient but not intrusive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nice pizza place. Staff are friendly and the food is yummy! My partner enjoyed her meal and she is a fussy eater. Recommend it to anyone. Well Done

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had booked, so it was a little disappointing to be sat on a tiny table in the main thoroughfare being jostled by staff and customers passing by, especially when a much better table remained unused all the time we were there.
We ordered bruschetta and the waitress kindly informed us that if we were sharing we could order 4 pieces instead of the usual 3. We agreed but unfortunately only 3 arrived. This was a careless mistake from someone who did not read our order that should have been picked up by the waiter before serving us with the shortfall. We both ordered the lasagne and I ordered a salad to share but we were reassured that it came with side salads. regrettably they were small, so I wish I had not been advised not to order a larger option.
We enjoyed an excellent bottle of Sciafi Feudi, a vey pleasant Chardonnay from Guagnano, near Lecce in southern Italy.
I finished with an affogato which was served with a splendid Italian liquor.
The restaurant looks cosy and relaxing but we found it loud and uncomfortable.
Great food, but could be much more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a very quiet and relaxed Saturday lunch here in December 2012.

Food was excellent and the service good. Absolutely recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cant make it to Rome? Well visit La Rosa Bar and Pizza for a Roman meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was a Sunny hot Tuesday in December my wife and I were in Sydney for 4 days celebrating a life milestone.
We always visit the Strand it is our Christmas must.
it was noon the lunch crowds were surging.
La Rosa looked like it had seating but was almost fully reserved.
The nice maitre d' offered us a seat at the bar.
It was very quickly obvious that La Rosa was authentic unique ,friendly, casual. The wait staff were Italian
The Bar faced the pizza chefs making up the tastiest looking thin crust generous pizza in a bank of 6 imported Italian piza ovens.
He spoke in Italian whilst he created pizza marvels. A second chef came to help him with the rush of orders. He asked what we had been doing and we told him we were enjoying our 40th anniversary; we talked about our stay.We ordered the delicious cucumber and crushed olive salad and asparagus endive are must try fresh crunchy salad with beautiful tasting olive oil for main course the best oven baked home made lasagna and canelloni . The portions sizes were excellent; fresh ,simple, unadulterated meals. We will have desert at another visit we ordered 2 espressi just before they were served the nice maitre d' came ove with 2 complimentary green walnut liquors to wish us all the best for our special time.WELL done La Rosa and Thanks very much for a special end to our great Sydney stay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rosa Bar and Pizza also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to La Rosa Bar and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rosa Bar and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.