We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangers 'n' Mash. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SMASH Sausage Kitchen

SMASH Sausage Kitchen
512 King Street | Newtown, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9516 5424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bangers 'n' Mash. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

One great idea, perfectly presented. Bangers and Mash with gravy, simply delicious. All in a wide variety of flavors, including vegetarian, to choose from. Brilliant!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    27
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtow, NSW
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“smash kitchen challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

with the 10 kgs of sausage( lots of choice to choose) and 750 grams mash of your choices within 45 mins you get to win the cap and your name on board.

we have a good time and recommend to challenge your taste bud!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visiting from Melbourne decided that this restaurant would be perfect with two young (7 & 6) children. Couldn't have been happier - friendly helpful staff, simple but delicious food and great atmosphere. The kids in particular thought we should be eating there every night. Note: 2 coeliacs in the family were very well catered for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“8th in Sydney? In its own category, ABSOLUTELY.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was surprised to find a restaurant serving sausages and mash listed as being 8th in Sydney for restaurants. But does SMASH deserve this rating?
In my opinion, absolutely.

Sure, sausages and mash might not be your thing. But if you are a fan of this classic pub meal, they have elevated it from a cheap special into an art form. I'm shocked that they haven't franchised yet, because this is a winning franchise idea.

My Dad and I shared 6 sausages across a range of flavours - lamb, pork, traditional, with all sorts of wonderful additions to the mix.

I've never had such tasty sausages (and I spent 3 years working in a butcher's shop, so I should know). The mash was super too.

Add in absolutely awesome friendly service and great prices and SMASH is a winner. No not a winner, a WINNER.

Worth the walk down King St and a great change from the other styles of food that Newtown is better known for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fast but Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The concept is originated in England but it is perfected in Sydney, Newtown. The owner and staff are always very helpful, the service is quick, selection of sausages is great. Comfortable setting, nice chairs, colourful design (Look at Marilyn Monroe painting!) (Either going as only two people as a group of 8 people never disappointed with their service) My favourites are their mushy peas, chutney tomato sauce, and moroccan lamb and raisin sausages. On their specials you can always find some great side dishes like grilled artichokes or cauliflower with yummy sauces:-) And most importantly sticky date pudding is good to finish whole experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SMASH Sausage Kitchen also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to SMASH Sausage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SMASH Sausage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.