We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smash!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SMASH Sausage Kitchen

SMASH Sausage Kitchen
512 King Street | Newtown, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9516 5424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5,162 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Smash!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Enjoyable sausage and mash, traditionally not the most elegant dish, but smash has found a way to elevate this homey dish. Although the sausage could be seen as gourmet the place does not give off the pretentious artisinal sausage vibe. Honest food, honest folk, great experience

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    47
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good honest comfort food just like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love this place! I had been recommended to visit Smash by a few friends and I am pleased to say I visited whilst in Sydney. Yummy gourmet sausages with loads of mashed potato and gravy - you can choose your own flavour of sausage, mash and gravy - I chose Honey Chicken and Macadamia with Parmesan Potato mash and Mushroom gravy plus a side of mushy peas which were great. Left some room for dessert that I shared with my mate and it was also very tasty. The service was also great which is hard to find in many places these days so all round a great experience. I'll definitely be back! Plus a pretty cool mural on the wall :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love it every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Always excellent service from the staff, can't do enough to help but not in an overbearing way, just genuinely friendly people. Love the sausage choices and the sweet potato mash is the BEST! Fantastic atmosphere, relaxed and not pretentious at all. So glad it's close to where I live!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty comfort food in a cheerful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Discovered Smash Sausage Kitchen in Newtown by accident, just by walking by. They have a very good website, though.

Three adults (one was vegetarian) tried five different kinds of sausage, three kinds of mash, and one very satisfying serving of roasted corn on the cob (4 pieces). Desserts are large, so two servings of sticky date pudding with ice cream was more than enough.

It wasn't crowded on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was a bit scepitcal about going to a sausage and mash restaurant but my fiance dragged me there and I was hugely impressed. You get to choose your own combo of sausage (1, 2 or 3), mash (garlic, parmesan, sweet potato & others) and gravy. They also had some yummy specials.

You can BYO and they often seem to have deals on their website, in the Entertainment Book or on local flyers.

Definitely a cut above your humble sausage & mash (but still the classic choices for the purists). Another great place in Newtown I will revisit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SMASH Sausage Kitchen also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to SMASH Sausage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SMASH Sausage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.