We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxed evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stitch Bar

Stitch Bar
York Street 61, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (Wynyard)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #789 of 5,106 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Bar, Hamburgers, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Wynyard
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxed evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The bar is one of the many small bars that have popped up in Sydney. It's downstairs, and the decor is fantastic. Full of quirky designs and sewing machines under the bar, in the window. Even the table we sat at had a pedal on the floor as if it was a working sewing machine. Under the stairs is the 'wine cellar' - a very clever use of space in a small bar!

The bar is very much pitched for the post-work trendy professionals, with a small bar where you can just have drinks, then tables and booths if you're eating. The drinks are usual Sydney price, and food similarly so.

The range of food is gastro-pub, with burgers / hotdogs and curly fries, and some interesting salads as main course options. All the food we had (mix of salads and burgers) was tasty and well presented. Not gourmet cuisine, but definitely great if you want a good sized, standard meal.

Overall great location, and would definitely go back a couple of times. But the novelty would wear off after a few visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“chilled out vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

i went to stitch on a saturday afternoon. the cocktails were delicious, the service was friendly, and they were playing a wonderful selection of new and old blues. we had dinner reservations with friends, so we couldn't stay to try to try the famous hot dogs, but we enjoyed hanging out there so much we came back after dinner and with a couple of friends, they loved it too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A sneaky hidden underground sensation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With the location a little tricky to find and after mastering the stairs to this underground treasure, you won't be disappointed.
With a cool vibe, fun staff and eclectic decor, including an arrangement of old singer sewing machines, you almost feel you have taken over the space of an underground sweatshop!
All roads lead to a fun time with a great cocktail list, good wines and fun food. Creative, yummy hotdogs, burgers, soft tacos, served with curly french fries - hot chillie sauces and great value. Just as exciting looking at others choices as eating your own.
The food, atmosphere, service and vibe is creatively relaxed and seamless with a fun vibe. Lunch is a little quieter, but still a good hide-away food option mid week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best HotDogs in Sydney!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Received information about this hotel by a staff member from the hotel I was staying. Absolutely loved it. Walked by it a few time trying to find it. Looked liked a laundry more than anything. But as soon as you walk past those screen door and go down the stair you immerse yourself in a cosy and western style pub. The Stitch dogs is a must try! Trust me, your taste buds will thank me for it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Basement hideaway but a tad expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Went here for some drinks and don't get me wrong they tasted fabulous but I wouldn't pay $44 for one cocktail and normal drink of beer!! Cute and hidden so I can understand the appeal. Limited space and very noisy. Chairs were uncomfortable and takes forever to get a table or even served at the bar.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stitch Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Stitch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stitch Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.