We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza like few others!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucio Pizzeria

Lucio Pizzeria
248 Palmer Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Inner East)
(02) 9332 3766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Inner East
Bendigo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pizza like few others!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just ate a beautiful simple meal here, pear & and rocket salad, calamari and a rustica pizza. Pizza was one of the best i have ever eaten (not a fan of pizza at all) and the calamari was perfection on a plate. Worth a visit if you are nearby, not a place to linger but Messina's is just around the corner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    35
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Mumma Mia! Very Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really enjoyed this restaurant for dinner... unpretentious and not too hipster. Tried the authentic Margherita pizza, the Rustica pizza and also tasty meatballs in a delicious tomato sauce....what more do you want from life? Close enough to walk to Gelato Messina for dessert! Will be back

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just fine, but "number 1 restaurant in Sydney"..??!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We sought out Lucio's based on its high standing on Tripadvisor. Number 1 out of more than 3,500 restaurants must mean it's good, surely. The reviews hinted that it wasn't that obvious a restaurant and they were right. This is a tiny little Italian tucked away on a quiet street in the backyard of Sydney. As two UK tourists we were able to find it, but only on purpose due to the reviews we'd already read. I don't think this is the sort of place you can easily stumble across as a tourist, but possibly one of those hidden gems you learn about as a resident.

So yes, it serves pizzas and yes, they are pretty good. Were they the best pizzas I've ever had in my life? No. Were they the best I'd had in my 3 week stint around Eastern Australia? No. They were fine, but our dining experience was a little stilted. Sitting out under heaters is nice, but we did not feel particularly welcome here. Service was fine, but a little cold (it looked much warmer towards some of the other diners).

Our expectations were likely inflated due to the reviews on here, but overall this place is fine. If I lived nearby I'd probably go again. Is it the best restaurant in Sydney though..? We were only there for 4 days but it was enough to ascertain that it certainly was not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really Really great pizza, I have had pizza in many citys around the world, and this may have been the best !. So glad we got a table, get there early to make sure you do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Napoli pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 6pm and joined a small queue tI get a table, within 20 minutes they were turning people away, so obviously very popular.
The pizza was delicious, reminded us very much of the beautiful pizzas we devoured whilst spending a month in Italy last year!!
We would definately return and recommend to all!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucio Pizzeria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lucio Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucio Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.