We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza like few others!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucio Pizzeria

Lucio Pizzeria
248 Palmer Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Darlinghurst)
(02) 9332 3766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 4,981 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Bendigo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pizza like few others!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just ate a beautiful simple meal here, pear & and rocket salad, calamari and a rustica pizza. Pizza was one of the best i have ever eaten (not a fan of pizza at all) and the calamari was perfection on a plate. Worth a visit if you are nearby, not a place to linger but Messina's is just around the corner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raelene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Mumma Mia! Very Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really enjoyed this restaurant for dinner... unpretentious and not too hipster. Tried the authentic Margherita pizza, the Rustica pizza and also tasty meatballs in a delicious tomato sauce....what more do you want from life? Close enough to walk to Gelato Messina for dessert! Will be back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank new008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just fine, but "number 1 restaurant in Sydney"..??!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We sought out Lucio's based on its high standing on Tripadvisor. Number 1 out of more than 3,500 restaurants must mean it's good, surely. The reviews hinted that it wasn't that obvious a restaurant and they were right. This is a tiny little Italian tucked away on a quiet street in the backyard of Sydney. As two UK tourists we were able to find it, but only on purpose due to the reviews we'd already read. I don't think this is the sort of place you can easily stumble across as a tourist, but possibly one of those hidden gems you learn about as a resident.

So yes, it serves pizzas and yes, they are pretty good. Were they the best pizzas I've ever had in my life? No. Were they the best I'd had in my 3 week stint around Eastern Australia? No. They were fine, but our dining experience was a little stilted. Sitting out under heaters is nice, but we did not feel particularly welcome here. Service was fine, but a little cold (it looked much warmer towards some of the other diners).

Our expectations were likely inflated due to the reviews on here, but overall this place is fine. If I lived nearby I'd probably go again. Is it the best restaurant in Sydney though..? We were only there for 4 days but it was enough to ascertain that it certainly was not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazgraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really Really great pizza, I have had pizza in many citys around the world, and this may have been the best !. So glad we got a table, get there early to make sure you do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Napoli pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 6pm and joined a small queue tI get a table, within 20 minutes they were turning people away, so obviously very popular.
The pizza was delicious, reminded us very much of the beautiful pizzas we devoured whilst spending a month in Italy last year!!
We would definately return and recommend to all!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank townsendfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucio Pizzeria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lucio Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing