We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice, amazing staff and very comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel choice, amazing staff and very comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a two night stay over the weekend, very welcoming staff and quick check in, we arrived early morning so our room was naturally not available then, so we went for brunch and was surprised when we returned that we had been upgraded, lovely room with a great view over George st. We had a problem with the tv in the bedroom called front desk and staff member was at the door in under 2 min, problem solved 30 seconds later.. Brilliant service!! Bed was soooo comfortable!!!Heaps of great cheap restaurants within meters of the front door about a 20 min walk to circular quay.. We will stay here next time we visit Sydney, thank you to staff here for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Chad l,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass them onto the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff. It is comments such as yours that motivate us to deliver the best in accommodation and customer service.

Our apartments are indeed located to the advantage of the traveller. From great restaurants to great shopping, you will always find plenty to do moments from our front door.

I’m glad your experience throughout your stay was both welcoming and comfortable and we are looking forward to seeing you back again in future.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,634
    754
    62
    15
    10
See reviews for
411
1,876
260
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were very surprised at the quality of the apartment,which had everything we needed.after such a tiring trip.Lovely and quiet and we found in the morning it was so near to markets,great restaurants and Darling Harbour.We will go again this November,and really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: This was a cube apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Ziggy176,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Meriton Campbell St.

I am pleased to read you were impressed with your apartment. Meriton certainly is a great choice in accommodation, especially when you are ending your trip. With access to homely built units like a kitchen and laundry room in your very own apartment

Ziggy176, Thank you again for your review. We are looking forward to your return in November.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Meriton Serviced Apartments in Campbell Street are not typical hotel rooms. My studio apartment has a kitchenette, laundry, dining table and a bed.

The layout is unusual - when lying in bed, you have the kitchenette as your view. The TV is beside the bed, with chairs the other side of the bed - so TV viewing in bed is not going to work. However, the overall feeling of space is wonderful and everything is so new and shiny.

The bathroom is spotless and new but has only a shower and no bath. The amenities include real soap and mini bottles of shampoo, conditioner, etc.

There is wifi available and it works. 1GB is free but you pay if you need more.

As a city centre location, you can hear traffic noise if you listen for it but it is not intrusive. The building itself is quiet and I had no noise from other guests.

The bed has super-thick foam pillows. Not my thing at all, but a call down to reception produced a much thinner pillow.

I thoroughly recommend these apartments and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - no view but less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Quelian,

It has been a pleasure reading your review of Meriton Campbell St and I am happy to know it was an excellent experience.

Reserving your accommodation at Meriton not only offers you the comfort and living of your very own apartment and room amenities. You also get to experience the included features of Free WIFI, access to our recreational room, easy access to transportation and also recommendations of Sydney activity from our friendly staff. It’s great to hear you got to experience the whole package.

Quelian, thank you for recommending our apartments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our second time at a Meriton property, but first time at Campbell Street. Stayed for 5 nights in late March in a Sky View 1 bedroom apartment. Everything was very clean. Never heard any noise from other rooms or from the street. Depending on the location of your room, be aware that surrounding buildings may be able to see through your windows - use your drapes - and vice versa - we got to look into what appeared to be backpacker rooms in another building. Kitchen was nicely outfitted with the bare necessities, all appliances were sparkling. Free Wifi was always speedy. Location is close to Central train station, Chinatown and Darling Harbour and the CBD and Circular Quay is a bit of a walk. Lots of food stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LetsGetGone,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I am happy to know you enjoyed your quiet and clean Sky-View apartment.

A quiet night’s sleep is what we’re all about. I am glad you got to experience this on your second stay with Meriton. You’ll find that our apartments are also equipped to the advantage of our guests, including a complimentary selection of amenities for you to utilise.

LetsGetGone, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again when you return to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time here, first time was ok which is why I stayed a second time.

Prices have nearly doubled since I last stayed I have noticed which makes this place not really a good buy anymore.

I booked through a third party website, arrived at hotel, and was quickly advised I should book with Meriton as no upgrades for "cheap rooms".
Said that was ok as I didn't expect to, was then told if I pay "more" I can upgrade, which I declined.....big mistake !
Was then told....mmmm cannot see that room is ready, you will need to leave bag and come back, um excuse me it is 5pm, check in was hours ago, sorry sir, if you upgrade you can check in now.

One hour later I went into my studio, which must be emergency room, as it looked and smelt like no one had been in it for some time.

I called desk and asked to be moved, abruptly told we are sold out in your room type, but if you upgrade We can move you.

That was enough for me, I left and never returned.

Tip: Don't use third party website to book room here, better still, don't stay here at all, there are plenty of other options that do not treat you in this manner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear CRAPHIL,

It was very disappointing to read your recent review.

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologises. It certainly sounds out of character for our team and not the high level of guest service we pride ourselves on. Your comments in regard to your check in time also seem unusual.

Would you please contact me via tripadvisor@meriton.net.au as I would like to discuss your comments further.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel offers great value for money with a 5 star experience for 3 star prices! When checking in we were told that we had a room with no balcony which was a little disappointing, however we requested one and after visiting the chinese gardens which are only a 5 min walk away, had a call to say our room was ready and had been changed to one with a balcony. The one bedroom appt was huge cannot complain about anything except the sofas are rock hard but we didn't use them once as we were out most of the time. The shower is excellent and the nice toilettries, which were replenished daily, a very nice touch. The spa was lovely and was our floor which was a bonus. The location is fabulous especially if you like Chinese food as there are so many restaurants to choose from! A shuttle bus service runs from the top of the road so you can travel to most spots for free and the walk from the train station was very straight forward and only took 10 minutes. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sophie T,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments of Meriton Campbell Street, where affordable prices meet luxury accommodation.

It is so great to read the highlights of your stay and I am happy to know our team were able to accommodate to your room preference. Our apartments are equipped to fit your every need when you are away from home, you will definitely find convenience in one of our apartments. I see the location was to your advantage as well, that’s fantastic!

Sophie T, thank you again for reviewing your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you return to Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and were very satisfied with the quality of the accommosdation which was spacious and well-planned. The only downside was that as it looked into an internal courtyard it wasn't very light. The kitchenette was well resourced and hte bed was very comfortable. We found reception generally efficient but impersonal, although the night we arrived (at about 12.30) the night porter/receptionist was unhelpful and rather rude. A good choice if you want plenty of space and the chance of making breakfast and snacks, etc.

Room Tip: Try to get one with an exterior window, ie not onto a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear tresure,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is great to read you were satisfied with the quality of your apartment. They are indeed spacious, giving you the extra room you need to relax and move around in.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service you experienced upon check in. This feedback does sound out of character for our team and I will definitely address this matter to them to assure this does not occur again.

Tresure, thank you again for choosing to stay with Meriton Campbell St. We hope to welcome you back again in future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Address: 4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street offers both corporate and leisure travellers, superior choice at the Southern end of Sydney city, railway square, Haymarket and other nearby surrounding areas. Positioned opposite the Capitol Theatre and just moments away from China Town, Paddy’s Markets, the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central railway station, the University of Technology Sydney and Broadway. The self contained apartments are built over 39 levels and offer 247 luxury apartments including Studio, Cube and 1 bedroom configurations. Guest facilities include indoor heated 20m lap pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium boasting the latest fitness equipment. Our guests have the added convenience of a large selection of local restaurants offering meal delivery - directly to your apartment door. The innovative design of the building allows access both from George Street and Campbell Street plus easy access through the building via our pedestrian link to Cunningham Street - connecting you directly to World Square & beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Meriton, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.