We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & clean, fresh, modern apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #2 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Haslemere
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good location & clean, fresh, modern apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival. Apartment had all we wanted as it was modern, clean, well equipped, comfy bed and a central location. Also, quiet with a no smoking, no parties rule. TV in kitchen/lounge and a second in bedroom and free low speed internet, but we didn't notice it as low speed.
10 min walk from Central Station (pulling suitcases, as pretty flat) meant an easy & cheap train transfer from airport (30 mins door to door).

Room Tip: Statiing the obvious, the higher the floor the better as quieter and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Pete_Gill_Haslem,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us.

It is nice to read our apartments met your expectation. As you have mentioned, we have a no party policy which is strictly enforced. This is obviously in the interests of providing all our guests a restful night sleep allowing our guests to get the most out of their time in Sydney.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,643
    489
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
236
1183
168
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our 4 night stay at the Meriton on Campbell St was the cherry on the cake of the last leg of our stay in Australia. Excellent location, close to reasonably priced eateries (especially if you're into Thai/Chinese/Malaysian), very sleek, modern decor, & very clean. We felt very safe (not that the area was of this Meriton was bad, in fact it's in the heart of eveything) but it was reassuring to have controlled access to our floor & the pool area using our key cards.

The front desk is so professional, helpful, & accommodating but not over bearing. We had a noise issue with the guest above us on the 2nd night of our stay (no fault of the Meriton of course) and front desk personnel Tyson Leaf promptly (and smoothly) moved us to a quieter location with spectacular views. He was so polite, professional, understanding with a touch of good humor. Truly a delightful person and an absolute asset to the Meriton. We would definitely return & will wholeheartedly recommend the Meriton on Campbell St. to our friends, family & colleagues.

TIPS: 1) Stay here! 2) Stay on the higher floors (in the high 20's) 3) ask for a view & get a balcony floor 4) Ask for front desk personnel, Tyson Leaf. He's your AWESOME go to guy! 5) Eat @ "At Bangkok" restaurant across the street from the Meriton (awesome, authentic Thai food) 6) See the Sydney Opera House 7) Go to the Taronga Zoo

Room Tip: Stay on higher floors & ask for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Olibear24,

Well.... What a wonderful review.

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your time with us. Our guests safety and security is paramount, hence the secure points.
I was very happy to read your outstanding comments about Tyson. He is a pleasure to work with and as you have mentioned a real asset to our company. I will be sure to pass on your praise.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff were great and let me check in early after a long flight. The unit had microwave, stove, refrigerator and washer and dryer in the unit. The unit was clean, modern and comfortable.
Just a few blocks from Central Station and Town Hall Station. Located in Chinatown and a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Free Wi-Fi, pool, spa and sauna. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1008 which was against a courtyard, not the street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear enzfrnz,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is nice to read our team were able to accommodate your early arrival. This isn't always available, but our team with always endeavour to assist where possible.

I am happy you found the apartment clean, modern and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent three weeks here from 15 Feb to 7 March 2013. I was here for work so I did not think too hard about restaurants and entertainment when planning. However, this turned out to be be my all time best away-from-home work experience. It was great to have my own kitchenette so I did not have to eat out all the time, especially at breakfast. I much preferred it to a hotel. The location was lovely: a previous reviewer described it as "gritty"; absolutely not true. The place itself is luxurious and the restaurants around are far from gritty, they are excellent. There are numerous pharmacists, shops, liquor stores and restaurants around. Darling Harbour is a 10 minute walk and Circular Quay is ready accessible by buses. Central station is a few minutes walk away. The gym is good, the views are spectacular, the staff is great and the cleanliness is outstanding.

Room Tip: Floors 30 and above have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear PrakashP494,

Thank you for such a glowing review.

We certainly aim to provide a home away from home environment for our guests and this is particularly important for a traveller like yourself being away from home for an extended period. I was thrilled to read this has been your best trip away.

It looks like the fully equipped apartment, location and wonderful staff were the highlights of your trip.

We look forward to seeing you again next visit.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights in Feb. We stayed on the 30th floor, the view is spectacular. The room is spacious. We love the open concept of the kitchen and has been enjoying our breakfast every moning at the balcony. There is free WiFi in the room and surprised to find even Italian channel on the TV. The washer and dryer with compliment detergent makes our stay even more comfortable. Across the road is Starbucks where we can still have our morning espresso like home. The free shuttle bus stop that goes around the main sight seeing points is less than 5 minutes from walking. The Central Station is close by and we can take the train to explore outside the city. We joined a daily free tour of the city and the meeting point is just walking distance. Outside the hotel to the right is a Thai massage place where they give you an honest and reasonable massage. If you like Japanese food the Umi Kaiten-Zushi is 5 minutes walk away at Pitt St (corner of Hay and Parket); If you like Chinese and seafood, the Hingara at Dixon Street, Haymarket is very good and reasonable. We are Catholic and the Roman Catholic Church is 2 minutes walk way and the church is beautiful. Since it was Chinese New Year, there were lots of celebration around the area. We completely enjoyed our stay at this location and if we have to come back, we will certainly stay here again.

I agree with one of the previous comments that the pillow are a bit too high. Having said that everybody has their own preference. When I saw that comment, I brought my own pillow so that really helps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked the Meriton on Campbell street after reading a few of the review here on TA, we also compaired it to a lot of other places as it is far from the cheapest place to stay.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to base oursleves for our Sydney stay, being right in the heart of China town allowed us to take a leasurly walk each night and check out the many places to eat, of which we never had a bad meal.
And being right across the road from the Capitol theartre was a bonus.

The coffee shop next door to the Meriton served one of the best coffees that we had during our stay, although their breakfast was ok.

The appartment was so quiet that we asked if there was anyone else on our floor, it turned out that the place was fully booked (Mardi Gras weekend).

Do yourself a favour, if your looking for a quiet, well setup place, within walking distanec to everthing, including the harbours, then you really can't go past the Meriton, well worth paying the extra money for.

Gary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location. A bit expensive but totally worth it. All the amenities of a Hotel, but like being at home. Very spacious. Full kitchen and laundry. Very attentive and professioanl staff (thanks Lorainne!!!). Grocery store a block away (1 block north on George, at a huge shopping center). Very conveniently located to the Train Station (if you flight into Sydney and do not have a very heavy suitcase, you can take the train from the Airport to the Central Station and walk to the Hotel. There are also free buses during the day that will drop you in the corner of the Hotel (Campbell and George) from the train station. Starbucks accorss the street. Grayline pick up nearby (for those day tours you may want to take). Sydney is a fascinating city and there is sooo much to do you will probably be on your feet all day long. Tha'ts when having a room at the Meriton comes handy. Very clean, quiet, safe and centrally located. You'll be glad you stayed there. Enjoy!!!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Address: 4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street offers both corporate and leisure travellers, superior choice at the Southern end of Sydney city, railway square, Haymarket and other nearby surrounding areas. Positioned opposite the Capitol Theatre and just moments away from China Town, Paddy’s Markets, the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central railway station, the University of Technology Sydney and Broadway. The self contained apartments are built over 39 levels and offer 247 luxury apartments including Studio, Cube and 1 bedroom configurations. Guest facilities include indoor heated 20m lap pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium boasting the latest fitness equipment. Our guests have the added convenience of a large selection of local restaurants offering meal delivery - directly to your apartment door. The innovative design of the building allows access both from George Street and Campbell Street plus easy access through the building via our pedestrian link to Cunningham Street - connecting you directly to World Square & beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Meriton, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.