We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A few days in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

From the outside the apartments do not look that great but inside the main door it all changes . The decor is smart and all the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. Our studio apartment was on the 35th floor , had good facilities and was clean and tidy. We did have a problem with the air conditioning which was corrected within 30 mins and we also had a problem with the washing machine not working correctly. This was resolved the next day at the earliest opportunity. Room servicing was excellent. Position of the hotel with respect to the city and Darling harbour was good with easy access to transport links. The gym , pool and spa are on the 12th floor. The gym is fairly limited but the pool is a decent size for a swim if a little cool. We would definitely come back to these apartments in the future.

Room Tip: We did not use the breakfast or other food facilities as identified in the folder in the room so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for your review.

For a few days in Sydney, It is fantastic to see you made use of all facilities inside the hotel and also out. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and loved the surrounding area. I am also pleased that our staff were able to assist you with anything you required and the minor faults in your room that were resolved.

Steve B, on behalf of the team here at Meriton Campbell St, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    606
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
320
1,470
210
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid North Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I spent one week at the Meriton this February to encompass a holiday for his birthday and a visit to Soundwave Festival.
We found the staff to be wonderful and willing to help with any enquiry (including lending me a staff umbrella on a particularly nasty day). Maintenance work was being done on the lifts during our stay which became a little frustrating, as we were staying on the 36th floor, and at times only 1 or 2 of the 4 lifts were in service, however it barely detracted from our wonderful stay.

The location of this hotel, right on the corner of Campbell and George Streets (across the road from Capitol Square/Theatre) was absolutely perfect, all the innercity places we wished to visit were within a 30 minute walk or <$10 cab ride, and Central Station is a 5 minute walk away (particularly nice if you take the park route, rather than the path).

The appliances in the self-contained room were all excellent - the only thing missing is an oven (large fridge, stove, toaster, microwave, kettle and crockery/cutlery are all at your disposal, along with a great dishwasher - they even provide a water jug and 3 sizes of Tupperware containers for if there's leftovers after you cook!) and we also took advantage of our in-room laundry through the week - it was amazing to return home with only a few dirty items!

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in Sydney, particularly if you're staying a few days/nights - as well as many dining out options, you can lightly stock the fridge and just stay at home and make a simple meal or snack - certainly not something I've been able to do at any other premises I've stayed!

A+ Meriton

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear GBVeganTraveller,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay. I will pass your comments to our staff, as it is comments such as yours which motivate our team to continue to provide excellent service. As you mentioned, the apartments are fully equipped with everything you need. Unfortunately a small amount of apartments do not have ovens, but upon request when making the reservation we can allocate a room which has one included.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Campbell Street and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived a little early for Check in but that was alright as we were able to go buy some groceries at the Coles supermarket a short walk away. Check in went smoothly and our 1 Bedroom Apartment was spotless and spacious. It was a little farther to the major sights then expected but that was alright as the weather was beautiful and the walk was great and there was lots of history along the way. The apartment was always spotless upon our return from our outing. The bed was very comfortable. The view wasn't what we were hoping for but for the amount of time that we actually spent in the room it didn't really matter. Overall everything about it was excellent and would highly recommend it. Thanks Meriton for a great stay for our first time in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Lucy T,

Thank you for your fabulous review.

Our Apartments are located in the south of the CBD near China Town, which is close to Darling Harbour but as you mentioned some tourist attracts are a longer walk away. The next time you stay with us, why not take advantage of the free CBD shuttle bus number 555, which loops the city from Central to Circular Quay throughout the day.
Once again Lucy T, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our first time stay at the Meriton apartments . We had a studio on the 19th floor for four nights in February. We chose this chain because of the great reviews and the size of the room compared to other studios. We were not disappointed. Its a great place to stay and not surprised of the great reviews. Tyson was particularly helpful . If this is representative of the Meriton chain we would thoroughly recommend them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our Skyview room (3805) was bright, clean and comfortable and modern. Well-furnished with comfortable bed, nice kitchen area and flat screen TV in lounge and bedroom. I was pleased to note that there was a small amount of washing powder / dishwasher tabs etc provided.
Long balcony and floor-to-ceiling windows that ran the length of the apartment which provided a great view, although as it was facing south-ish, it was of the parts of Sydney that you'd be less interested in seeing! No view of the harbour or main downtown area. Still spectacular though and my son enjoyed watching the planes come into land at the airport.

The apartments are well-located next to George Street and the free shuttle bus which runs all the way down to Circular Quay. Chinatown just around the corner. Starbucks across the road if that's your thing and a 7-11 just nearby. Whole bunch of other shops, bars, restaurants and supermarkets in very easy walking distance. Central Station is about 5-10 mins away

On a less positive note, despite politely requesting a 'high' Skyview floor both at the time of initially booking and in two subsequent phone calls, my young son and I were given the lowest Skyview floor possible (Level 24) on check-in, whilst a couple who arrived at the same time were given an apartment on Level 37! I was pretty disappointed in this and, although the reception staff were both pleasant and polite, it was only after some 'pushing' and digging my heels in that they relented and agreed to find us an alternative room.

One other thing to note, the Meriton Campbell Street provides storage of your bags and access to the pool area / towels after check-out, which is a nice (if not unexpected) touch. Be warned though that there doesn't appear to be anywhere to change other than the toilets off of the pool area, which were obviously rather wet and unsuitable for changing / leaving bags in as there was nowhere to sit or hang anything up. There may well be proper changing rooms somewhere but we couldn't find them! :-)

These quibbles aside, the Campbell Street is an excellent choice for a trip to Sydney

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Davega2234,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

As you mentioned, the hotel is located in China Town, which means there is an abundance of restaurants and shops located throughout the area. Please accept my sincerest apologies in regards to you check in experience. I can assure you that this is un-characteristic of our staff and I have passed on your comments to ensure we always assist with any requests guests have as much as we can.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in was easy. Staff obliging. Room exceptional value. No view to speak of but it was clean, nicely appointed and quiet.
Check out was also very quick and easy.
No parking is the only issue however, guests are able to park at the Meriton Kent St or accross the road in the Campbell St car park, it is good but @ $60.00 per night it is almost the cost of the room.
We came to Meriton on a strong recommendation from our daughter who stays quite frequently.
We were certainly not disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on 11th level. Very quiet. Loked at the pool on level.10 looks very nice, maybe next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear kalyngra,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, Meriton Campbell Street does not have guest parking on-site. We recommend to our guests to park at Meriton Kent Street for a discounted rate of $35.00 over night, which is a short walk away in the CBD.

Thank you again, for choosing to stay with us and please pass on our thanks to your daughter for her returned service. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice apartments, well furnished. Excellent service from reception staff, especially Shaun. Location is 30 metres from George Street, although the far end of George Street if you want to be near Circular Quay or Town Hall. Coles supermarket a short walk away for food supplies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear mac75scotland,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments onto Shawn, as it is comments like yours which continue to motivate our staff to provide excellence in service.

Again mac75scotland, thank you for your comments and on behalf of the staff here at Meriton Campbell Street, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Address: 4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street offers both corporate and leisure travellers, superior choice at the Southern end of Sydney city, railway square, Haymarket and other nearby surrounding areas. Positioned opposite the Capitol Theatre and just moments away from China Town, Paddy’s Markets, the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central railway station, the University of Technology Sydney and Broadway. The self contained apartments are built over 39 levels and offer 247 luxury apartments including Studio, Cube and 1 bedroom configurations. Guest facilities include indoor heated 20m lap pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium boasting the latest fitness equipment. Our guests have the added convenience of a large selection of local restaurants offering meal delivery - directly to your apartment door. The innovative design of the building allows access both from George Street and Campbell Street plus easy access through the building via our pedestrian link to Cunningham Street - connecting you directly to World Square & beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Meriton, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.