We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Best Deal in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #2 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect! Best Deal in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a GREAT place.
Very clean (it's new). Nice staff, rooms were huge (we had a 1 bedroom). Full kitchen, washer and dryer. Lots of TV channels and taxi pickup right outside the building.

Right in the heart of Chinatown. Near buses and a few blocks from the train stop.

Nice heated lap pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear AngSeaWA,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

It is always a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests.
Im pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Meriton are now also on the Goldcoast and Brisbane as well as 8 locations across Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of your many locations sometime soon.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,671
    492
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
244
1193
171
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent location - walking distance to Chinatown, public transport.
A few doors away from one of Sydney's favourite cheap eats - Chat Thai.
Amazingly it was pretty quiet considering it was right in the heart of CBD. No noise coming from the traffic beneath.
Apartment smelled like new (only opened a year ago), and everything was pristinely clean. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment.
Downside - (1) bed was a tad too soft (not firm) (2) housekeeping did not replenish hand/bath soaps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear calendula1801,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location ideal.
We are located right in the heart of the action. An ideal springboard to dive into all Sydney has to offer.
I am also pleased you enjoyed your apartment. As you have mentioned they are brand new and offer all the creature comforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Pros: Very new, clean, modern and spacious, especially the bathroom, excellent kitchenette with dishwasher, full size fridge, microwave and even stove top. Great location, close to train stations, the free city shuttle and to shops, restaurants, cafes, etc. Service was pleasant, was offered an 11am checkout when asked which was nice*

Cons: Only very minor issues - the elevators are painfully slow, the shower head was a tiny water saving one with little to no pressure, was offered the later checkout yet we still had a knock on our door at 1030am asking what time we were checking out.

But overall would definitely stay again, great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Maddy255068,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like our apartments ticked just about all the boxes.

I am glad we able to assist with a later checkout also. Sometimes it is the little things that make a big difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our 11 locations in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhys Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The room was excellent.

The bed was so soft that the girl friend slept on the couch and I slept four hours a night and woke up screaming.

Our vacation was ruined.

I will not stay at Meriton.

They have received complaints and do nothing. The most horrible hotel experience in Asia.

Room Tip: Check to see if the bed sucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Kent B,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us, and found our beds uncomfortable. I would like to discuss this and your entire stay further with you. Would you please contact me via 'tripadvisor@meriton.net.au'

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Location's of utmost importance to me and this was located in an excellent location. It was in the city but along a street where traffic is not too crazy. We practically walked everywhere! One of the famous Thai restaurants, Chat Thai is located just a feet away from us.

It has an indoor swimming pool and gym facilities for anyone who wants to work out a sweat.

It also houses everything; from the dryer to the washing machine and it had all the appliances needed for one to whip up a feast (if required). Very chic and modern layout.

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear PiaoLee,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback and High reccommendation.

Location is everything and as you said you can walk everywhere from Meriton Campbell St. There is also a number of transport options right at our door step.
We are surrounded by some fantastic restaurants serving all kinds of cuisines.

Location coupled with brand new Chic apartments and friendly staff, your sure to enjoy a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Think outside the box while visiting Sydney. Enjoy the comforts of Meriton's Serviced Apartments instead of a cramped hotel room. The staff was helpful, the views spectacular, and the apartment spacious. The next time we're in Sydney, we're definitely staying at Campbell St.
There's even an airport shuttle available. Kudos to MSA and Tim Doyle for an outstanding property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear DEW03,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

It is always very rewarding to read such positive feedback.

Hotel accomodation has changed and Meriton have experienced first hand guests moving from the old style small hotel rooms to our Large apartments built for living.

I am thrilled we were able to tick all of your boxes and i'll be sure to pass on your praise to Tim.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our 11 locations in the near future.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The good:
- we had a cube apartment which was great and spacious and far better than a hotel room!
- gym facilities
- kitchen adequately stocked with utensils
- good selection on the telly
- location - for a short stay for tourists, it's not the perfect place, which for me would be closer to the harbour, but it's pretty damn good still, and still accessible. A longer walk down to the water with shops all the way. It is in the heart of china town and backpacker hostelville though. Still, good enough to be a plus point!

The bad:
- thought the housekeeping was lacking and they didn't do much in terms of replacing anything
- that little nugget of "$100 fine if you don't take out your trash on your last day" - luckily I had read someone mention it on Tripadvisor - as they make you sign their terms and conditions of which this is one - and then sneakily don't give you a copy to take away! And it's not displated anywhere else!! I think that is just a terrible way to try and make a bit of extra money on their part

The ugly:
- none

Would I recommend or stay again?
YES!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Wonder2006,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your Cube apartment, it certainly is a fantastic accomodation option compared with a regular hotel room.

Just to clarify, we do impose an extra cleaning charge should the apartment be left in an unexceptable condition. This is to cover the addition costs of cleaning.

General use of an apartment will not incur this charge.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
1888 Hotel - by 8Hotels
1888 Hotel - by 8Hotels
#3 of 182 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Luxury, Pool, C...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Free internet...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
0.5 mi away
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 182 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
City Center, Qu...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#17 of 182 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Address: 4 - 10 Campbell Street | (corner of George Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street offers both corporate and leisure travellers, superior choice at the Southern end of Sydney city, railway square, Haymarket and other nearby surrounding areas. Positioned opposite the Capitol Theatre and just moments away from China Town, Paddy’s Markets, the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central railway station, the University of Technology Sydney and Broadway. The self contained apartments are built over 39 levels and offer 247 luxury apartments including Studio, Cube and 1 bedroom configurations. Guest facilities include indoor heated 20m lap pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium boasting the latest fitness equipment. Our guests have the added convenience of a large selection of local restaurants offering meal delivery - directly to your apartment door. The innovative design of the building allows access both from George Street and Campbell Street plus easy access through the building via our pedestrian link to Cunningham Street - connecting you directly to World Square & beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Meriton, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.