We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney harbour and surrounding area sunset flight - Oct 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky Helicopters

Blue Sky Helicopters
462 Ross Smith Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2020, Australia
+612 9700 7888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 415 Activities in Sydney
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sydney Airport's longest established & only locally owned helicopter company. Our mission is to bring the beauty of Sydney and its magnificent surrounds to you in safety and comfort.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sydney harbour and surrounding area sunset flight - Oct 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Amazing experience and top notch service!!

For the last night of our honeymoon we had a Sydney harbour tour sunset tour.

We were picked up from our hotel as arranged and taxied to the airport, when we arrived at the airport we were met and welcomed in by Mark, the pilot and owner and his lovely wife.

After completing safety procedures and having all our questions answered we made our way to the helicopter for the tour. After having been in Sydney for 10 days, seeing it from the air put a completely different perspective on this amazing city.

The tour wasn't just about the sights though, Mark 'the oracle' explained to us the history of many of the local landmarks, the geography of the area and some anecdotal information about aviation.

And if all this wasn't enough information, in flight entertainment was also available ;-)

This was a fantastic way to spend our last evening in Sydney and will do it again if the opportunity arises.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best way to see Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Booked this tour as a surprise for my partner and it was worth every penny. Saw unbelievable views of Sydney, took some great photos and learnt about the surrounding suburbs from the informative driver. The team there were very friendly (incl. giving us a lift back to the station afterwards) and the helicopter itself felt very safe.

Couldn't fault the trip, would recommend to all.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience - Must do in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Amazing experience. A few friends had done it before me and strongly recommended to invest and do it as well. We did the 20-minutes flight above the harbor and eastern beaches. Great day and nice pilot!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cannot fault this fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was our first ever trip to Australia and our first visit to Sydney. We decided before we left the UK to book a trip on a helicopter and see this beautiful city from above. There were several websites/companies offering a trip but none were as comprehensive as Blue Sky Helicopters. As techies, we loved the idea our experience being recorded on HD from several cameras mounted on the aircraft. We booked the trip online on a private charter basis.

When the time came and arrived, we were warmly met and greeted by Mark and Philippe (our pilot). The flight was superb with fantastic unobstructive views both left, right and centre, with great commentary from Philippe about the City.

We came away so thrilled and like excitable school kids !!! The option to take away the HD recording was taken (you have to pay extra for this but well worth it).

Would we recommend Blue Sky to anyone wanting to see Sydney from a unique vantage point? Hell yes!!! Without a shadow of a doubt.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous experience – not to be missed, get booking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booking on line from England was easy and even when we had to change the date of our flight this was done straight away with everything being followed up by an email.
The flight was worth every penny, seeing Sydney from above was amazing and we were given a running commentary pointing out all the key sights and we fly along.
The flight was very smooth from take-off to landing which suited me as I don’t really like flying and am afraid of heights so I must admit the flight wasn't something I was really looking forward to. Saying that I would very definitely do it again if this experience was anything to go by.
All in all an A1 service and experience and something enjoyed by all five of the family

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Helicopters also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Blue Sky Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.