We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day out!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangarrific Hunter Valley Wine Tour

Kangarrific Hunter Valley Wine Tour
George St, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 431 894 471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 299 activities in Sydney
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: It's not only a wine tour, but a wildlife, chocolate, cheese, wine and beer tour! Try not only some amazing wines at small picturesque boutique wineries, but visit a chocolate factory, taste some local cheeses and visit a brewery. Our morning tea with kangaroos, koalas and other native animals is a very special experience too. Join us! Would love to have you along.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

On a long weekend to Sydney, we thought we'd do something different and go on a wine tour to the Hunter Valley. I looked at a number of options and was impressed by Kangarrific's reviews. Sam deserves every fabulous review he gets - it was an outstanding tour! First stop was an hour out of Sydney, presenting koalas and kangaroos, and for the brave, a python. Next a chocolate shop before the first boutique vineyard. A cheese tasting/lunch/wine tasting followed. Sam took preorders for lunch, which was very sensible and gave us more free time. We had the "Fire in the Hole" pizza which was wonderful, although it took the next few wines to calm the burning palate! We tasted at both Tempus Two and Meerea Park in the same complex - fantastic Shiraz at both! Our next wine tasting was let down by an awkward staff member, and Sam very kindly more than made it up by taking us to an unscheduled visit to Wynyards wines, where we had more tastings and were treated to an impromptu song by Tina (truly brilliant voice!). Final tasting was at a brewery - feeling a little out-wined by this point, so some beer was quite refreshing.
The vineyards and wine were outstanding, but the tour is made special by Sam, who looked after us so well. The carefully chosen music and jokes added to the experience. Thanks so much for such an awesome day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    19
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I would add more stars if possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great day! Great tour guides, great wineries, great tour group.
Stopping in the Australian Walkabout sanctuary was a great way to start the day, something different. This is not just about wine but an experience.
Great boutique wineries and recommendations on lunch (go the burgers!).
Could go on but reckon you should just book yourself a place and go.
I am not a wine drinker but bought a bottle at the first stop, there is something for everyone on this tour and is catered to the likes of those in the group as Sam sorts where to go after charting to us.
Sam is the best guide I've had the pleasure of, great day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best tour operator in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and Me, a couple of our 60s from Sydney, have visited Hunter Valley Winery to with Sam Collins, a founder of "Kanfarrific tours". We can not thank Sam enough for his outstanding service, great knowledge of wine industry, friendly manner and higly professional approach to his job.
For us he has done much more than expected from tour operator: he picked us up and back from location that differ from usual pick up point. It took him extra 20 min. of the driving and we noticed that he is happy to do it. We felt welcome and happy after the tour.
He is really pationate about wine indusry, have great knowledge of the Hunter Valler area. In addition to visting wineries, he organised visting cheese and chocolade factories .
Everything: his clean new car, music, his attitude have been very enjoyable.
Thank you, Sam

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great experience in Hunter Valley!!! Thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

With a friend we took this tour to visit Hunter Valley, and we are not disappointed the trip! Driver (Sam) was great, very friendly and very funny. Tastings were very good and the wine too. Between kangaroos, koalas, wine, cheese, chocolate and beer, the day was great! thank you again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we had a great day on this tour sam was a great tour guide /driver picked us up at yha at central station .our 1st stop was a wildlife park where we had fun we had a lot of choices for lunch tut tut is the choice for burgers sam pre orders for you so we toured hunters valley on a chocolate wine and smelly cheese shop tasting I think going through 4 vineyards before ending at potters house brewery resort for a beer tasting it was great day and the crowd we were with were fun sam was funny and gave us a lot of information about where we was going I would go again it was a great day

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangarrific Hunter Valley Wine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Kangarrific Hunter Valley Wine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangarrific Hunter Valley Wine Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kangarrific Hunter Valley Wine Tour to your Saves list