We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cut Bar and Grill

The Cut Bar and Grill
16 Argyle Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 5,158 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened in the last 6 months
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I had a night off from the little one and headed here for a Sunday Night Dinner.
Excellent and knowledgeable service, friendly and efficient.
Food was very, very good and we enjoyed having steaks cooked to our exact liking - which is not always the case even at very good restaurants!
Considering the wine we also ordered it was good value and the decor and ambience were perfect for winding down and relaxing. In a tourist area of Sydney but not really "touristy" at all.

Thumbs up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    100
    58
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb Sydney Tucker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I first ate here in June during a work visit. I was a walk-in with 2 colleagues, and they had no tables. What immediately impressed me about the staff, is that they provided the option to wait at the bar OR even eat in the corner of the bar. This is what we did. We had some great meals, right next to the bar and so had a great combination of alcohol injection and delicious food.
The Bar and Grill is downstairs, and has a dark but very pleasant ambience. Staff were attentive, and accomodated for gluten free options including bread for the starter plate.
On my second visit I came in and purposefully sat at the bar again this time with my wife. We drank a few glasses of wine, had a share plate of shaved meats, enjoyed great barracuda and steak meals, and left with full bellies and a relaxed enjoyable night.
It is worth visiting this great bar and grill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great steak awful waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My family came here last month and had fantastic service, so must be me, but this time the waiter could not have been more arrogant and inefficient. We had to ask for drinks each time, plates weren't cleared and he only seemed keen to know what his tip was at the end. Shame as the food was great, the slow cooked roast in particular. The fries were cold, overcooked and disappointing and the hash a little overpowering as an accompaniment with beef.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good quality choice on the Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having struggled to decide where our party of six was going to dine, we were welcomed to The Cut Bar & Grill with welcome arms and an engaging smile despite no booking, and it being reasonably late.

Some members of our group had flown internationally and were not up for too much experimentation with the wine selection, but thankfully they had plenty of variety by the glass.

The food was presented with care, and of high quality, and despite initial food envy, the whole party left thoroughly impressed.

Because we were late, there weren't too many other diners left in the restaurant, and have decided to return at a more reasonable hour to enjoy a busy atmosphere as the setting was lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top Quality Australian Steak and Beef restaurant on The Rocks in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had some Rock Oysters which were very small but tasty and a top notch Tasmanian grass fed
Blue New York cut Sirloin steak
In this classy but overpriced restaurant in Sydney

The steak was as good as any I have had outside Argentina or Uruguay and and the Tasmanian cab Sav was an excellent choice with this very tender piece of beef. The service was excellent with very good waiters who knew their wines. The Stony Vinyard wines
Are excellent but at 19 Aud a glass took the edge off the value of the meal. There are hundreds of good Oz wines and I consider it greedy to charge si much when I just asked for a glass of cab Sav. I will check the price next time . The rents are high on the Rocks so one must I suppose expect high prices. Water is 10 Aussie dollar a bottle
Something I hate !

Had i been able to get a rare cut I would have had the Rib of Wagu beef from the trolley which looked succulent and is highly rated. The Tasmanian Sirloin was however top drawer

This is a top class atmosheric restaurant with great beef and an excellent but expensive wine list. South African wine is just as good if not better for a third of the price but the rent in Cape Town or Buenos Ares is I suppose a lot less than Sydney

Having said that I would return and buy less expensive wine and no water !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cut Bar and Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Cut Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cut Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.