We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swagman's Post Courtyard Cafe

Swagman's Post Courtyard Cafe
35 George Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Chinatown)
(02) 9241 5557
Improve this listing
Ranked #355 of 5,321 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a really great breakfast at the swagmans, with great service. Their juice was freshly made and all of the food homemade and tastet really good. They also knew how to make a propper Latte. Can highly recommend to go there and sit ind the courtyard.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great escape place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stumbled on this cafe a few months back on a weekend trip to Sydney - and we're surprised by the large outdoor area at the back. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's a perfect place to sit and enjoy after a busy day! Yes, the pigeons can be annoying (although we were amused today when one of the staff offered a bounty to our boys if they could catch two).
We've found the staff to be very welcoming, often the waiters are backpackers, but seem keen and try hard.
Good place to catch your breath!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
498 reviews 498 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
“Fantastic banana choc cake, but so-so burghers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went there for lunch on a Sunday. The front portion, which faces the Sunday market, was crowded and suitable for people watching. There was ample seating at the back courtyard, which was quiet and peaceful, except for the pigeons, which fluttered to the tables in search of food, as well as their droppings. We ordered the burger, which I found to be a little too sweet and without much meat. But the banana cake with the chocolate topping - we were told that is a new item on the menu - was fabulous. You must try it. Prices are slightly on the high side, but that is par for the course at the Rocks. Service was relatively fast and efficient. A good place to recharge your batteries after a morning's stroll.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Seriously tacky touristy named; honestly surely they could have come up with something less kitsch.

But that aside, it is a nice place to stop for a herbal tea and coconut toast in the morning, as the courtyard offers a peaceful oasis from city life.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Their courtyard is a peaceful oasis in The Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stopped here for coffees and cakes with friends after a long day of exploring the area. It was afternoon and the courtyard was a peaceful oasis away from all the hustle and bustle of The Rocks. We sat and chatted and enjoyed our food and drinks and really didn't want to leave we were so relaxed. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swagman's Post Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Swagman's Post Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagman's Post Courtyard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.