We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in A Lively Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in A Lively Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We wanted lively and thats what we got - Loved it.
Spacious and comfortable room, no view, but we did NOT go for the view.
The location was ideal, with nice bars across the road and restaurants just a few metres away.
Metro station in the next street and explorer bus stop immediately outside the station too. We used both to get the the Harbour.
On the Saturday night the street outside the hotel is fenced off due to the volume of clubbers, people watching is a must :-)
DO NOT HIRE A CAR, city parking is extortionate to say the least. Even with hotel discount it cost $25 to park over night, we returned the car the very next day.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street if you want to sleep, but don't then complain about lack of view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    243
    69
    6
    10
See reviews for
23
206
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

At first I was a bit unsure whether the location was safe since it is in Kings Cross area, but since I didn't venture out late at night, the area was actually not as bad as I thought. For the price (SGD$110 via agoda), it's value-for-money for a hotel in Sydney.

The hotel is located just a street away from Kings Cross station, there's a lot of restaurants and cafes too. There's even Coles at the corner of the street for your groceries/snacks. The hop on hop off bus stop is also located near the train station, so it's very convenient if you plan to take it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.Room was clean, the bed was comfortable (double size). They have complimentary toiletries. Air dryer, electric kettle are also available. The room given to me was on the 5th floor, but the lift is only up to the 4th floor, so you need to take the stairs up... but thankfully since I'm on the top floor, there wasn't much noise from outside.

Free WIFI was also available as part of the hotel voucher I bought in agoda.

All in all, I will definitely recommend this hotel if you're on a budget and will stay again when I revisit Sydney in the future.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, take up the rooms on 4th or 5th, not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was very clean, had very friendly staff and the middle of a great atmospheric town. We only needed a hotel for 2 days whilst travelling and it fitted the criteria. The staff were very good at giving us a variety of information and had brilliant maps that we used. Lots of facilities such as a gym and internet use. There is parking BUT you do have to pay $25 for 24 hours where it would usually cost over double that. However, I found parking in Sydney generally expensive anyway! We had clicked the 'no room keeping' on booking.com, which we were unaware of. It did not matter for such a short stay, however they were still able to give us fresh towels. I recommend this hotel in the heart of Kings Cross.

Room Tip: We were told the rooms that had a 'building view' were the quietest but we wanted a view so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Depressing and dark room. Very small.
No view: facing depressing wall and not soundproof rooms... I could hear a couple going at it all night which was a very sleepless night for me. Uncomfortable bed and the hairs dryer in my room did not work. Poorly maintained rooms.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Buses and taxis at the door, KingsX station 2 minutes away, great restaurants - sensational location.
Room and bathroom very clean and comfortable with a 'tropical downpour' showerhead! Good 'aircon' heating and cooling and, free wi-fi! Good price for a 2 night stay as well! I'll be back.

Room Tip: The 3rd level south facing room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Clean room , friendly staff and great position.
Very small bathroom and room was dark so needed all lights on during daytime.
Loud music coming from the cross was a bit annoying.
That happened on the Sunday night but not the Monday.
Close to railway station.

Room Tip: Ask for room with natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This Hotel is good value for money, great location, train station only minutes away. The room we stayed in was quite compact, but we knew that upfront. Considering, the design was great and every inch of space well allocated. The room was clean and the staff at reception nice. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back of the hotel, it is quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.