We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Welcoming and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Bayswater hotel is conveniently located, very close to Kings Cross train station. People at the reception are very helpful. On arrival, we found out we were upgraded to a suite which of course is more spacious than the standard room we had reserved. So it was very comfortable. Excellent king size bed. Only inconvenience: the bed is so closed to the bathroom sliding door that it is impossible to go to the bathroom during the night without waking up one's partner when putting the light on since the switch is outside the bathroom. The sliding door to the bathroom also makes a noise.
Speaking of noise, we were there on a Saturday night and Kings Cross being the entertainment center of Sidney, there was a great deal of noise until late in the night. A room in the back might have been quieter. Sunday night was definitely much quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, especially on week-ends..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. And thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, where we have the best rates on the web and no booking fees!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the extra space of our Executive King Suite as part of your complimentary upgrade. From time to time we make mistakes, but the plus side of them is that the odd guest receives a free upgrade as a result. Sorry to hear you found the bathroom light situation a bit annoying during the night, I hope this didn't detract too much from your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    242
    69
    6
    10
See reviews for
23
205
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great value, accommodations are really good for the price, and transportation access can't be exceeded.

Location is in Potts Point, close to metro station, nearby services, restaurants, grocery.

The hotel was completely renovated within the last 5 years. Rooms are unique in their layout. Somewhat small, especially the bathrooms, but having everything you need and somewhat upscale. Definitely a good value for the money. They do have laundry facilities for the guests, but did not use them so can't opine as to suitability or cost. Many restaurants are steps away, and a very good full service grocery store is a half a block. Not much in the way of amenities, but does have a business lounge where computer access is available, but there are only two, so time is limited.

noise in the rooms can be a problem. There is a conspicuous lack of soundproofing room to room, so sometimes your neighbors wants and desires are all to evident. Outside noise from street from bar patrons can be disturbing. Even rooms in the back of hotel away from the street are impacted by the noise going on until 4-5am in the morning.

Room Tip: get a back room if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. And thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, where we have the best rates on the web and no booking fees!

We're very happy to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at The Bayswater Sydney. Kings Cross certainly is not the quietest of areas, but we think the exciting attractions of the area in terms of bars, cafes and restaurants make up for the noise!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location as everyone has said with a stones throw away from Kings Cross Station. Due to the area and the clubs around there the noise levels are very high. I woke at least once in the night each night I stayed there (3 nights) due to the noise (I'm usually a very heavy sleeper too). But it's what you expect being where it is.

The hotel itself is very clean, friendly staff - coffee shops, bars and a supermarkets all on your doorstep. Our room faced an apartment so we had the keep the blinds down the whole time which was a bit of a shame. But all in all we were very happy with the place!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you are going to struggle with a good night sleep. I advise steering clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. And thank you for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you found the location of the hotel convenient. Of course, we do have rooms that don't look onto any walls or other apartments, the Executive King Suites which are at the front of the building, I would recommend booking these if you're after a bit of an outlook from your room the next time you stay.

Sydney is certainly not the quietest city, so I hope the noise was not too much of an issue for you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although this hotel is advertised on some sites as in Potts Point, it is situated right in the heart of lively but noisy Kings Cross. The rooms are quite small, but clean, well maintained and comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights in the middle part of the week, so were not as badly effected by the noise of the various pubs and night clubs kicking out as we would have been at the weekend. However it was still very noisy and its hard to imagine how bad it could get at weekends. Our room did not have a safe, which was a concern, although the main doors were locked at night, with entrance only via the night porter.

End of the negatives. The hotel is in a good position for Kings Cross station and is on a regular bus route. The hotel provides free internet access in the communial lounge as well as limited cooking facilities i.e. a toaster and micro wave. The reception staff were very helpful and totally honest about the noise situation.

Room Tip: If you turn left outside of the entrance of the hotel and walk towards the traffic lights, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney.

Kings Cross and Potts Point are very much known to locals as the same area. They both spill into each other. We do mention in every online description that The Bayswater Sydney is located in the heart of Kings Cross. We're very open and honest with our location, as we believe it's a plus, with so much to see and do close by.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed two nights and very happy with this hotel. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is good, considering that it is a boutique hotel, but the shower door is not working well and the lamp shade is broken. It would be nicer if there is some shelf space in the bathroom for guests to place their toiletries. The public computers at the lounge work well. On the whole, quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms on Bayswater Road side are noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to see you booked direct through our very easy to use, Sydney Lodges website.

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Sorry about the shower door and lamp. These things are meant to be reported by housekeeping to the front desk so we can make a maintenance log for them, grrr :)

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with lots of bars, clubs and restaurants nearby. However, with that comes noise, and you can't have it both ways. Our room was on the small side but adequate and the bed was comfy. The view directly into an adjacent apartment was not so great, but that's inner city Sydney for you. The bathroom is TINY. I'm not large by any stretch, and even I felt it claustrophobic. There is barely any room in the shower to move and wash, but again, this is not a deal breaker. What is however, is the horrible creaking floors. Whenever you walk over them, they creak so loudly that it wakes everybody up. The lift is also outrageously slow and it is literally faster to walk up 3-4 floors than it is to wait for it to arrive and get you to your floor. During our stay, there was quite a heavy downpour and I was shocked to see water leaking through the lights in the reception area. A small bucket was placed underneath, but I was genuinely concerned about being electrocuted, as the light was still working. Other than that, you get what you pay for, and you could do a whole lot worse than this place. If you get a good rate, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view (if they exist). Our was on the western side, next to a residential apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to see you booked direct through our very easy to use, Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us. Of course, we do have larger rooms than the Small Double Rooms and King Standards, the King Deluxe and even Executive King Suites are quite spacious, I would definitely recommend booking one of these for your next stay. Sorry about the floor in your room, this is an isolated issue and we're having it looked at. We absolutely had a major plumbing issue in what can only be described as a small cyclone that passed through Sydney. I can assure you this does not happen regularly.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Hill
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel was an excellent price, in a spot that was very close to restaurants and nightlife. The hotel had character and was nice and clean. The staff were most helpful and pleasant. Offered free WiFi, which was excellent, as we didn't bring a laptop. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you dont like any street noise ask for a room at the rear. Was not very noisy at the front thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to see you booked direct through our very easy to use, Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right! We're so happy to hear you had a great stay and got to experience our talented team and free internet in the lobby on the computer terminals.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.