We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The boutique hotels I have tried so far have all turned out to be friendly, small, elegant and well located. This one is not an exception. Yes, the rooms are a bit small and you might need to use the bed to open the suitcase on, but if you are not planning on staying a lot in the room, it is not a big problem. The details and style of the room, bathroom and lobby areas are thorough. The staff very friendly and service oriented. The only drawback for me was the total lack of any view out of the window, as I saw straight into a wall one meter away on the other side.

The location is great, smack in the middle of a district with eating places, delis, and a five minutes walk from the train station. Guests can also use a gym which is open 24 hours a day, not far from the hotel (I never did).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to see you booked direct through our very easy to use, Sydney Lodges website.

It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course, we do have larger Executive King Suite rooms which do have a view from the window. I would definitely recommend booking one of these for your next visit. They're very popular so I apologise if they were booked out at the time you reserved your room.

We're glad you found the location convenient!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    220
    65
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
188
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The customer service at this hotel is excellent - from a question I called about before making my booking, to checkin - they are very friendly and accommodating here. I stayed in a King Standard room (412) and it was very nice and a great price. Close to public transport (Kings Cross Station) and a nice walk to Oxford Street and Surry Hills for dinner one night, and a 15 minute walk down to the Quay.

Only downside of the room (and it was very hard to find one) was in the morning around 7am, was a cigarette smell coming from the air-conditioning/heating unit which I ended up turning off. I'm not sure if this is because the air intake things are located in a common area where people outside take a smoke break, but other than that, everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to see you booked direct through our very easy to use, Sydney Lodges website.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found The Bayswater Sydney to be great value. We pride ourselves on excellence in customer service, so we're very happy to hear you experienced this before and during your stay.

I'm surprised to hear your air-conditioner was projecting a smoke smell into the room, as The Bayswater Sydney is completely non-smoking. I've passed these comments over to the hotel manager so that we can investigate this a little further. We've honestly, never had a complaint about this. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is my second visit to The Bayswater, and it was just as lovely as my first. The rooms are clean, tidy, and partly refurbished with modern fittings, and elegant nuances. The mattresses are super comfy, and the pillows as well, which is a big thing in hotels... The staff are beyond helpful and friendly, and the hotel is within such close walking range of Coles, Kings Cross station and just about everything Kings Cross has to offer.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Book a suite. You'll want the extra room. Room 203 has an awesome view of the street, and grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. Thank you for also booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right! We also love it when a guest returns because we got it so right the first time! There really is no better compliment than a returning guest.

Thank you for leaving your very kind words on Tripadvisor so that future travellers and guests can make better travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night and it was great. We went straight to the hotel when we landed in Sydney, its not far from the airport. After flying from Scotland we were really tired and as we arrived early in the morning we were too early to check in. However the hotel staff advised us we could wait in the lobby which has nice comfy couches and computers with internet access. After a short wait they let us check into our room early. The room was spotless, perfect size for 2 people, not too small. The bed was so comfy that a nap turned into a 6 hour sleep! We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to anyone!
;-D

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the most affordable and easiest way to book!

We're glad you had a comfortable stopover in Sydney at our hotel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before we flew out of Sydney. The hotel is very clean and tidy. Our room although small was very well appointed. There was free use of a pc with Internet in the communal area which was handy for checking in online etc.

The local area was lively and there was a good choice of places to eat.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the most affordable and easiest way to book!

It sounds like you had a very quick and easy, yet comfortable stay at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the free internet terminal in the departure lounge. We don't think you should have to pay to check in to your flight!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Guest feedback is so important to us and future travellers, we appreciate you making the effort to leave your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Im a local (less than 5km) & stayed at the Bayswater on a girls night out last week.
I was delighted to book directly with the hotel & the lovely David on reception. Not only was it cheaper but he gave us an upgrade to the exec suite.
When we arrived check in was really fast & the receptionist (? Neico) was wonderfully polite & professional.
The hotel is clean & quiet, our room was great with plenty of space to hangout. It had all the usual amenities of tea & coffee, small bar fridge, hairdryer, ironing facilities & tv / radio alarm etc.
We had arranged a late checkout for a fee of $24 but didn't need it - surprisingly this wasn't an issue & so didn't have to pay.
The hotel is just around the corner from the main drag & is well lit & safe to walk down with multiple little cafes / restaurants / bars less than 2 minutes walk. Coles is 50 feet away & open late.
it can be noisy outside & despite the oversized window there is no view........ but this is Kings Cross people not Darling harbour or the Hunter Valley.
My only complaint is that the radio alarm clock went off at 6am which was annoying but not as annoying as the alarm clock in the vacant room next door which went off at 5am. So maybe the hotel's cleaners should ensure clocks are reset after people check out as part of their routine. Yep, thats my only whinge!!!
The decor is modern, unique & pleasant.
I think that The Bayswater is a wonderful little hotel. Staff are as polite/ professional / helpful as any large hotel. Clean & mostly quiet. Public transport & food, bars, groceries, bottle shops very close by & safe carparking only 5 minutes away ($20 for 24hrs with hotel voucher). The price is unbeatable & great value.
I shall be recommending this to all my friends in the future....... well done owner, your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: exec suite is great for space & still affordable. Front facing room can be noisy from outside bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us over the phone, certainly one of the most hassle free ways to book.

We're so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely make sure David and Neco see your review to let them know what a great job they're doing.

Sorry to hear about the alarm trouble. You make a very good point and unfortunately for you, your story is the exact reason these should be checked. I have passed this on the hotel manager so that we can implement this into our housekeeping procedure. Thank you for letting us know about this.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we and future travellers get a lot of hearing from past guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next girls night out. We hope you had fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were very lucky to book our first hotel on our Australian holiday in Kings Cross. The Bayswater Sydney is a boutique hotel situated within walking distance of many main attractions: the opera house, the museum. chinatown, tour buses, train station, the Manly ferry, the Rock etc. It can be very busy at night because it is in the heart of a night life area. We were completely happy with our stay. The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly. You have access to free computers and printers. There is a communal area with fridge, toaster etc. to help with easy breakfasts. We were so pleased with our stay that when we returned at the end of our trip we chose to stay there again. If you are looking for a safe, clean, reasonable hotel with excellent service, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter rooms as the front street is a busy place. Check on the size of the room as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us over the phone, certainly one of the most hassle free ways to book.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're very happy to hear you found the team friendly and location of the hotel convenient.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we and future travellers get a lot of hearing from past guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.