We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Kings Cross)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Chester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before we flew out of Sydney. The hotel is very clean and tidy. Our room although small was very well appointed. There was free use of a pc with Internet in the communal area which was handy for checking in online etc.

The local area was lively and there was a good choice of places to eat.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillyteethelvisandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the most affordable and easiest way to book!

It sounds like you had a very quick and easy, yet comfortable stay at The Bayswater Sydney. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the free internet terminal in the departure lounge. We don't think you should have to pay to check in to your flight!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Guest feedback is so important to us and future travellers, we appreciate you making the effort to leave your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Im a local (less than 5km) & stayed at the Bayswater on a girls night out last week.
I was delighted to book directly with the hotel & the lovely David on reception. Not only was it cheaper but he gave us an upgrade to the exec suite.
When we arrived check in was really fast & the receptionist (? Neico) was wonderfully polite & professional.
The hotel is clean & quiet, our room was great with plenty of space to hangout. It had all the usual amenities of tea & coffee, small bar fridge, hairdryer, ironing facilities & tv / radio alarm etc.
We had arranged a late checkout for a fee of $24 but didn't need it - surprisingly this wasn't an issue & so didn't have to pay.
The hotel is just around the corner from the main drag & is well lit & safe to walk down with multiple little cafes / restaurants / bars less than 2 minutes walk. Coles is 50 feet away & open late.
it can be noisy outside & despite the oversized window there is no view........ but this is Kings Cross people not Darling harbour or the Hunter Valley.
My only complaint is that the radio alarm clock went off at 6am which was annoying but not as annoying as the alarm clock in the vacant room next door which went off at 5am. So maybe the hotel's cleaners should ensure clocks are reset after people check out as part of their routine. Yep, thats my only whinge!!!
The decor is modern, unique & pleasant.
I think that The Bayswater is a wonderful little hotel. Staff are as polite/ professional / helpful as any large hotel. Clean & mostly quiet. Public transport & food, bars, groceries, bottle shops very close by & safe carparking only 5 minutes away ($20 for 24hrs with hotel voucher). The price is unbeatable & great value.
I shall be recommending this to all my friends in the future....... well done owner, your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: exec suite is great for space & still affordable. Front facing room can be noisy from outside bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us over the phone, certainly one of the most hassle free ways to book.

We're so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely make sure David and Neco see your review to let them know what a great job they're doing.

Sorry to hear about the alarm trouble. You make a very good point and unfortunately for you, your story is the exact reason these should be checked. I have passed this on the hotel manager so that we can implement this into our housekeeping procedure. Thank you for letting us know about this.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we and future travellers get a lot of hearing from past guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next girls night out. We hope you had fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were very lucky to book our first hotel on our Australian holiday in Kings Cross. The Bayswater Sydney is a boutique hotel situated within walking distance of many main attractions: the opera house, the museum. chinatown, tour buses, train station, the Manly ferry, the Rock etc. It can be very busy at night because it is in the heart of a night life area. We were completely happy with our stay. The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly. You have access to free computers and printers. There is a communal area with fridge, toaster etc. to help with easy breakfasts. We were so pleased with our stay that when we returned at the end of our trip we chose to stay there again. If you are looking for a safe, clean, reasonable hotel with excellent service, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter rooms as the front street is a busy place. Check on the size of the room as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was booked in here by the company I am working for. Checked in around 10pm on 21 January. Neco on the desk was very nice. Cannot say the same for King Standard Room 404. Pros: Aircon works, soft pillows. Cons: To even think of swinging a cat in this room would be folly of the grossest kind. The 'king bed' is in fact 2 separate mattresses. The bathroom is so tiny you bark your shins on the undercarriage of the basin when using the loo. A tall person would have to sit sidesaddle. I attempted to put the hotel soap on the soap tray in the shower, which promptly crashed to the floor. Had to remove the ironing board from the cupboard to hang my clothes. Other delights include stained carpet, smell of dust & mould, creaky & spongy floorboard near bathroom (perhaps the result of the flooding evidenced by the stained carpet), not enough power points near desk (had to disconnect lamp & clock to plug in laptop & charger, window wouldn't open, no shelf for toiletries in bathroom, dim lights with dead bugs in the ceiling shades, bitten on the face by some bug during the night. Cheap but awful, and not a patch on the Diamant just around the corner.

On the upside, the following morning, after bitterly complaining to the very helpful David on the desk, I was upgraded to a larger room free of charge. Will report more fully after the end of my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tortoise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney.

Wow, your stay with us sounds absolutely terrible. Of course, you did book one of our King Standards which is a 14 square metre room and clearly states this on the website you booked through. I'm sorry you expected the room to be bigger on your arrival at the hotel. I would definitely recommend booking an Executive King Suite or King Deluxe room next time, especially if size is an issue for you.

I'm sorry for the dirty light shade, I have passed this on to the hotel manager. There is no excuse for this and I'm sorry you had to endure this shortfall of ours.

Sometimes you just can't please people. I'm sorry we couldn't live up to your expectations. As you can see everyone else on Tripadvisor loves The Bayswater Sydney, I'm very sorry to hear you didn't.

We look forward to hearing more about your stay when you depart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When I checked in I was upgraded from a Delux King to an Executive Suite - fantastic!!! The bed was massive and VERY comfortable! There was a lounge area with sofa, desk & wardrobe. The deco is modern and welcoming. The bathroom was small and basic, but very clean.
I was lo greatly of having and ironing board and iron In the wardrobe!

I had a big window overlooking the street. The blinds on the window were really good and made the room really dark (made it even harder to get out the big comfy bex in the morning). I stayed over the weekend and it was noisy outside with all the bars & clubs until around 4am.

It's a great location. Lots of bars & restaurants on the doorstep and buses to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. Also, thank you for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website.

It sounds like you had a great stay with us. I'm sorry to hear the about the noise, I hope you were able to seal off the windows which keeps about 95% of the noise out.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've been working on a budget and came across the Bayswater because they had a deal going where it was 400$ for 4 nights. We heard from the cabbie that Kings Cross was a bad area, but were surprise on our arrival and really enjoyed the neighborhood. Though we initially booked a normal double room, we were upgraded to the executive king suite. Anyway long story short we loved our stay, got unbelievable comfort, security and warmth for 100 dollars a night and could not have been happier with our stay. Was sad to leave you Bayswater!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bntsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
hank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love a deal as much as you do! Thanks for booking one of our DO NOT DISTURB DEALS! We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourself.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The only thing needs to improve is the internet facility and the internet cafe should have headphones connected with the computer plus the audio system installed as I couldn't get to use the Skype, plus the parking should be free of charge for the guests or else, the charge should be very less. Other than that, I would say it was a great experience and I will definitely consider to come here next time.

Room no 311

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eva_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We do have very strong, actually outstanding WiFi access throughout the building for you to use in your room, which is at a charge. However, if you're just after a quick email check or a airplane boarding pass, we don't think this should cost you money so we provide the free computers to use in the lobby. These are not really for Skype use because this would tie up the computers for too long and would disrupt others in the lobby. We would prefer if you used Skype on your own laptop in the room.

We don't own the car park available to guests, we simply pass the charge straight on the guest that the parking station charges us when you park there. That's why we give you the ticket that is actually issued by the parking station, not us. I'm sorry if you find their parking on the expensive side, but we think $20 per day is pretty reasonable for Sydney City.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#108 of 181 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#50 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing