We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to the city! Would definitely recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayswater Sydney to your Saves list
The Bayswater Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to the city! Would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is great - we stayed over New Year and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We stayed in the largest room they have - and it was great. A huge king-size bed, sofa and chairs, TV (with lots of channels) and a huge double shower in the bathroom.

Everything was modern and looked lovely and the reception staff were friendly too. Our room was at the front of the building looking onto the main road - and although at the weekends there was a lot of nightlife outside - it never disturbed us. I read some reviews that there was a lot of noise from the street, which worried me - but we didn't experience any annoyance at all. We barely heard a thing. Also the room had a good aircon unit too with lots of settings - so you can control it completely.

Another great thing about this hotel is the transport links and eateries. There are lots of bars and restaurants around (the kebab shop across the road is great, as well as the mexican place down the road!) and the bus stop outside the hotel takes you right into the city in less than 10 minutes. You can also get the train from here to the city - and also to Bondi if you fancy the beach.

Overall, we loved this place and if I ever come back to Sydney I'll be coming back here. Really enjoyed my stay and have absolutely nothing to complain about. Except perhaps the lift which was a bit slow :) but you can't win them all!

Fantastic hotel, enjoyed every second!

Room Tip: We had the King Suite which was amazing. Worth the extra cash if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! We hope you got to see the fireworks on the bridge at midnight!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    257
    80
    9
    11
See reviews for
25
223
69
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great value and beautifully appointed, the Bayswater is just what the doctor ordered for the guest who likes the good things without having to pay top dollar for the priviledge. Check-in was painless and efficient on both occasions that I visited and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

If it had room service, so I could enjoy my late checkout with breakfast in bed, it would be the icing on the cake, but it's a fair swap for the great room and even greater price.

Will be staying there again when I next visit Sydney.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would suggest asking for a room away from the street. But if this is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

Sounds like you had a great stay! We love it when we get it right! We provide affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney and love hearing from Guests like yourself who find our offering exactly what they were after. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport news, va
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Checked out a hotel to stay in Sydney prior to our cruise. Chose this hotel for the price and reviews.
The hotel is in Kings Cross, a chic area of Sydney. Near the metro, food stores, restaurants. Safe place to walk around.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms super clean. Our first room was so small and we had it changed to a larger room. Quiet and stylish. Bed was of good quality.
They are proud of their Tripadvisor rating and have it posted at the check-in desk.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are a good value. Some rooms are really small so inquire before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Sorry to hear you had to move rooms. If space is important to you, we definitely recommend booking our Executive King Suites. They are very competitively priced and are a great value room for only a small extra charge than our King Deluxe rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nice small Hotel. The rooms are not very big but at least it was clean and the service was perfect. Location is excellent. Underground station is just 150 m away. Easy to go with train and bus to any point in Sydney. Also the nigh life is great if somebody prefer it. Internet for some payment is available .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! It's great to hear you found the very close proximity of public transport to the hotel convenient.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Friendly staff are the best feature - plus the free Internet in the lounge downstairs - which includes the ability to print boarding passes (or anything else come to that). I messed up my first attempt and the guy on reception was very kind and considerate in the way that he helped me sort it out.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and a good size (I was in a twin - with one queen, one king sized bed). Everything worked. There was milk in the fridge.

Location is better than you'd think from the map - a short walk into the city or down to Oxford Street to pick up a bus down to Bondi. And you can get from King's Cross station to anywhere.

There's a great Italian cafe that does all day breakfasts and perfect coffee just two or three doors down the street.

Criticisms? Very minor. TV was supposed to include Foxtel - but I only spotted the sports channels (hardly a show-stopper!) The blurb says they have a gym - but in fact the gym is round the corner so you need to be fairly committed. In my case that just meant I had a good excuse not to go(!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! It's great to hear you enjoyed the extra space of our Twin Deluxe rooms, they really are very spacious. Sorry to hear you had trouble finding our Foxtel channels, I've passed this on to maintenance to have a look at.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Bayswater is just what we wanted from a short stay in Sydney, in the hottest spot for food and entertainment. We would recommend the Sunday and Monday nights in the front rooms. Sunday - A perfect motivator to get you out and into the clubs on the cross and Monday night - the World Bar for late night drinking with an easy walk back to the room for a sleep, The staff are wonderful at the Bayswater - they understand that you are there to enjoy yourself and allow you freedoms not possible with big hotels.

Room Tip: Top front rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! It's great to hear you got to experience the Kings Cross night life, it really is unique and a lot of fun.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Sydney. Central position, easy and interesting walk into the city. Staff are very nice and helpful. Heaps of eating options close by. We stayed on the ground floor ... would be a good idea for management to keep the front door closed especially early in the morning as the street noise can be a bit disturbing. Didn't think the room we were in was small... anybody who has been to UK/Europe knows that space is at a premium and that's the way it is... but who cares.....long as you are comfortable... the bed was very comfortable... the bathroom was modern and clean... and that will do me... what more do you want. Would definitely stay again and will recommend this establishment to anyone who wants to listen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Thanks for the comment about the front door, I've passed this on to the hotel management.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.